We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great apartment in a great location”
Review of Residenza Leonina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Leonina
Ranked #703 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great apartment in a great location”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Residenz Leonina for 3 nights in Rome.. It was perfectly situated next to the Metro, from the end of the street you could see the Colosseum - meaning I had a land mark to find the apartment after a busy day of walking around

The apartment is small and the shower is quite low, but the bed is amazing to sleep in, the airconditioning works, it has a small kitchenette and plenty of cupboard space for clothes.

The front desk staff are very helpful and I was able to book tours here also.

I would recommend this apartment to anyone travelling to Rome for a few days.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    81
    35
    24
    17
See reviews for
37
108
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Residenza Leonina is more apartment than hotel. No restaurant. No pool. No whining tourists. Just a lovely little building in a nice neighbourhood in Rome. It's clean, quiet and close to everything. It's surrounded by nice cafe's and a few small shops. Maurizio is very helpful with directions etc.
We rented the top floor apartment with a private terrace. Loved it. This is one of those places we will certainly return to.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the piazza would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cielopictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed a few days in Romes Residenza Leonina looks like it has just been updated, great location close to the hot spots, and the employees were super gave us great dirctions, refereed us ot restraunts etc. I will stay there next trip to
Roma.

Room Tip: I would like the room at the top with private balcony. They have a great balcony over looking the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out after a great stay at this hotel. Nothing fancy but perfect for an extended stay as it has a kitchen. Bathroom conditions weren't ideal and had a few shower problems but nothing horrible. The location can't be beat, around the corner from the colosseum and steps from the subway. Could walk to to basically all major sites even the vatican if you dont mind a bit of a walk Stayed on the first floor and was a little loud at night with people coming in and out and didn't have a great view. Very safe, key card entry after desk hours. Staff were very nice and polite and all English speaking. Best part was the gelato place on the same square with potentially the best gelato I've ever eaten with cheap prices. Great pizza place (forgo de milavi I think) just up the road too. Overall definitely a great place to stay!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Basic but perfect hotel in a great location! Exactly what was expected, the apartment was spacious and clean with an adequate kitchen. The staff were helpful and polite, they gave us a map on arrival that was invaluable throughout out holiday! The hotel was close to transport links with a metro station just down the road, and is only a couple of minutes walk away from the Colosseum. Also if you don't mind a walk you can walk to most of the main tourist attractions to save getting the metro everywhere! There is also a little ice cream shop right outside the hotel which was so good we went nearly every day! The only negative was that the double bed was actually two singles pushed together but the bed was still comfortable. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day stay. The appartment block was very central with 2 min walk from Metro stop and also walkabl to all the main tourist sites other than Vatican, though we could have done it if wanted to. Appartment had everything we needed and was very clean. We over looked the pizza which houses a small ice cream shop. Can get very busy and noisy at night as the ice cream is delicious. Didn't bother us though. Local area was lovely and quaint with lots of small restaurants which were good value and quality. The appartment staff were friendly (much more so than some of the Italians we met! especally when queing) and very helpful. Would highly recommend the appartment if you want somewhere central to lay your head. Also I would suggest taking the train (Leonardo Express) which takes 30 mins and costs 14 euros followed by one Metro stop to Cavour at 1 euro 50 and 2 min walk to appartment block.

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping through noise ask for room at the back, though as I said we managed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Residenza Leonina for four nights for our second wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great location on a small piazza in a residential area. There is a fantastic gelato available opposite the hotel and the shop draws locals and tourists who gather to enjoy the fantastic ice cream. The hotel is located close to a couple of cafes where you can grab a great low cost breakfast. We also had a couple of nice meals on a nearby street (via Cavour). Three courses with wine for around to euro. The Cavour metro station is also only a couple of minutes away which links to the rest of the network for getting around Rome. termini station is only 1 stop down the line as is Colleso for the Coliseum. However, the coliseum is only 10 minutes walk

The hotel itself is very basic but our room was extremely clean and comfortable for our stay. The rooms are cleaned every 3 days. Our only gripe would be the fold down bed but we didn't have any problems sleeping at night. The rooms are also air conditioned which was much appreciated in the heat

The hotel owner is very helpful and called the airport for us to check on the time of our transfer for our return.

All in all a very pleasant base for a short break in Rome close to all transport links

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tourist House
Tourist House
#745 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#255 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Monti
Monti House
Monti House
#2,691 of 3,619 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#6 of 1,069 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Leonina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Leonina

Property: Residenza Leonina
Address: Piazza Degli Zingari 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #703 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Residenza Leonina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, in the Rione Monti , between the Colosseum and the Imperial Forum, just 50 meters from the Cavour metro station,the Leonina Residence comes from the idea of one of the oldest Roman family of hoteliers who wished to give new meaning to the concept of hospitality, staying in the historical center of Rome in comfortable surroundings and in total freedom. All our elegant apartments are equipped with kitchenettes, free wi-fi access, Sat TV, air conditioning, safe and comfortable bathrooms with bath tub or shower and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Leonina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing