We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best one can say about the hotel is that the location is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Ranked #185 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Rooms - ok, but on the small side. Some years since the last renovation, wear and tear clearly visible.
Water supply in the shower better than expected. Not the pampering and kind service that makes one feel special that is often encountered in five star hotels. Really nothing really good or bad to say. Average hotel, probably more a 3 or 4 star accommodation. Location great and doorman friendly when on duty.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsItIsForReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest ,
thank you for your review, all critics is welcome as a spur to do better. Our rooms undergo a yearly renovation, either in summer or winter, out of the high season. This coming winter we are planning a fresh up of our De-Luxe and Junior Suites rooms. If it is possible for you we would appreciate to receive a detailed overview of the staff shortcomings, what exactly did or did not do to not make you feel special, as you would deserve as our valued guest.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

An half a block from the Pantheon and a stroll to Piaza Narvona and an easy walk from the Trevi Fountian and Spanish Steps makes this hotel easy choice. The deluxe room had all the amenities necassary. I enjoyed that the windows could be opened allowing one to hear the quite activity below. The staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvlProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience with us , we look forward to have you again with us
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

You cannot beat this hotel if you are looking for a fabulous location! Located directly behind the Pantheon and in front of Bernini's Elephant and Santa Maria Minerva Church, it is perfectly suited for exploring Rome. Our room overlooked the square and we were shocked when we woke-up the first morning and looked outside our windows ... the square was filled with tourists and we couldn't hear a sound! The room was exceptionally quiet. Our room was large and comfortable. We stayed for eight days and never felt cramped. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable although when we first saw the room, the furnishings looked a little spare. Upon closer inspection, they were quite nice but not of a style to which we were accustomed. We felt that the staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. Marco, the Concierge, recommended wonderful restaurants within walking distance and we spent many evenings on the hotel's rooftop enjoying a nightcap after exploring the city. After the craziness of the square in front of the Pantheon, the rooftop bar/restaurant seemed like an oasis! A short walk will take you to Giotti's, the best gelato in Rome!! This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location and we would stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRO487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManagement, Direttore at Grand Hotel de la Minerve, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your roman holidays and our property. All our staff wishes to thank you, looking forward to meet you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Big thank you to all at this hotel. We reserved this last night of the holiday using avoid points. Family of give four over sixteen one fourteen. We arrived early and they let us freshen up and book into our deluxe room. This was large and fitted give nicely. We then toured and returned for the other two rooms. The other rooms were different one a rustic look one more modern. All comfortable. Parents took the large deluxe room and enjoyed. We had a challenge with the key and the staff were attentive and sorted. Big thanks to the concierges they are they making of the hotel. Taxi to airport sorted next day all nice and smooth. My only problem us the,tipping as it does not come naturally, but I was happy to part with the monies. Good breakfast and welcoming staff. Location was wow.. Please if you are use to the flash star hotels approach with a smile and enjoy the hotel as you find it. If you are after value for money you will not find a hotel like this.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atog31s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights prior to getting on a cruise ship. The hotel has been lovely and had done everything right. We didn't arrive until almost midnight, but there was staff available to help with getting our luggage to the room.

We booked a deluxe room and we were somewhat disappointed when we discovered it was on the first floor, but it has worked out perfectly. The room is large with a king bed, two comfortable chairs in a sitting area, a desk with good lighting and the room has free wi-fi access.

Any problems we had have been fixed immediately by the staff. The first morning there was no hot water in the shower or sink. I called the front desk and within two minutes the staff was there and within three minutes...presto...plenty of hot water. Calls for ice in the room were responded to very quickly.

The location is ideal. The hotel is one block from the Pantheon and there are many restaurants around the piazza in front of the Pantheon. Two blocks from the Pantheon is the Piazza Navona, a large Piazza with lots to see and do and also many restaurants. About a ten minute walk in the other direction is the Trevi Fountain (I walk slowly due to a stroke 5 years ago.)

I would recommend the hotel but it is a bit pricey. We paid a bit over $500 per night for the deluxe room but we felt it was worth it. We did prepaid nonrefundble reservation.

Room Tip: Can't help much here, we had a large corner room 108 but without any view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had heard such great things about this hotel and it did not meet my expectations and did not seem to be worth the price. It was slightly dated, but I've found in my travels in Italy that most high end hotels really are and coming from the U.S. you are just learn to expect that certain high end hotels will have certain amenities. I will say that the bedding was very nice and it was a real king bed (not two put together) which is hard to find in Europe. Another pro was the rooftop bar - good spot and great view. There was no wireless working in the hotel, which was a problem. Although the hotel is very nice, I didn't think it was worth the money. At the end of our trip we returned to Rome for 2 more days and I ended up being able to cancel our reservation at Minerve and book at the Westin Excelsior on Via Veneto. I felt that hotel was a better value and had a better buzz to it (and was 100 euros/night cheaper).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of the hotel is good. However the room was small, shabby and in need of renovation. The room smelled, which was not nice and meant we were not comfortable in the room. The hotel seemed understaffed and the person at reception made mistakes, trying to charge us 1,200 Euros more than was due! The amounts were actually owed by someone else. The food was very expensive and tasted terrible. Overall the hotel is overpriced - it is more of a three star hotel.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,273 in Rome
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#52 of 1,273 in Rome
1,444 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#97 of 1,273 in Rome
895 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,273 in Rome
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#114 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#187 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $270 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing