We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #523 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
dorchester
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I know this might be a bit late I stayed here in 2006 it was august it was lovely B&B very basic but very clean you could tell it had new bathrooms great sized rooms, nothing fancy if your only using it for sleeping and shower its all you need very central to most places
I could say more but I would definitely return here tried other B&Bs I would come back to this one
came as a couple but return with new family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    106
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
52
101
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here March 2013, such a great location. 2 minutes walk to Spanish steps, couple more minutes to Trevi fountain, Piazza del Popolo and the Pantheon. Really friendly hotel, great breakfast and hot chocolate! Ice cream shop just across the road was lush!
Room really clean and comfortable, good size for 3 people. Large bathroom with nice big bath. Will always recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely buy the tickets for the red city tour buses 25euro per person for 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye_sey_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is set in a traditional building but is modern inside. The rooms are very clean, they have air conditioning, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable and could answer all of our questions. The hotel was in a great location and ideal for a city break. I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dmeecham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with warmth and friendliness, she took us to our room and it was very clean and tidy with plenty of space to put our things in, if we had to mention anything wrong with the room it would be the bed was a little too hard for us otherwise everything else was fine.
The breakfast was what was expected for a continental breakfast, service was good and the coffee was excellent.
The location was great very lively near to the Spanish steps and the Trevey fountain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrival with a warm welcome - given very useful city map. Room clean and comfortable. Practical but nicely decorated with comfortable bed. Great shower! very welcome in the heat. Breakfast, nice selection of continental pastries, cakes, cereals and great coffee! Would stay again if after great location - only minutes away from Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and the Palatine gardens. Make sure you take the (beautiful) lift to the top floor to see the frescoes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan05027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

On arrival a receptionist handed us a key and left us to it.
The room was bland and completely lacking of anything, a piece of art in a frame would have made the difference. No fridge or drinking facilities which ok I guess we might have known before. Beds were comfy and the location of the hotel is on its side. Breakfast was poor unless you like sweet cakes and croissants every day.
I asked one of the reception staff how much it would be by taxi to the Vatican museum to which he shook his head and said he didn't know - helpful indeed.
The lift may not be to everyone's cup of tea small and narrow but its kinda cute.
Overall I wouldn't stay here again I think there are better places. However the gelato just to the left of the hotel is fabulous !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

at the top of an old roman palace and through a smallish elevator a cozy place run by two lovely roman ladies and their 4 lovely dogs ! small utmostly clean fully equipped , elegantly furnished rooms ! do not expect a flashy american styled place ! this hotel is typically italian , full of locals !the location is great right between the spanish steps and fontana di trevi ! breakfast is ok ! enjoy this hotel just like i do each time i fly to wonderful rome for bizz and pleasure !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t2803h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Elite Hotel
#382 of 1,261 in Rome
129 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#541 of 1,261 in Rome
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#693 of 1,261 in Rome
573 reviews
Pincio
#546 of 1,261 in Rome
253 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#165 of 1,261 in Rome
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing