We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Travel_An...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

When in Rome, do as the Romans do…..live in an apartment! We are so glad we chose Piccola Londra as our home away from home. We were met at the airport with a limousine arranged by the owners. This is a wonderful option we strongly recommend. Our hostess, Paola, and her daughter are very warm and friendly people. They welcomed us at the apartment when we arrived, gave us tips on where to go, provided us with maps and familiarized us with the immediate neighborhood. There was a laptop with free WiFi which helped a lot in making last minute plans and a cell phone so we could contact Paola anytime we needed help.This apartment is spotlessly clean! No dust anywhere in corners or under beds! Wonderful for my allergies. The bedrooms are large with high ceilings and nicely decorated. The wardrobes were stocked with more than enough towels and extra bedding for our party of four. The bathroom is beautiful and newly remodeled and the kitchen is fully stocked. Even the cupboards had essentials such as spices, rice, pasta and coffee. My husband loved the Italian coffee maker. There was also a bottle of wine to greet us! The market across the street has everything you need to make meals. Probably the best thing about this apartment was the feeling of having your own home to come back to at the end of a long day seeing the sights.
Tip: Take the tram to the end of the line and explore the plaza across the street. At the opposite end is a street filled with high-end stores, hotels, and restaurants. This street will exit out to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Feeling like a resident of the neighborhood instead of a tourist
Liked least: We only had 4 days to stay here.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkWaiHo
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“So glad I decided to stay here!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed at Piccola Londra for a total of 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. There was 3 of us all together.

Everything was easy. I stepped out of the Shuttle (organised by Paola) and Paola was waiting at the door for me. A quick induction to the apartment from Paloa gave me all the info I needed to enjoy the apartment and my week in ROME.

Apartment was spotless, facilities were fantastic, and the apartment had all the right furnishings and equipment for a comfortable stay.

I was a little worried that the apartment would be too far from the city centre and sites. I was wrong. Take the Tram (1.50 EUR) from right outside the apartment and within 5 minutes you are in the centre of town. Walking distance to all the major sites. One day we decided we felt like a stroll and comfortably walked from our apartment to Vatican City (45 minute easy walk).

Apartment is in a great location, away from the really busy streets of ROME, but close (like next door) to a supermarket, lots of pizzerias, banks, and gelato shops!

All in all, a great spot to stay in ROME.

Thanks Paola.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The second time around and it is still as comfortable and lovely as the first time :)”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time we stayed at Piccola Londra and Paola welcomed us again with her usual warmth and her lovely smile. She greeted us at the door with the keys after arranging a person to pick us up at the airport and this time she kindly put another bed in the second bedroom as my whole family was travelling with us this time; all five of us. So my 3 grown kids were happy to share the second bedroom and with air conditioning in both bedrooms and comfortable beds this helped us to relax more. Piccola Londra is a delightful little apartment with a kitchenette and a modern bathroom. Being on the third floor up, and yes it does have a lift for you and your suitcases, this keeps the noise at bay from the streets below and it is in a secure, safe area. It is also in a great location. It is opposite a supermarket and a great little patisserie (which will do 'take away' coffee for you) and a one minute walk to the trolley stop (tram) which you can buy tickets next to the apartment for the trolley. The number 2 trolley takes you directly to the People's Sqaure (Piazza del Popolo) and the Flaminio underground station/metro. Or you can stroll for 15 minutes from the apartment to the People's Square, like we did often, and enjoy the local sites passing some lovely restaurants which are opened late. You can walk from the People's Square and see many, many tourist attractions like the Spanish Steps if you decide to walk and not catch the train. The local people in the Flaminio area are friendly and some locals speak English. Piccola Londra has a microwave, a refrigerator, a gas cook top with cook wear and a washing machine/dryer. Paola provides all of the cleaning/washing equipment, clean sheets and towels. She has books and maps of Rome and a spare laptop and mobile if you need it and free wifi. It's a little home away from home and very private. I highly recommend staying at Piccola Londra :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being amongst the locals and not being with the crowds and tourists. It is very comfortable and clean.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicals...
Nth Qld
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delightful, safe & convenient.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My sister & I stayed at Piccola Londra for 4 nights in April and loved the whole experience! The apartment is situated about 10 minutes walk from the Piazza del Poppolo, or just a minute away by tram. The neighbourhood is extremely safe & we felt like we were living with the locals. Everything you may need is within a couple of blocks, from a supermarket across the road, to an ATM, fabulous bakery & good restaurants. There is a new pedestrian walk-bridge over the river, which is only two blocks away & we enjoyed walking down to Castel St. Angelo along the riverbank, with the morning walkers & joggers...away from the tourists! Paola is a wonderful hostess who keeps a beautifully clean and accommodating establishment. So, if you want something that's in a good area, close to shops & transport and still within walking distance of all the sights AND far from the madding crowds, pick this! Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in a friendly & safe environment with access to everything we needed. Plus it was a great apartment!
Liked least: Can't think of anything>
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt at home”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It's taken me awhile to write this review - sorry!!

This place was perfect. It's on a beautiful block with a great restaurant just below. The couple were warm and welcoming. They were available for any questions and were helpful with giving tips on how to get around. They even gave us maps and recommendations.

The apartment is very comfortable with all necessities provided. Most importantly, we felt at home. The trolley is merely steps away and is only 4 stops from the main attractions or a nice walk (we did so several times).

A cab was set up to take us to and from the airport. Very convenient. Everything was amazing and Rome.... Rome is the best place on earth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario2963
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient, attractive, spacious and (best of all) in Rome”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I know the owners of this property keenly value their Tripadvisor rating, and rightly so. It is a truly exceptional holiday rental.
We availed of the airport pick-up (€55), a convenience for us because one of us is 78 years old and had heavy luggage. This permitted us an early observation of characteristic Roman behaviour: (1) constantly being on a mobile phone while (2) driving insanely. But for more typically light-baggaged city-breakers on a budget, the car is something of an extravagance.
Really, reading descriptions of 'get bus/train to metro station, take subway, change to tram' makes this place sound much less handy to reach than it is. It is convenient. Very. Walking around the main attractions of Rome is not impossible from any reasonably central location, but it's exhausting: insofar as this place encourages you to get familiar with public transport (and the Roman tradition of treating buses and trams as free services), it's a great help for anyone planning to spend a few days here. The tram connection to the glorious Piazza del Popolo and Villa Borghese is so simple and quick that you might as well say that's where you're staying when you stay in Piccola Londra.
Just as the directions don't do justice to the location, the pics don't do justice to the apartment. The roomy bedrooms are indeed bigger than the common spaces but we had dinner in the apartment a couple of times, and two or three of us could work simultaneously in the kitchen, while the hall table unfolded to seat five people comfortably in the entrance area. (There were four of us staying, but we had a local guest for dinner; there is a fold-up bed in the apartment to sleep a fifth but we didn't avail of it.)
Okay, so there was no sharp knife in the kitchen. I see this complaint so often about rentals online that I think there is either a crime wave of touristic knife-theft or owners are reducing their insurance risk. Either way, we managed.
The local area is quiet by Roman standards but those are low standards. A bit posh too for my taste (there's a shop across the road called Dog & Design), and the cute nearby mews explains the 'Londra' connection. The small supermarket a minute away from the apartment is merely okay but keeps long hours, even opening on Sunday, a Roman rarity.
The only thing I could really say against this place is that it is so clean, attractive and comfortable that it was tempting to spend too much time there not exploring the incredible city of Rome. At these prices that is truly extraordinary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelesteSG
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We felt right at home in Rome! Excellent value too!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, I'd like to apologise for how long it took for me to post up this review!

Our family of four, with two boys both under ten, stayed for four nights at this cozy apartment in mid-June 2013. The location, as noted by many, is not near the major attractions of Rome, but for us, this was a great choice as we wanted a less touristy neighbourhood in which to enjoy Rome. Plus, we were driving into the city, and wanted a place where we could park our rental car easily for the next few days. Piccolo Londra fit the bill.

The apartment was perfect - the master bedroom was big, airy and had a HUGE wardrobe, the kids' room had two single beds with a night stand each (important for the boys, for they could put their toy, night torch and bedtime reading right next to them and "feel like it's home!"). The kitchenette is well equipped - our hosts had ensured that the basics (coffee, tea, hot chocolate for the boys, salt, oil, pepper, butter, milk etc) were provided, along with familiar (ikea) utensil and cutlery. We enjoyed preparing our ham and cheese boards for leisurely breakfasts in the apartment daily.

As noted by many fellow reviewers, the tram stop is near the apartment, and it is only a short ride to the Flaminio Square (and Borghese Gardens). The corner supermarket has a good deli selection, the pizzarie round the corner (and recommended by the host) does very decent pizzas and had quaffable wines by the carafe.

To us though, the hosts - Paola and Georgio - were the true gems. Even when we were enquiring about the apartment, Paola stood out amongst the owners / managers we contacted - she was responsive, polite, understanding. They knew we were driving to the apartment, and Georgio had "reserved" a parking lot right at the side entrance to the block for us. We left and took with us the courtesy mobile phone accidentally, and there were no harsh words, only understanding from the couple. As my son observed - it's more important to have kind, gracious hosts who truly you welcome you, than an over-the-top-beautifully-furnished apartment with unkind people to deal with - so to Paola and Georgio once again, thank you for a great stay! (We hope the phone made it back to you - and do keep us updated on your Tuscany project!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners of the apartment were so gracious, and very kind.
Liked least: It was a tad out of the way - so if you want to stay right in the midst of action, this may not fantastic. For us, with the kids, having a quiet corner of Rome to return to each day was wonderful.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing