We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Looking at the Pantheon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Ranked #222 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looking at the Pantheon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is one of the most beautiful locations in the "centro historico" on the charming Piazza de la Minerva. It is a rather quiet place overlooking the Pantheon. A very old, historical hotel with a beautiful art nouveau decorations on the main floor. The rooms have been redone with modern and tasteful furniture. The service is not so good. Normal breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    354
    169
    72
    50
See reviews for
231
494
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The 5 star Grand Hotel de la Minerve includes the restaurant “The Minerve Roof Garden” which currently deserves no stars at all. In short, we agree with a previous 2012 reviewer who described the restaurant as “Pretentious”. However this was certainly not our view in 2011 when we visited the restaurant for a delightful brunch on the rooftop terrace one sunny September morning. What has happened to this establishment? It is outrageous that a restaurant in such a prime location with breath-taking views across the city and next to Bellini’s elephant in the piazza Minerve and the wondrous Pantheon in the Piazza della Rotonda - should attempt to get away with serving up such humdrum food at such whopping prices. A plate of wild salmon and salad arrived with no salad simply four rectangles of thin white crustless bread. Upon complaining, we had the cost of this dish refunded and were offered additional drinks which we turned down whereupon we were offered a free meal - on our return. Yet, the charm offensive seemed too well rehearsed. We will gladly return when the management of the Roof Garden has fallen into more capable hands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avoiretetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel was a nice hotel, and I use "nice" because other adjectives give it too much credit.
The location is FANTASTIC... it's a short walk to all sorts of cool places. Pantheon, trevi etc etc... make sure you visit the Trattorias in front of the Pantheon, they're worth it

As you walk in the lobby is pretty impressive but beyond that it's just a 4 star hotel, The food at breakfast is of good quality but nothing to write home about, I think the things that would help this hotel would be 1) don't charge a ridiculous sum for the rooms, 2) don't charge a ridiculous sum for a coffee (13 EUR for a cappuccino? Please!)... if there was a rooftop pool that would be fantastic as the views and location would be stunning... clearly that's not achievable with the structure of the building etc but a lack of pool in August was something we missed.

Bottom line... if you're booked in here don't panic you won't have a bad time, but don't expect great value for money or anything that will set the world on fire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked this prior to our vacation on TA recommendations. This was our anniversary ( I made a point when making reservations) and wanted a rooftop terrace dinner with a view of Rome. Yes, the restaurant was rooftop but the windows obstructed a clear view for which you needed to go to the "bar" area on the other side. The service was fair, food was far from acceptable for the price and as other reviewers noted very pretentious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmablu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice hotel in a fantastic location; you can literally reach most of the sights in Rome on foot from there. Hotel is well kept but needs refurbishing soon! Everything looks and feels a bit dated. Bathrooms are old but clean. Service is nice and rooms are kept tidy and neat, but furniture and bits and pieces are starting to crumble slightly. Breakfast is a regular buffet which you get an any hotel. Staff throughout the hotel is very friendly. Hotel does not feel crowded and very quiet throughout. Not really a 5 star property apart from the 5 star prices. I would say a good 4 star hotel in a perfect location; ideal if you plan to spend most of the time exploring Rome on foot and need a quiet, neat, clean place to relax and rest. The roof restaurant offers excellent views and service is great, but food is average and prices are much to high in comparison to other good restaurants in Rome offering better food.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well insulated against any noice. A/C´s are old and tend to break down. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a repeat stay at the property for us, because of the location. Upon arriving, we were given a room which was too small for two people. We went back to the desk and requested a different room. After a bit of "we are fully booked" and "this is your class of room" comments, were were brought to a new room which was much more acceptable. The bell man Guiseppe really made the stay enjoyable. He was the most helpful person on the property. Don't bother exchanging euros here. The rate was 1.30/US while we were there, and the hotel was charging 1.55 to change. The beds are comfortable, ammenities nice, but if comparing to other 5 star hotels like the Four Seasons, or the Starwood properties, this fails in comparison. You are paying for the location here, which is fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a fellow traveler recommend the roof top restaurant at the top of the Grand Minerva. We unfortunately did not have the same pleasurable experience. Horrible! Pretentious, expensive and the food was just not tasty. We noted some food allergies before dinner and they were duly noted. Then one of the offending foods arrived on the entree. The view is lovely, but frankly we had a better view at the roof top of our hotel -- the Albergo del Senato -- a short distance away. Skip this place. Much, much, much better places to eat in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#28 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo Santa Chiara
Albergo Santa Chiara
#124 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Property: Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#124 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#188 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#229 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing