We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Ponte Sisto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Ranked #119 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at this hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good and the hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was great and within walking distance to many highlights. The restaurant selection around the hotel was plentiful and did not disappoint. Our room was very clean and spacious. This hotel did not disappoint in any way, except I would agree that the pillows were very hard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    569
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
306
735
53
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in August and were very impressed with the size of the room (2 adults, 1 teen and a 4 year old)...for Europe. The location was within a 5 min walk from Campo Fiori markets and the Pantheon and across the bridge from the beautiful night markets and fabulous restaurant area.

An old monastery, an internal courtyard with large palms was beautiful for a delicious full buffet breakfast (included) and, a roof top terrace allowed for spectacular views over Rome. Public transport was within a 10 minute walk (bus/train) and we felt safe day and night walking around.

The air conditioning in the rooms was ICE COLD which for August was a good thing. Our room was on the alley side so was rather quiet except for the sorrow sound of the late night saxophone player..which leant itself to the old city's atmosphere after dark.

Only downside: The pillows were rock hard!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a good time at the Hotel Ponte Sisto. It was arranged by our local tour agency - Ciao Italy - that we arranged to coordinate our hotels, transfers and city guides between Rome, Florence and Venice.

Location was extremely good. We walked everywhere and didn’t need to take a cab or local bus. The old city is not that large and you can cover it within 2 hours walking from one end to the other, if you don’t get distracted by the sights, sounds and for the ladies, shopping.

The hotel is close to the main sights - the Piazza Novona, Campo de Flori, San’t Angelo Castle, the ruins of the Marcello theatre and the Trastevere area - that are about a 15 minute radius away. If you are good to do a slow 30 minute walk, you can see the Capitalino, Coliseum, Roman Forum and Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. A good hour walk along Via Del Corso (the main shopping street) gets you to the Piazza del Popolo or to Vatican City.

Back to the hotel. Room size was decent. I was expecting crammed rooms much like Tokyo and was surprised to have a corner unit that’s about twice the Tokyo room size. They seem to enjoy softer mattresses (than what I’m used to) here in Italy and you might want to get extra pillows to pad up.

The breakfast buffet was decent and fills the stomach. The dishes did not change over the 4 mornings we were there and consisted of mainly different types of bread, hams, bacon and scrambled eggs. Juices were fresh, coffee was good and definitely good to get you going in the morning.

Overall, this is a good hotel to use as a base with a great location and easy access to the main sights and attractions as well as good food. It’s a 4 star hotel and therefore pricier than some of the other hotels in the immediate area. Food choices are plentiful and conveniently located around the hotel. As the first hotel on our Italy trip, we were satisfied with what we paid and got.

You can read more about the hotel, especially about the restaurant & food choices around the hotel at my travel blog at www.travelstorytotell.com.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms that overlook into the inner courtyard for quieter evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in October and found the hotel superbly located, clean and comfortable. It was Halloween so our room- overlooking the street - was a touch noisy!! Who can blame 4.00am revellers when 1 nov is a holiday in Italy!!
Good breakfast and pleasant bar staff.

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a long over due review... Our stay was in April this year. Reminiscing about our stay at the Ponte Sisto brings out the fact that its location was most appreciated! Secondly, the rooms were extremely comfortable, even if I thought the heating could have been extended into April, mainly the bathroom - it was on the large size, which isn't a bad thing - but the marble flooring tended to accentuate the cool temps. Enough with the bleating though because the breakfast was good, the hotel was lovely. The area itself was worth wandering around with great little restaurants, shops and the most delightful patisserie! We discovered a teeny cafe that served bits and pieces, aranci balls and the tastiest pizza-like snacks; a little restaurant that had such great spaghetti bolognese that our grandson had it for dinner every time! My strongest recollection of the hotel was that it was a safe and home-like base. If there was anything that was a bit of a surprise, it was the aloofness of the front desk staff... Not unhelpful just a little surprising. We had a great week in Rome and this hotel was a plus for us.

Room Tip: Most rooms are away from the hustle and bustle of reception and the restaurant so it depends mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went here for the first leg of our honeymoon and after a long trip we arrived hungry and tired. We were unable to get an early check-in which I understand but we arrived as the breakfast buffet was ending. Instead of creating some goodwill and allowing us to eat what was sure to be thrown away in 5 min, they did not allow us to eat anything because this day's breakfast was not included with what we paid. For a "luxury" hotel, this was not a great first impression. On the remaining days when we were allowed to eat, the food was pretty average and the morning staff always seemed annoyed and put out by the guests, or at least us.

The rooms were well appointed but pretty small. We had a nice view of the park/alley behind us. The bartender (Donatella?) was super friendly and scored us a free bottle of champagne when she found out it was our honeymoon (which the hotel actually already knew). The location was great and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. Probably wouldn't go back given the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had 4 excellent nights at this hotel, which is situated just a glance away from Ponte Sisto. From here you can easily walk to Campo de Fiori, Trastevere, Piazzo Navona and many of the other great hangouts of Rome. Our room was located on the backside, which ensured that we enjoyed a quiet sleep every night. Despite having two children with us in the room, the room was kept spit clean and orderly throughout our stay, and the jaccuzzi which was great for sore feet in the evenings. The breakfast had everything to be expected, Parma ham, jams, cheese, a good selection of fresh fruits, bacon, eggs and sausages plus bread of all varieties. We were happy with the high level of service by the kind staff, which spoke fluent English. This week, the guests mainly consisted of laidback Americans in their 60s + some Scandinavians. We would certainly come back here when we're back in Rome.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the courtyard or the backside. The jaccuzzi was great for sore feet at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VertigOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
754 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#26 of 1,257 in Rome
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
969 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
Hotel Residenza In Farnese
#186 of 1,257 in Rome
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ponte Sisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ponte Sisto

Property: Hotel Ponte Sisto
Address: Via dei Pettinari 64, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#107 Business Hotel in Rome
#119 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#159 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ponte Sisto 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and quiet, the 4-star Hotel Ponte Sisto in Rome is located in a completely renovated historic building, enveloped in a relaxing atmosphere with a splendid garden filled with luxuriant palm trees and flowers from all over the world.The rooms are cozy and restful, able to keep the chaotic city or memories of a busy day at work at a distance to fill you will harmony and well-being within the bright marble furnishings and floral decorations.The friendly Hotel Ponte Sisto front desk staff takes care of all guest needs, booking excursions and guided tours, recommending clubs and restaurants to make your stay in Rome an unforgettable vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ponte Sisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponte Sisto Rome
Hotel Ponte Sisto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing