We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class, clean, comfortable accommodations with character”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,178 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the sweets for four nights and a private room in the main building for two. Both were clean, comfortable and stylish. The location was great. Five min from the metro which proved to be convenient. although we just ended up walking to most of the main attractions. The neighbourhood is a little rough around the edges, as neighbourhoods surrounding transportation hubs generally are, but it felt completely safe. There's a rudimentary self-serve kitchen in the sweets which was much cleaner than most shared kitchen spaces I've encountered. The beehive was a better value than other nearby hostels we've stayed at in Rome. My favourite part of the Beehive was the downstairs cafe. They serve healthy and affordable breakfasts and the chefs are really charming. I would recommend the beehive to friends and family, and will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourbuddyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 941 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the sweets. It was fine.

It was clean. It was near the station. It was fairly cheap. The beds are comfortable.

On the downside the walls are uber thin, so late night noise really travels. We had a few problems with fellow guests moving/using our food/drink in the fridge. The bottles of water we put in the freezer overnight so we would have cold drinks during a long daytrip were removed to the fridge at some point overnight. One day we returned to find someone had put our yoghurt in the freezer.

Late at night expect to see a lot of homeless people in the neighbourhood, often passed out from drink/drugs. One tramp appears to routinely sleep on the bench of the restaurant just downstairs from the Sweets. If you are a lone female or a bit nervous this might influence your decision to stay there. We were a couple and it was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABC462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear ABC462, I'm sorry to hear about your troubles with the items in the refrigerator. It's a mystery to me, but being a communal fridge - I'm afraid sometimes these things can happen. In regards to the homeless people in our neighborhood, I recently wrote about this in The Beehive's blog and about safety concerns in Rome. Around Termini train station and throughout the city, you will often see scenes like those you described. I have never had nor heard of anyone who has had a negative encounter with these people. The beggars simply sit on the sidewalk and ask for money ask you walk by and the others who are passed out are too wrapped up in a cloud of drink or drugs and their own suffering to do much of anything else. Many people visiting Rome may be shocked by these scenes as their fantasy images of what Rome is like clash with what the reality is actually like for any large urban center, and Rome is no exception. However, as a woman and a mother of 3 daughters I don't take matters of safety lightly and I have never felt nervous, in danger or have been threatened in our neighborhood and it doesn't sound like you experienced any negative encounters with these people. Thanks for your positive comments about our place and I do hope you enjoyed your time in Rome. Best regards, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Steve is a great host. He gave great tips on on places to go visit and eat. The exact directions was given bus numbers and trains to catch to and from the Beehive. They were great directions and very much appreciated. The food at the Beehive was great as well as the places he recommended. Steve gave us very personalized service. We saw Rome so efficiently . Thank you Steve. We could have not seen as much of Rome without your help.
I loved the rooms, they made you feel very comfortable and at home. The location was great it is very close to the train and bus station. The staff was very friendly. Great value !!! The facility was very clean. We stayed 1 night before a cruise and 2 nights after the cruise. We could not have seen as much of Rome as we did, if not for Steve. Thanks again for the great hospitality !!!! If you are going to Rome DO NOT MISS The Beehive it's a Great place to stay!!!!!!!! Love this place!! It made my trip to Rome very special with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed for a few nights in The Sweets and then a night in a private room in the main building - both rooms were nice and clean and had everything we needed. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and replied to emails really quickly (which was a relief considering one of our flights were cancelled and we didn't get there until a day later than planned). The Beehive is super close to Termini and it was a short walk to the supermarket. Our room in the main building was not as close to the street as our room at The Sweets was, which cut down on the traffic noise. Overall it was really quiet and relaxing when we were there, so it was a nice place to come back to after long day walking around Rome! The wifi worked really well too, and The Sweets has a communal ipad which came in handy for planning our activities.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Sweets have their own bathrooms (for an extra cost), if you prefer that to communal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suse1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Steve was our host and owner of the Beehive together with Linda.
Yes, We were from the USA
Yes, We were from Connecticut
Yes, We were from the Town of Orange, Connecticut
Yes, We lived on a road in Orange intersecting the very same road that Steve grew up on !!
We shared a number of stories about "back home," and, of course, felt very welcome at the B & B called the "Sweets," the annex of the Beehive B & B, with full bath and A/C included at 110 Euros/night. Great value. You get just the room, not included breakfast, which is available in a "cafe" in the basement. But, one can get a full menue real cafe just outside the front door. Steve was great at getting us taxi cabs right at our door within two minutes of our asking. The Beehive's location is a 5-10 minute walk from the train station, which is simple even with towing suitcases. Room was clean, airy, and central, obviously. If Rome is on your Italian iterary, you should contact the Beehive for a room in the Sweets, and please say "Hi" to Steve from us, the couple originally from Orange, Connecticut. He will treat you like family too.

Room Tip: It is best to reserve your room in the "Sweets," which is an annex to the Beehive B &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi Thomas T, It was a real pleasure to meet you - I couldn't believe you remembered my family's little grocery store on Orange Center Road. What a small world! Glad to hear you had a good trip and hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a great location. Very close to train station and easy to find. Very friendly staff and clean facilities. The room we had was close to the road and a bit noisy. Also on our last night there was a bit of a party going on with a staff member and guest which was a bit noisy. i wouldn't mind normally but it didn't finish up until after midnight and was right outside our window.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perkins501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Perkins 51, I'm sorry for the noise and based on when you stayed it might have been either one of two events that took place recently: one was a celebration we were having for Gianluca our cafe chef who recently got married and so we had a get together to toast and congratulate him and his new wife or it may have been one of the nights we have our vegan dinners - there was one evening recently where it ran late and the clean up was a bit noisy. We do try to wrap up the dinners early - by 9:30/10pm so do apologize for any inconvenience caused. I hope despite that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Rome. All the best, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was definitely a good choice to stay somewhere near the train station considering the chaotic traffic in Rome. The Beehive is 5 minutes from the train station, but very quiet so you don't have to worry about the noise. Room is small but cozy and smells nice. There was only one tiny thing that we didn't like. The shower got either too hot water or cold water. Overall, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindal_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,178 in Rome
258 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#13 of 1,178 in Rome
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,178 in Rome
461 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#29 of 1,178 in Rome
768 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mood 44
Mood 44
#1 of 1,178 in Rome
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,178 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Beehive 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing