We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Eco B&B Marela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco B&B Marela
Ranked #1,207 of 3,712 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have recently returned from our 5 night holiday in Rome where we were staying at the Eco B&B Marela. We chose to stay in the double room without en suite to save a little bit of money and didn't find this to be a problem at all - in fact the other room that shares the bathroom was vacant for the whole time we were staying there. We also hardly saw the other guests at the B&B meaning it felt like we had our own little apartment for the week!

The room was very comfortable with a large foam mattress bed and pillows, personal reading lights, a wardrobe, desk and safe where we kept our cash and passports. The room was tidied every day and was lovely and light and airy. Yes the neighbourhood is a little bit noisy, but that's to be expected in such a large, busy city! It's near impossible to go anywhere in Rome without being surrounded by the noise of mopeds and sirens!

Michela was a lovely hostess, very welcoming when we arrived and gave us some great tips about where to visit and how to reach certain places- the best tip she gave us was to book our tickets for the vatican in advance online to skip the queue- this saved us a good hour and a half wait to get into the museum- thanks Michela! The rooms also have wifi which is very quick and free. She was just a text message or email away any time we needed to contact her.

If you're a fan of huge cooked breakfasts, this place probably isn't for you, although Michela is very welcoming and willing to provide any special requests. Fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, cakes, toast, cheese and juice is all available in the cute little kitchen all for you to help yourself, it felt very relaxed and homely. As someone who doesn't eat a lot for breakfast anyway, this wasn't a problem for me, but I can see why this would be an issue for people with larger appetites.

The only real downer during the stay was that it is quite far from the centre of the city, though with a 10 minute walk to Trastevere station and a 10 minute tram ride you will find yourself in the centre of the more historical part of the city with the Colosseum and Forum around the corner. We never really managed to get a hang of the tram system, only realising on the final day that you have to actually verify your tickets when you board the vehicle (oops) so we did end up walking back to the B&B a few nights, although the area feels very safe, it it a very long walk after a long day on your feet! So I would definitely recommend familiarising yourself with public transport as soon as you arrive!

Thank you for a lovely stay! It's been 48 hours since we returned and I am sitting here looking through photos with my biscotti and coffee definitely feeling post holiday blues!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

First of all many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciated.
We are in a commercial area, and is busy during the day with many shops (all brands at cheaper cost than the center) restaurants, supermarket and services and is only 15/20 minutes far from the heart of the center that you reach by busses.
For breakfast we believe that the quantities are sufficient to iniaziare the day with a hearty breakfast, if you want a more substantial enough to just ask and we will do our best to accommodate you, we prefer not to serve large quantities of food in order not to unnecessarily throw.
You'll be always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Eco B&B Marela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

I believe that because the owner is a nice lady she has been given good reviews by people not wishing to cause offence. The poorer reviews are a truer reflection of the experience in my opinion.

The B and B is, according to the owner, a 10 minute walk from Basilica St Paolo Metro. We got off there and found it was absolutley nowhere near so wasted a good hour trying to communicate with people trying to find it. Got off at Marconi and it was still a good 15 minute bus ride. On arrival we were let in by the cleaner who was clearly unaware that we were coming. When the owner did arrive we were not given a key until we were shown the kitchen. During this time my wife's purse and our money was stolen from the room. Whilst it was definitely not the owner, there clearly were not many other suspects! We believe a man was let in or came whilst we were in the kitchen and there were others staying there!!. This ruined our first day entirely and we spent the rest of the day trying to sort out money and reporting it at the police station - Italian Police are not great ambassadors for their country I have to say. We wanted to get a visit to one of the museums in the afternoon but did not have the time.. We did not eat until 9 at night

The safe did not work and even if it did it was not fixed to the wall so a thief could have walked off with it in any case!! No attempt was made to fix it whilst we were there leaving us to hide our passports

We made the best of the rest of the four days we were there and enjoyed Rome. However the B and B is in a bit of a down market area with a lot of rubbish and graffiti and most of the other residents of the block do not look like the sort of people you would like to share with. It is very noisy at night and I must agree with the reviewer of the 18th May 2013 that we could hear piano music, sirens and people using the bathroom next to ours late at night. We managed to find one decent restaurant - there wasn't a lot there in the area. The room was very average and when the coffee machine broke we were left without hot drinks for the rest of our stay. We were offered free coffee at a local bar - not really the same when your breakfast is in the room!. The breakfast itself was average - we were never really sure what we could use or how much we could have as it seemed a bit of a free for all. The shower head, which was very heavy, had not been put on the pipe properly and it was only luck that I stopped it falling off and cracking my head open. I managed to screw it fully on before there was a problem.

I didn't really understand why the Eco side of it is promoted so heavily. Most people these days have energy efficient appliances and recycle. It was no more greener than I am at home.

The owner is a nice lady but needs to be a bit more in tune with her guests. It looks to us that it was a sideline business and that she did not really have the time to manage it properly. She was supposed to get back to us about the theft but so far I have heard nothing and to be honest I do not expect to.

This break was a present from my daughter who booked it based on the reviews. As such she was disappointed by the problems we had. The last reviewer did not get into the premises on the first day and in all honesty I am not surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aytee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed for 6 days during our first visit to Rome. As other reviewers have already said, this is a good value base for exploring Rome and Michela is extremely helpful with information and tips to make your Rome experience (and your onward journey) easy and enjoyable. While not central to Rome's major attractions, all are easily reached by public transport, again Michela will patiently explain how best to go about it. The area is very safe with shops and eateries at hand, we enjoyed getting a sense of regular life in Rome rather than being in a tourist centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable, we had plenty of space for 3 and the triple room has a couch and verandah, the shared bathroom was no problem at all. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality, Michela even thought to buy extra goodies for our son and the coffee was great! We booked an airport pick up via Eco B & B Marela's website (also good value) and after long flights appreciated that all went smoothly, Michela sent an email in the prior week to check our arrival time and was ready to greet us. We would definitely enjoy another stay here if in Rome again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked and paid our deposit. However no one was there to open the door for us to get into the b&b so we were stranded without anywhere to sleep for the night. Very poor service. After finally getting in contact with us days later there was no sympathy or reasoning.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank madi2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Good evening,
we are very sorry to read this his review, we are confident that if he stayed with us , his opinion would have been different .
Being a B & B does not have a reception in the h24, but despite this we understand that there can be delays and this is our policy to wait after that time . Unfortunately, after 2 hours of waiting and no notice or contact from you, we left the B & B and we have subsequently contacted by email to see what had happened , and to organize possibly your arrival.
You have answered that you had found an other accommodation and you did not want to stay with us .
I honestly do not understand why you wrote that there was no willingness on our part, since there are the emails that show the opposite , we infer that probably can not remember what happened because it happened maybe almost a year ago and we want to clarify for the reader who might misunderstand the way we work .
You will be always welcome if you wish to choose our B & B in your next trip to Rome .
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to stay with a friend our family, this is the place. This B&B has that familiar and personal touch, and you'll feel at home instantly. If you are looking for many luxuries or a bunch of hotel-extras, then you might consider another place (and spending a awful lot of money in Rome). If you are like me, with simple taste, hoping to enjoy your time in the city and having a nice and comfortable bed to sleep at night, then Marela is the way to go. The B&B is not directly on the center of the city, rather in the southwest in Transtevere, so if you also need instant proximity to the commercial and cultural center don't pick it, but be prepared for much pricier accommodation service near the center. If you don't mind walking a little and/or picking up public transportation this is for you. Rome, we found, is a very well connected city and we had always the change of picking the tram, metro, taxis or bus near that area. I would recommend to everyone this B&B, but recognize that you have to be available to let go of some luxuries you would only have in a hotel. Still, this is a greaaat place to stay. Clean bed everyday (except on Sunday), a tasty and simple breakfast vegan style (surprisingly nice!) and a very clean environment. The only difference between this and most of the hotels I have been is that you have to share a bathroom with the other guests. We stayed for 7 days and never had a single complaint to make about the cleanliness of any of the spaces (room, bathroom and kitchen). I'll recommend this B&B to everyone of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomsalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here for several nights having never been to Rome before. Marella was very friendly and seemed to care about her guests, sitting me down in the kitchen on my arrival and giving me advice on what to see and do in Rome. All the basics - heating, private bathroom, towel, cleanliness, maps etc were there. Being a vegetarian, i particularly liked the breakfast, including the rice milk Marella especially got for me. The location is not right in the centre/tourist part of Rome but that was nice being out in a more suburban area that was still full of shops and restaurants but not very many tourists! Plus it was still very easy getting around - 10 min walk to the station and tram into the CBD or Trastevere, or you can get a bus to the station. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a private room in a good location with a reasonable price and friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBelindaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Eco B&B Marela is not only environmentally friendly, but wallet friendly too ! This is a great place to stay for people who like to travel, but may not have a lot of money to do so. Eco B&B does a good job at providing the best of all the basics a traveler would need. It's comfortable, clean, and safe.

The beds and pillows are made of memory foam and excellent for sleeping, there is a small safe and closet in the room for valuables and clothes, a small flat screen tv with many channels and some in English, Wi-fi with a great connection and it's free (huge router in the hall), and a modern and COLD air conditioning unit. The a/c would be worth the cost of the room alone if you're visiting in the summer !!

The rooms, linens and shared bathroom are very clean. We walked around barefoot and our feet were not dirty !

Breakfast consists of pastry or tort, hard boiled eggs, toast and jam, yogurt, müesli, juice, milk and tea/coffee, and everything is as organic as possible.

The absolute BEST part of staying here, however, is Michela ! We can not say enough about her. She has a very warm, up beat, and energetic personality. She made us feel welcomed, is very organized, answers phone and e-mail quickly, and really just made our trip to Rome as hassel free and enjoyable as possible. She went above and beyond in customer serivce !! Her suggestions, planning, and maps were such a BIG help to us. Nothing was too much for her, and she even offered to have a bag of our laundry cleaned for us (for 10Euro) while we went sight seeing, which was another time saver for us.

Parking is available at two near by garages

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrekkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#66 of 1,267 in Rome
966 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#126 of 1,267 in Rome
2,206 reviews
Bed and Breakfast - Interno 9
#1,542 of 3,712 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residenza Fermi
#1,637 of 3,712 in Rome
33 reviews
B&B Guglielmo Marconi House
#1,969 of 3,712 in Rome
6 reviews
Mirabilia Guest House
#309 of 3,712 in Rome
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco B&B Marela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco B&B Marela

Address: Via Orso Mario Corbino 31, 00146 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,207 of 3,712 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the new b&b in Rome it has just been renovated using "only natural paints", there are available only allergy-Free Rooms equipped with TV HD, safe box, linen in pure cotton, hypoallergenic pillows and bed, soundproof windows and free internet wifi. The breakfast buffet is with products from organic farming and we pay attention to environmental protection in fact we use products for the energy saving of electricity and water. From B&B you can reach all places of interest easily and quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Eco B&B Marela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing