We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the essentials you need”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #519 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here several months ago and were very happy with our stay. The hotel really is excellently located with many attractions in close proximity, as well as a gelato parlour across the street with some of the best gelato i've ever tasted!
We would leave early in the morning and return at night so never did much else other than sleep and eat breakfast. If you are looking for a holiday where you spend most of your time around the hotel using its facilities then this may not be the place for you, as I don't believe the hotel offers a great deal of these. However with the whole of Rome to explore I can't understand why you'd want to spend all your time cooked up indoors. If you are the latter (like my partner and I were) then the City Hotel has everything you need.
The staff are polite and accomodating whilst the rooms are simple yet idilic and very clean. Breakfast consists mainly of sweet cakes, pastries, cereal and pate. You are welcome to eat as much as you like and I particularly enjoyed the contrast between the sweet pastry and rich pate.
Much has been said about the noise although I certainly didn't find it a problem and we were looking over the main street, which although busy is usually only single file traffic.
The City Hotel offers all the essentials at a high standard with a reasonable price - leaving you free to enjoy the really important part of your trip... Rome

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whisky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, we walked everywhere for our entire stay. It's clean but the decor is a bit dated. Our room was large, and double glazed, which was good as it faced onto the main road. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no fridge, and the wifi was very expensive. Staff were polite but not particularly helpful whe. We were trying to find out about visiting the Vatican - this may have been due to our lack of Italian...
Breakfast choices were limited but ok. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent a week in the City Hotel,friendly staff , clean and spacious room. The breakfast was ok,fresh coffee of your choice served at your table by a lovely lady. The location of this hotel is great, 5 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We would not hesitate we stay here again.Michael and Rachel Bloor

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantastic location..very close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Really recommendth Hop on Hop off bus tour for the day. Do the main bits during the day ,then go back to Piazza Barberini for the last trip of the day..doing this you can squeeze in Rome by night as well..full trip takes 2hours.Definately eat out over in the 'Trastevere' area..local restaurants at great prices too! The hotel is spotless.We had room 204, which did look over the main road , but the windows are double glazed and did not hear a thing. Bathroom great too. Breakfast is simple but adequate .All the staff were very friendly .Had a great holiday and will sure stay here again...and recommend to my customers(I am a travel agent after all!!)...Book it and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shamuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

perfect location, 3mins stroll to spanish steps, 5min to trevi fountain, 30min to colleseum, 40 min to vatican.
we booked through late rooms as part of our honeymoon, we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor, rooms was good, nice bathroom, large double mirrored wardrobe, clean, better than expected to be honest.
hotel is located upstairs but there is a lift...perfectly fine lift dispite other reviews..yes its old fashioned but you are in Rome..No modern constructions! Once you get into hotel its nice and comfortable!
Staff were lovely but do try and speak to them as they can be unsure of their english but they love to try and you will get some great recommendations.
Breakfast is for the sweet toothed, pastries, jams etc
we didnt use the internet so I cannot comment but I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StaceyStandeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had to change rooms to get any wifi at all and it costs 5 Euros per hour!

Great location though...

Breakfast was terrible, with packaged cakes, and a 15 minute wait for coffee.

Best for a quick stay in the centre but not if you need to do business

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was me and my boyfriends first time abroad and also our 5 year anniversary on the 12th Sept.
The location is brilliant, we walked to the Collosseum (about 15mins) and its very close to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. But the room was very underwhelming, it looked nothing like the photos. The staff were quite rude, espcecially one man in particular who didn't say a word to us and pointed at a sign stating the water was off until further notice. No explanation, no apology, nothing in return for this inconvenience. We then had a power cut - no acknowledgement from staff again.

All that we could get over as it was a lovely romantic trip however every single morning from around 08:30 onwards there was the loudest construction like noises ever. Banging, drilling etc.. which we were not informed of. It seemed to stop in the afternoon so we would have to get up and go out then come back and have a nap - not really what we wanted and this completely ruined our trip.

We are very saddened this was where we spent our 5 year anniversary and our first holiday abroad. I hope someone from this hotel reads this and appreciates how much they ruined our time in Rome. Lucky for us we still had a lovely time, Rome was beautiful and we had a very romantic time - no thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tess-ahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Elite Hotel
#354 of 1,270 in Rome
158 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#648 of 1,270 in Rome
588 reviews
Colonna
Erdarelli
Erdarelli
#685 of 1,270 in Rome
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#353 of 1,270 in Rome
659 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#677 of 1,270 in Rome
221 reviews
Pincio
#565 of 1,270 in Rome
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing