We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Roma”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Palmetto, Florida, United States
1 review
“The best place to stay in Roma”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What can I say, my second trip to Roma, I had to stay at the Beehive again, It is wonderfully located so close to the Termani, just a few blocks away which makes it so easy and handy for all types of transportation. The Beehive is very very clean...this is a must for us. We had so much fun the week we were in Rome meeting new "roomies" each evening. Our question was, do you have earplugs, if not we were happy to supply them because one of our group of 4 is a snorer.
We have always stayed in the mixed dorm for 8 people and have met so many nice people. Even tho we were glad to be going home, it was sad to say goodbye the the workers and our roomies that were with us the whole week. Would I go back yes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    234
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
133
306
198
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Beehive is a clean, quiet hotel located 2 blocks from the Termini station. My sister and I were in Rome for 2 days before a cruise from Civitavecchia, so the proximity to the train station (train from airport and then to port) was important. The Beehive is also close to almost everything else, too, within comfortable walking distance of most Roman sights.

The hotel is clean and well-maintained. We had a Classic room on the inside, overlooking the courtyard and next to the shared bathrooms, so it was very quiet. The staff was helpful, and the breakfast, while not included in the rate, was excellent and well priced.

I would definitely stay there again on a return visit to Rome.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 56TravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked at the Beehive because it looked funky, affordable, and well located, and had received amazing reviews. It lived up to its reputation. We were in the Sweets for 8 nights, and it was lovely. Being a few minutes' walk from Termini made transportation around Rome and to and from the airport a breeze. The shared fridge and dishes allowed us to dine "at home" occasionally. The place looks like its website: clean, bright, charming! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecumenist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Beehive is clean & well maintained, location central with staff informative and helpful. Maybe we stayed at The Sweets which I felt is not the main location so perhaps the atmosphere would be quite bland, some what lacking character.
However, I would strongly recommend it as a very good place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beehive, a lovely quiet retreat in the bustling centre of Rome. We stayed in the Suites, which is a converted appartment in a beautiful old apartment buiding, with ensuite WCs in the room and a shared kitchen for making drinks.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and equiped with everything we needed.
We ate at the Beehive's restaurant both Friday and Saturday nights and enjoyed delicious vegan food there both nights for a very reasonable price. Although we found Rome very vegan-friendly, it was lovely to have a vegan restaurant in the hotel, so you didn't have to traipse out again after a hard day's sight-seeing.

Room Tip: If staying in the Suites, ask for a room with ensuite WC as some rooms have a private, but separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We love to stay at the Beehive! They have everything a traveler needs! Steve and Linda have even added home made soap; that is the best I have ever experienced. It was my birthday when we were there and they even had a Birthday card for me. I really like personalized service when I travel; and the Beehive even has a made to order breakfast option with healthy food choices.

Room Tip: The Sweets is a new area that is more private and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at the Beehive. The location is the BEST for a convenient place to stay in Rome. It is 2 blocks from the Termini station, so easily accessible to both Metro lines and a zillion buses and trains. So very easy to find your way home to the Beehive. Our first night was in a private room in the main building. The subsequent nights were at the Sweets around the corner. The cafe downstairs is convenient for a first night's meal and breakfasts. The pdf Beehive guide of recommended restaurants online was essential reading. Every place we visited in their guide was great. (and we visited almost all of the Gelaterias recommended) The only complaint has to do with the other guests staying at the Sweets who were less than thoughtful about keeping their voices down in the common area early in the morning. There were signs in the room reminding guest of quiet hours. So this complaint has more to do with a bad batch of other guests than the Beehive itself, which, judging from the people we chatted with in the cafe, tends to attract mostly thoughtful, interesting people. PS. the shower we had in the Sweets was rather small - maybe a 2 foot by 2 foot space. it was fine for us, but just an FYI for the less flexible or larger than average guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,091 in Rome
2,067 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,091 in Rome
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing