We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #515 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hamilton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel City. A small hotel situated on the first floor of the building. Our room was small & a little dated but clean. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was continental with a reasonable choice. The only down side was that our room was at the front of the hotel over a very busy street. It got quite noisy at times. The hotel does not switch on the air conditioning until May. The weather was particularly warm so we tried to leave the window open to keep the room cooler but it was far too noisy to sleep. There are rooms away from the busy street to the rear of the hotel which I am sure would be much better. The mattress was very firm & took a bit of getting used to. We would definately stay here again but would stay in a room away from the street. The price was very reasonable for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookinWiGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    106
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
52
101
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the City Hotel for three nights at the beginning of march. Hotel was lovely, the rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated, very italian looking just as you see on the website. There were plenty of hangers for clothes and the hotel came with all the little toiletries and a hair dryer. The only thing we didnt like was that there wasnt a safety deposit box to rent, you could pay 5 euros at the front desk, but it is only an envolope being put in a drawer. so i would recommend getting a travel money card before you go or taking a little lock and key for your suitcase just for peace of mind.Having said that the hotel is very safe and secure anyway and the staff are lovely.
the location was perfect, a 2 min walk to the spanish steps, and 5 min walk to the trevi fountain, and theres a metro station at both so its really easy to get about.
theres a lovely little restaurant we ate at twice which is opposite the american express bank near the spanish steps in the little square, the food there was the best we have ever tasted.
When you get to the airport and you are at train station to take you to termini station there is a ticket station just as you walk in, we asked for train tickets there and he said for 15 euros each he will drive us to our hotel which worked out very well as its the same price as the train, and termini station is absolutely huge when we was returning we got the train and it was as if we were at a airport.
Also make sure you have breakfast at the hotel, we found it very hard to find any restaurants that did breakfast, but the hotel has a nice selection of cakes and cereal.
I am a travel agent myself and i will be recommending this hotel to all my customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Burnett6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is small, friendly, clean and set in a great location. our room was small and basic, very clean with a recently fitted new bathroom. The room was one of the higher floor rooms and subsequently let a good deal of daylight into the room, at street level the area remains mainly in the shade due to tall buildings and narrow streets, so a room on a higher level was a bonus. (The hotel is situated 2 floors above street level anyway). Breakfast again was basic continental style but totally satisfactory with everything being fresh and tasty. Location is brilliant, 5 mins Spanish Steps, 5 mins Trevi Fountain, 5 mins Hop on Hop off buses. Several companies to choose from. Most of the major sites are within walking distance if you are reasonably mobile. Excellent choice of Restaurants all within short distance of hotel. We felt we made a good choice for a short city break to Rome.

Room Tip: We found that because our room was on a higher level, we were slightly above surrounding buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nearingretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I chose this hotel for the location and it did not disappoint. Great, very great location, friendly staff, right price and good breakfast. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nice stay. I definitely recommend it. Rome is a wonderful dream. This hotel served its purpose as a clean place to sleep with in a great location. I have never been to Rome before and I was able to navigate the city fine from this location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here in mid February. My husband and teenage son in one room my elderly disabled mother and I in another. The lift referred to in other reviews was no problem for us and very quaint. Rooms are spotlessly clean. It's a bit " shabby chic " in places but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is basic but good quality. Croissants , little cakes , brioche and yoghurts and cereals ... Coffee served in little jugs was delicious and a nice way to start the day. Spanish steps is a two minute walk in one direction. Trevi fountain 5 mins the other way. Designer shops abound.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgnorthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here in April 2011 for 4 days of our honeymoon, the hotel itself is very clean and has friendly staff who are only too happy to help you with directions etc. The rooms are nice with very high ceilings and are kept clean everyday while you explore the many sights of Rome. Breakfast is defiantly continental with plenty of bread and cakes which does take a little getting use to as there is no option to have toast or cereal etc.

The location of this hotel is perfect as it is a stones throw away from the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain and the excellent shopping. My best experience personally was visiting the Vatican (worth taking a guided tour as very interesting and the sistene chapel was amazing) my husband really enjoyed the colesseum but be aware of the people outside who charge you 20 euros to take photos using your own camera. You also get plagued by men trying to sell you roses and cotton handmade bracelets for 10 euros each!

We personally found Rome to be very expensive for everything but all in all we still enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank YorkshireSmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Small hotel located on one of the main streets of Rome, When I first got to the hotel I was really worried first about the 3 flights of stairs to drag my suitcase up (there is a small old lift in the middle of the staicase but a bit scary looking) and then we were then greeted by a miserable looking receptionist and given our key. When getting to the room it was tiny but I was relieved as we were on the back of the building (nice and quiet) overlooking a small garden/courtyard. Although we had the lift shaft behind our bed which would be annoying for light sleepers.The room was adequate for a weekend break as we were only in there to sleep and bathe, and was clean and tidy.
I couldn't get the aircon to work but it wasn't needed anyway.
I think the building could do with a revamp but on the whole was ok for what we needed. Breakfast could have been alot better and if you haven't got a sweet tooth wouldn't bother with it.
But the best thing about this hotel is the location you may as well say your on the road of the Spanish steps, about 5 minutes casual walk to trevi fountain and 10 minutes to the Patheon. To be honest the only time we needed to use any transport is to and from the airport. Everywhere was within walking distance. I don't think you could get a better loctaion for your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#297 of 1,263 in Rome
274 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#688 of 1,263 in Rome
573 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#554 of 1,263 in Rome
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel
#390 of 1,263 in Rome
129 reviews
Pincio
#534 of 1,263 in Rome
253 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#164 of 1,263 in Rome
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 97, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming place conveniently located in the heart of the city only few steps from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the most prestigious attractions in Rome.Fully furnished and renovated in a modern style, stunning high level fitting, to offer stays with the greatest comfort and welfare. Sunny roof terrace with lounge seating for great stay, perfect for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine. Near by the most famous Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing