We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EUROPE VACATION BEEHIVE BEDAND BREAKFAST”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,167 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Steve is a great host. He gave great tips on on places to go visit and eat. The exact directions was given bus numbers and trains to catch to and from the Beehive. They were great directions and very much appreciated. The food at the Beehive was great as well as the places he recommended. Steve gave us very personalized service. We saw Rome so efficiently . Thank you Steve. We could have not seen as much of Rome without your help.
I loved the rooms, they made you feel very comfortable and at home. The location was great it is very close to the train and bus station. The staff was very friendly. Great value !!! The facility was very clean. We stayed 1 night before a cruise and 2 nights after the cruise. We could not have seen as much of Rome as we did, if not for Steve. Thanks again for the great hospitality !!!! If you are going to Rome DO NOT MISS The Beehive it's a Great place to stay!!!!!!!! Love this place!! It made my trip to Rome very special with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 936 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed for a few nights in The Sweets and then a night in a private room in the main building - both rooms were nice and clean and had everything we needed. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and replied to emails really quickly (which was a relief considering one of our flights were cancelled and we didn't get there until a day later than planned). The Beehive is super close to Termini and it was a short walk to the supermarket. Our room in the main building was not as close to the street as our room at The Sweets was, which cut down on the traffic noise. Overall it was really quiet and relaxing when we were there, so it was a nice place to come back to after long day walking around Rome! The wifi worked really well too, and The Sweets has a communal ipad which came in handy for planning our activities.

Room Tip: Rooms in The Sweets have their own bathrooms (for an extra cost), if you prefer that to communal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suse1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Steve was our host and owner of the Beehive together with Linda.
Yes, We were from the USA
Yes, We were from Connecticut
Yes, We were from the Town of Orange, Connecticut
Yes, We lived on a road in Orange intersecting the very same road that Steve grew up on !!
We shared a number of stories about "back home," and, of course, felt very welcome at the B & B called the "Sweets," the annex of the Beehive B & B, with full bath and A/C included at 110 Euros/night. Great value. You get just the room, not included breakfast, which is available in a "cafe" in the basement. But, one can get a full menue real cafe just outside the front door. Steve was great at getting us taxi cabs right at our door within two minutes of our asking. The Beehive's location is a 5-10 minute walk from the train station, which is simple even with towing suitcases. Room was clean, airy, and central, obviously. If Rome is on your Italian iterary, you should contact the Beehive for a room in the Sweets, and please say "Hi" to Steve from us, the couple originally from Orange, Connecticut. He will treat you like family too.

Room Tip: It is best to reserve your room in the "Sweets," which is an annex to the Beehive B &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi Thomas T, It was a real pleasure to meet you - I couldn't believe you remembered my family's little grocery store on Orange Center Road. What a small world! Glad to hear you had a good trip and hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a great location. Very close to train station and easy to find. Very friendly staff and clean facilities. The room we had was close to the road and a bit noisy. Also on our last night there was a bit of a party going on with a staff member and guest which was a bit noisy. i wouldn't mind normally but it didn't finish up until after midnight and was right outside our window.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perkins501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Perkins 51, I'm sorry for the noise and based on when you stayed it might have been either one of two events that took place recently: one was a celebration we were having for Gianluca our cafe chef who recently got married and so we had a get together to toast and congratulate him and his new wife or it may have been one of the nights we have our vegan dinners - there was one evening recently where it ran late and the clean up was a bit noisy. We do try to wrap up the dinners early - by 9:30/10pm so do apologize for any inconvenience caused. I hope despite that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Rome. All the best, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was definitely a good choice to stay somewhere near the train station considering the chaotic traffic in Rome. The Beehive is 5 minutes from the train station, but very quiet so you don't have to worry about the noise. Room is small but cozy and smells nice. There was only one tiny thing that we didn't like. The shower got either too hot water or cold water. Overall, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindal_lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely clean rooms, helpful staff, great location, quiet with a lovely small courtyard so you feel you are out of the city, bonus cafe with reasonable prices for breakfast, great vegetarian dinners offered some nights, shared bathrooms a little small but this does not detract from the great stay. What more could you want!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryV53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the dorm style accommodation. A great place to stay - super clean and comfortable. The cafe downstairs is delicious and staff very friendly. They even have a visiting massage therapist. Small details are paid attention - shampoo and shower gel provided, and hostel bed made up when I arrived - something that doesn't normally happen! Great spot in Rome. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#260 of 1,271 in Rome
604 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,167 in Rome
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#14 of 1,167 in Rome
982 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#2 of 1,167 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,167 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing