We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Beehive was clean and had an excellent personality- very charming. It was really conveniently located to the main station but was also enclosed with a courtyard so that you feel like you are away from the bustle.
The cafe has vegetarian breakfasts and they were delish!
Very helpful front desk lady. Also, the owners Steve & Linda were so helpful from the time we started planning our trip right up through our stay. They stayed in touch and also gave us great tips for the rest of our Italy travels. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The sweets' which are some apartments around the corner. 'The Sweets'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBroome2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    231
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
130
299
193
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hainesport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Beehive. The location is an easy 2 blocks from the train station and the staff couldn't have been nicer and all spoke English. What sold us on this hotel was the delicous vegan friendly breakfast. We initially stayed at "The Sweets" just around the corner from the main entrance. The room was large and had a terrace overlooking the street. This was very nice in the daytime but the street is noisy at all hours of the night. We were so tired we didn't mind very much so we didn't even close the shutters. The room we had for one night in the Beehive was much quieter.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the street noise at the Sweets, ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Beehive in September it was fantasic great location less than 5 minutes from the Termini. The facilities were great and the customer service excellent .
I have told all my friends about it and will definitely stay there again.
We had a tasty vegetarian meal there on the Friday night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileens0acis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Even though my employer gives me funds to stay at a regular hotel, I chose the Beehive in order to have more money to dine out in Rome on my allotted budget while on a work trip. Who knew I would like it better than a hotel? I stayed in the Clover, about four city blocks from the Beehive headquarters. Online that seemed like a hassle and a second-best choice, but in reality it turned out to be great. The walk isn't far at all, and the Clover building was slightly more convenient for my appointments in Rome.

Staying in the Clover is quite similar to staying in a normal European apartment. This is how real Euro-people live! I lived in Paris 20 years ago renting a room from a lady in a concierge building with an old elevator, and this really took me back to that experience. You'll have a comfortable room, and there is a big shared kitchen and plenty of bathroom space. I will stay here again, no question.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get one of the rooms. The dorm-style Hive isn't that much cheaper, but you get a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortuna_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay at the Beehive was great. Good service, clean rooms, ect. I'm not sure what the dorm rooms are like, but the private rooms are good. The cafe downstairs is a nice treat for breakfast too. They do dinners sometimes during the week as well which which delicious as well. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff is really helpful. The location, near termini station, is convenient for exploring Rome and connecting too/from other cities. The breakfast cafe has a good selection of affordable breakfast items, though I didn't get to eat breakfast because the chef ran out of butter. Overall, this is a good hostel for grown-ups. Not a party atmosphere, but a friendly environment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank emily111182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here with my son. Very close to the Termini Station which made it convenient. The rooms were very clean and even the shared bathrooms. The first night we stayed in the suite room which was a little noisy. We moved to the twin room which I found much better and it was cheaper. It was quiet, had a ceiling fan, and a sink in the room. The staff was very friendly and help map out our Rome attractions. The cafe on the ground floor had good food to start your morning. We walked everywhere in Rome so needed a good start. Overall the room and stary was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay in the twin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#19 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#34 of 1,089 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,089 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing