We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molto Bene”
Review of Eco B&B Marela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco B&B Marela
Ranked #1,151 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I first decided on this B&B because of its environmental awareness. There are so many wonderful things though. Transport is very easy as the bus is a 5 minute walk from getting out and bed and the metro is 10-15. The location in Trastvere is excellent as you are not in a touristy place. And of Course Michela is a wonderful host and extraordinarily helpful to identify place to see, eat and how to get there. The two restaurants she specifically recommended were wonderful. Per Bocco a little pricey but well worth it and My favorite piccolo Borgo. The breakfast here was good with a fresh baked good every day, puffed rice cereal, instant coffee, tea, fruit, juice, toast and jellies.
I highly recommend this B&B for a stay in Roma for any length of time. We stayed 2 days last week and then 5 days this week bookending a NCL cruise with the perfect accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Eco B&B Marela
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

My mom and I spent 3 days in Rome this past summer and stayed at Eco Marela B&B. It's a wonderful little place. Michela is great, she's very helpful and wonderful host and a great person to sit and chat to. She keeps the B&B very clean and is around each day to answer any questions you may have. There's shopping and places to eat around the B&B for the days you may not want to go down to the city centre of Rome. The metro is close by (about a 10-15 min walk) and it will take you straight to all the main attractions (colosseum, spanish steps, vatican etc.)

I highly recommend Eco B&B Marela for your stay in Rome! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom_Daughter_Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks to you for found time to write this nice review. I'm so glad that you liked our neighborhood that it's so local but also close to the most important tourist attractions and Trastevere.
Keep in touch!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I donno where to start!! lets start with the lady behind this great place.. Michela.. one of the best host we hav ever met,warm,charming,helpful and a kind hearted lady,its great know such a lovely person,she helped us in every sense to make r trip memorable.
Coming to the Bed & Breakfast, we loved the location, the place is sorrounded by lovely little stores and a lot of restaurants,not to forget the local market just across the street,commuting from this place was so convinient and easy, bus stops are just a minute away.The bedroom,bathroom and also the kitchen were so clean and tidy,the breakfast was great and sufficient,i can summarize our stay as a great value for money.We would hav not been so happy and satisfied at our first visit to rome without r stay in Eco B&B Marela.This would be the place we recommend to everyone to stay and we look forward to visit this place again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!! :D
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaksheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello guys,
was a beautiful surprise meet you and find two new sweetest friends.
This is more than a job, this is the way to meet nicest people like you.
Without travelling is like to have a window on the world
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you want to feel at home, that's the place you are gonna choose. Michela, the owner, is a really friendly person and she's really helpful giving a lot of suggestions. The place is really clean, and the breakfast is really good as well. The area around the b&b is full of stores where you can buy anything you want. The neighborhood is really well connected to downtown Rome, then what else do I need to say.
If you want to enjoy your time in Rome, stay at Marela!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

At last count, my husband and I have spent over a year of our lives (approaching 400 nights!) in bed and breakfasts, pensiones, or small boutique or family run hotels in over 60 countries; we have visited all seven continents. We are travelers, not tourists, which is why we so much appreciated our stay at Eco B&B Marela. We loved being in a typical residential area and eating with the locals in restaurants Michela recommended. Our hostess was so gracious, giving us all the information we needed to navigate Rome, even showing infinite patience when we called her from the metro lost! We felt safe leaving our car in the street and strolling the neighborhood. Our room was large and well-appointed, the bed divine, the breakfast fresh and filling. We enjoyed our initial two-night stay so much that we booked our last night there two weeks later. No, it was not like home, but why would you bother to travel if it were? Michela does an excellent job as hostess, and I would happily return and recommend her B&B to others!

Room Tip: Because we are older travelers who make frequent night visits to the loo, I would choose the ensuite...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello dear guests,
was for me a really pleasure meet you. To Read that you travelled a lot and however you liked our B&B make me so happy and gives to me the energy to do always better.
Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great, comfortable rooms (memory foam and even a tv!). This b&b is very close to everything, and was a really nice change from the big hostels we had stayed in previously in terms of privacy - even with a shared bathroom. Michela is great and extremely helpful, giving everyone many details about Rome and its activities. I really recommend b&b Marela, and will return myself if I ever go back to Rome!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie_Lebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Eco B&B Marela and unfortunately won't ever return. We booked this B&B as it had some great reviews & is supposed to be located in the trendy area of Trastevere. Well it is a long walk to that area as we are nowhere near it!!

*We paid the extra tariff which included an ensuite - hardly worth the extra €40 per night as the shared bathroom for the rest of the guests was right outside our bedroom door. This meant we heard "everything" - also we were woken by the loud door each time someone exited/entered & locked the door.

* The apartment above us was fine until around midnight each night when the occupants returned home to stomp their feet, yell and play piano.

* The breakfast was dismal - our first morning consisted of cereal, a banana to share, stale muffins and tea. The subsequent mornings weren't much better - the food was very poor and the dining area tiny.

* The area around the accomodation is extremely noisy with constant vehicle noise, yelling, sirens and many undesirable people loitering. It is difficult to sleep through the night without being woken constantly by noise. Other guests advised us against wandering around the area at night time.

* The B&B itself is just someone's converted apartment in a typical outer suburb apartment block.

The only positives were that the host was friendly and very knowledgable about Rome, the wifi speeds were good & the room was a decent size.

If you like to sleep at night & enjoy a decent breakfast - dont stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcobbMarela, Proprietario at Eco B&B Marela, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest,
we have been very sad of to read these words. As you said we always have very positive reviews and nobody stayed bad, but it is your opinion and we respect it.
Unfortunately, you did not say anything whenever we asked about your stay, we had not the opportunity to improve your holiday.

We are sorry that the breakfast you did not liked it, we serve everyday a sweet different, coffee, teas, milk, soya milk, juice, toasts, biscuits, cereals, jams, nutella, sometimes fruits and yogurt, always we choose good products and organic, where possible.
There aren't salami and cheese but this is a big italian breakfast.
Our B&B is a tiny structure of only three rooms, probably you hear some noise but you feel like to be at home(as many guests say to us).
Our neighborhood is Marconi, down Trastevere (as you read on our website), by tram you'll be in the heart of Trastevere in less than 10 minutes, and in 15 minutes into all important sights, here you live the local life and also the zone is really safe (I walk around alone in the night and never happened something to me9.

However for us the opinions of the guests are the most important things, and we are trying to make better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,267 in Rome
966 reviews
H10 Roma Citta
#129 of 1,267 in Rome
2,195 reviews
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#527 of 1,267 in Rome
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bed and Breakfast - Interno 9
#1,538 of 3,709 in Rome
90 reviews
Residenza Fermi
#1,526 of 3,709 in Rome
33 reviews
B&B Guglielmo Marconi House
#1,976 of 3,709 in Rome
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco B&B Marela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco B&B Marela

Address: Via Orso Mario Corbino 31, 00146 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,151 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the new b&b in Rome it has just been renovated using "only natural paints", there are available only allergy-Free Rooms equipped with TV HD, safe box, linen in pure cotton, hypoallergenic pillows and bed, soundproof windows and free internet wifi. The breakfast buffet is with products from organic farming and we pay attention to environmental protection in fact we use products for the energy saving of electricity and water. From B&B you can reach all places of interest easily and quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Eco B&B Marela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing