We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #498 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in the thick of it then look no further. We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and for a cost effective city break, can't really fault it.

Rooms were large and clean, lovely shutters, high ceilings and a traditional feel. Clean, modern bathrooms that come equiped with hair dryer.

The staff are friendly and will always help with local knowledge if needed.

The breakfast was plentiful with pastries, yoghurts, cereals ect.

You can hear some traffic noise in the rooms even though they are fully double glazed but with a central location near all the main streets it's to be explected. It didnt effect the holiday at all.

Most of all Location is key to this hotel. The Spanish Steps are at the end of the street, Trevi fountain 5 mins walk.

Had a fantastic time in Rome and wouldn't hesitate about staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 236 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I know this might be a bit late I stayed here in 2006 it was august it was lovely B&B very basic but very clean you could tell it had new bathrooms great sized rooms, nothing fancy if your only using it for sleeping and shower its all you need very central to most places
I could say more but I would definitely return here tried other B&Bs I would come back to this one
came as a couple but return with new family

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcgougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here March 2013, such a great location. 2 minutes walk to Spanish steps, couple more minutes to Trevi fountain, Piazza del Popolo and the Pantheon. Really friendly hotel, great breakfast and hot chocolate! Ice cream shop just across the road was lush!
Room really clean and comfortable, good size for 3 people. Large bathroom with nice big bath. Will always recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely buy the tickets for the red city tour buses 25euro per person for 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye_sey_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is set in a traditional building but is modern inside. The rooms are very clean, they have air conditioning, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable and could answer all of our questions. The hotel was in a great location and ideal for a city break. I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dmeecham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with warmth and friendliness, she took us to our room and it was very clean and tidy with plenty of space to put our things in, if we had to mention anything wrong with the room it would be the bed was a little too hard for us otherwise everything else was fine.
The breakfast was what was expected for a continental breakfast, service was good and the coffee was excellent.
The location was great very lively near to the Spanish steps and the Trevey fountain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spanner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrival with a warm welcome - given very useful city map. Room clean and comfortable. Practical but nicely decorated with comfortable bed. Great shower! very welcome in the heat. Breakfast, nice selection of continental pastries, cakes, cereals and great coffee! Would stay again if after great location - only minutes away from Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and the Palatine gardens. Make sure you take the (beautiful) lift to the top floor to see the frescoes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dan05027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

On arrival a receptionist handed us a key and left us to it.
The room was bland and completely lacking of anything, a piece of art in a frame would have made the difference. No fridge or drinking facilities which ok I guess we might have known before. Beds were comfy and the location of the hotel is on its side. Breakfast was poor unless you like sweet cakes and croissants every day.
I asked one of the reception staff how much it would be by taxi to the Vatican museum to which he shook his head and said he didn't know - helpful indeed.
The lift may not be to everyone's cup of tea small and narrow but its kinda cute.
Overall I wouldn't stay here again I think there are better places. However the gelato just to the left of the hotel is fabulous !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#656 of 1,272 in Rome
588 reviews
Elite Hotel
#387 of 1,272 in Rome
167 reviews
Pincio
#585 of 1,272 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Erdarelli
Erdarelli
#682 of 1,272 in Rome
185 reviews
Colonna
Residenza Montecitorio
Residenza Montecitorio
#599 of 1,272 in Rome
305 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#528 of 1,272 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing