We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special trip”
Review of Cosmopolita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolita Hotel
Ranked #308 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location- ten minutes from the Coloseum, Trevi, Pantheon and the Tiber. Quiet street but right at the centre of the city. Lovely room, good breakfast, fab view. Minor niggles were the hot n cold alternating shower and towels which smelled like they'd been dried by the kitchen extractor fan. Be warned they wanted €20 per person per night upfront as a refundable 'bond' for extras but we didn't have that much available so have them €40 for the first night and said we'd speak to the manager the next day. Never did. They never raised it again and we left it at €40.

Will be recommending it to family

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosiePosieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I had a very bad experience at the Cosmopolita Hotel. We arrived at approximately 9 am to check bags and be on our way for a full day of sightseeing in Rome. However, the front desk staff (Daniello) was very rude and made us wait for an hour and a half, saying that he could not help us until everyone had checked out. Another guy wandered up and asked if we had been helped during this time. I told him that we just wanted to drop bags behind the front desk, and he agreed to help us. Daniello screamed at him in Italian, and he sheepishly told us to wait on Daniello. We missed our morning tours that day as we waited on this to play out. Later that afternoon, there was an older gentlemen at the desk who was more rude that Daniello and seemed horribly offended that we asked him general questions.
Checkout took an hour and a half the following day.

Great location but try Hotel Kolbe or Hotel Forum if you are looking for something in that area.

Rooms are small and dingy but mostly clean. The halls smell like mildew.

Please do yourself a favor and don't stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First, the good. the hotel is smack in the center of Rome. Few steps from Victor Emmanuel monument and walking distance to the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain. It's true that it's not near any metro station so be prepared to walk.

This hotel is a FAR CRY from a four star hotel. It is 3 at best. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny; barely any space to walk in. The beds are uncomfortable and a "king bed" is two double beds pushed together. The internet connection is an absolute JOKE. For internet, you have two options. You can go in the cramped lobby with your laptop to get wifi at the price of 3 euro for 1 hour 6 hour for 3 hours. Or you can connect in your room to a old TV (you need to turn the TV on and select internet) to get 24 hours for 12 euro. The room feels extremely outdated. Like previous reviewers mentioned, there is only one small elevator so it always takes a while. The breakfast buffet is simple, nothing fancy; I refused to eat most of it because I saw flies hovering around the food. The only "safe" food was the yogurt, which came in sealed containers.

Lastly, the front desk staff is extremely rude. Danilo deserves particular mention. When I asked him if there was a movie theater, he rudely laughed and said not in here. The conversation went like this:
"Is there a movie theater around here?"
"no, no movie theater"
"i'm pretty sure there is one, are you sure"
"no movie theater in this area"
x5
"well, I'm sorry do you mind looking it up for me"
indignant face. looks as if I was asking him to eat garabage
"yes there is one at plaza baberini"
"what's the name of the movie theater"
"piazza barberini"
Every conversation with the front desk staff was like that.

Room Tip: Luck of the draw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WorldTraveler361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok, it has been some time since its prime. But it is a small, clean hotel in an excellent place. Service was good but a little slow. TV took some time to figure out. Big and comfy bed. Small but adequate room. Internet connection is a joke :D slow and unreliable, but that is often the case in Italy. Breakfast with plenty of options - bacon, sausages, omelette, cereals, bread, yoghurt, coffee, tea.... Ok restaurant/bar next door. If you are looking for a small hotel with atmosphere in the middle of things, this is good value compared to a lot of others.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms, but clean. Bed was two box springs and small, we could feel springs in our backs. Small bathroom/shower but clean. TV barley worked. Only one elevator so you might wait a few minutes. Breakfast was ok. Location was good, but not close to metro at all!! The staff was rude didn't seem to like us. We we asked for help they looked like they didn't want to help. One guy was always on the phone and I mean Always when we walked past the front desk I made sure to look and see him. When we asked for directions they would say make a right and a left and its over their. Had to wait till 2:00 (1400) until the room was ready. Will not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jeremyfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Cosmopolita in mid-December. This was our first visit to Rome and our primary purpose was sightseeing. This hotel was perfect as we were only a 5 minute walk to both the Forum and Trevi Fountain, as well as a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum, Jewish Ghetto, and most lots of local restaurants and shops. The room was kept very clean and service to provide extra towels only took 5-10 minutes. We took advantage of the breakfast inclusion as part of our package and were very pleased with the selection and quantity of items available, eggs, meats, yogurt, fruits, and lots of pastries.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here for 2 nights in our last stop in Italy. The hotel has a fantastic location, minutes away from major attractions. However, the rooms are very outdated and the staff at the reception was rude (multiple instances with different staff).

Recommended for its location and nothing more, expect a 3 star hotel, rather than the advertised 4 star status.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garrettwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#84 of 1,272 in Rome
692 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#274 of 1,272 in Rome
813 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#396 of 1,272 in Rome
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Mancino 12
Hotel Mancino 12
#47 of 1,272 in Rome
466 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,272 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#222 of 1,272 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolita Hotel

Address: Via di Sant'Eufemia 5 | Piazza Venezia, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $84 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmopolita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosmopolita
Cosmopolita Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing