We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We felt right at home in Rome! Excellent value...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CelesteSG
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We felt right at home in Rome! Excellent value too!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, I'd like to apologise for how long it took for me to post up this review!

Our family of four, with two boys both under ten, stayed for four nights at this cozy apartment in mid-June 2013. The location, as noted by many, is not near the major attractions of Rome, but for us, this was a great choice as we wanted a less touristy neighbourhood in which to enjoy Rome. Plus, we were driving into the city, and wanted a place where we could park our rental car easily for the next few days. Piccolo Londra fit the bill.

The apartment was perfect - the master bedroom was big, airy and had a HUGE wardrobe, the kids' room had two single beds with a night stand each (important for the boys, for they could put their toy, night torch and bedtime reading right next to them and "feel like it's home!"). The kitchenette is well equipped - our hosts had ensured that the basics (coffee, tea, hot chocolate for the boys, salt, oil, pepper, butter, milk etc) were provided, along with familiar (ikea) utensil and cutlery. We enjoyed preparing our ham and cheese boards for leisurely breakfasts in the apartment daily.

As noted by many fellow reviewers, the tram stop is near the apartment, and it is only a short ride to the Flaminio Square (and Borghese Gardens). The corner supermarket has a good deli selection, the pizzarie round the corner (and recommended by the host) does very decent pizzas and had quaffable wines by the carafe.

To us though, the hosts - Paola and Georgio - were the true gems. Even when we were enquiring about the apartment, Paola stood out amongst the owners / managers we contacted - she was responsive, polite, understanding. They knew we were driving to the apartment, and Georgio had "reserved" a parking lot right at the side entrance to the block for us. We left and took with us the courtesy mobile phone accidentally, and there were no harsh words, only understanding from the couple. As my son observed - it's more important to have kind, gracious hosts who truly you welcome you, than an over-the-top-beautifully-furnished apartment with unkind people to deal with - so to Paola and Georgio once again, thank you for a great stay! (We hope the phone made it back to you - and do keep us updated on your Tuscany project!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners of the apartment were so gracious, and very kind.
Liked least: It was a tad out of the way - so if you want to stay right in the midst of action, this may not fantastic. For us, with the kids, having a quiet corner of Rome to return to each day was wonderful.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJCMontre...
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, excellent location!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were two adults and two pre-teens. First off, we must say that the owners of the apartment were very warm and extremely helpful. We felt as if we were greeted by friends lending us their flat. Within the first hour, we had all the information on getting around in the neighbourhood and how to go about visiting the city.

The apartment itself was very beautiful with high ceilings and very tasteful decoration. The bookshelf/wall that separates the entrance from the living room was fantastic and gave a sense of being at home. The kitchen was very useful and we managed to have great home made meals during our stay.

The location of the apartment was ideal, only a few dozen feet away from the trolley to go to the metro station. It only took 10 minutes to reach Piazza del Popolo where the Flaminia station is.

The grocery store was just across the street and it was very convenient to buy food and other stuff. There was a great pizzeria nearby (Pizza Vignola) and a few other places where the food was delicious.

Overall, we had a blast staying there and we will definitely look it up when we will return to Rome one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling at home and the owner's reception
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and a great location”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Piccola Londra for 6 nights and it was extremely comfortable and convenient, in a great location. Paola had organized a pick up for us from the airport which is a big bonus. She and her daughter Francesca, two lovely ladies, warmly welcomed us and met us on arrival and showed us through the apartment. They speak very good English and explained where everything is kept in the apartment and had a mobile phone, lap top and maps available for our use. They also explained what is in our area and where to get tickets for the local No:2 trolley (tram). The trolley stop is a two minute walk down the road and takes you directly to the Piazza del Popolo area which can link you to the Flaminio metro station or you can walk from there to discover a lot of Rome, including the Spanish steps. It's fun walking the streets and there's always something wonderful to see in Rome. The nice touch was that Paola and Francesca left us fresh bread and milk with butter and jam in the fridge. There is a supermarket opposite the apartment and you can see it from the kitchen window. Piccola Londra is on the 3rd floor and has a small elevator for your luggage if you need it. It's very clean and comfortable with free wi-fi/internet access. There are two large bedrooms with a very comfortable queen bed in one and two single beds in the other. Both rooms have quiet air conditioning. There is a large wardrobe to hang your clothes, a washer/dryer, iron & ironing board and all amenities needed. The kitchenette has cooking equipment, a gas cook top, fridge and a microwave. There are local restaurants if don't want to cook. The bathroom is modern and exceptionally clean. The apartment is situated in a quieter area of Rome with the occasional noise of the trolley and sometimes the social gathering of people down below, but the windows and the shutters seem to cut out any noise. We enjoyed leaving the windows open to welcome the breeze and fresh air and felt very secure. Piccola Londra is like a small home away from home and we missed our little home once we continued our travelling. Thank you to Paola and Francesca for your lovely hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfarallo
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent and highly recommended”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Home away from home. Extremely clean and well stocked apartment. Owners very hospitable and provided advice needed to easily get around Rome. Very clean and well stocked upon arrival. Close to all major tourist attractions, particularly as tram and public transport are well within walking distance. Lovely tranquil neighborhood. Will definitely select Piccola Londra for next visit to Eternal City.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of apartment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeleyFam...
Carlsbad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Piccola Londra! It's a home away from home”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We (me, my husband and two teenagers) recently stayed at Piccola Londra for four nights and everything was perfect. The owners treated us like family and went out of their way to help with our vacation. They assisted us with airport transportation so we didn't have to worry about finding the place, and immediately made us feel at home. They even provided fresh milk and bread so we would have breakfast the next morning. There is a grocery store across the street which is extremely convenient and by taking the tram just down the street, everything in Rome is accessible. It is a very safe neighborhood and some of the restaurants in the area are the best, not like some of the tourist traps we made the mistake of visiting. I couldn't more highly recommend this apartment and the owners. We hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was nice and spacious and the owners were very accommodating
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leekycolo...
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment close enough to the tourist sights without being surrounded by tourists.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stay here for five nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness of the apartment as well as it's proximity to the sights of Rome. The tram runs down the street and it is short ride to Piazza del Popolo. The owners Paola and Georgio are very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. There is a grocery store, deli and restaurants all within one block. It was nice to stay in a local neighborhood instead of being in a hotel surrounded by tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of apartment
Liked least: The only item missing in the kitchen was a good knife for cutting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Come_On_S...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant appartment in a convenient location.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had a lovely few days in Rome staying here with my husband and two grown up daughters.

The apartment was clean and pleasant and the beds were very comfortable. The very friendly owners arranged a taxi from the airport and met us on arrival. They gave us a mobile phone to contact them if we had any queries or problems and there is a laptop and WiFi in the apartment to access the internet.

The kitchen was stocked with tea, coffee and basic food items for breakfast. There is a supermarket nearby and a choice of restaurants and pizzerias. The frequent trams take you in to the metro, or link with other lines to the Vatican or various parts of the city.

One tip - book your tickets to Villa Borghese before you leave home. We found there were none available for the next 6 days !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location. Friendly owners.
Liked least: The kitchen is a little small for 4 adults.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing