We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Beehive”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #7 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved The Beehive”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great hotel with a great location - only a couple of minutes walk from the Termini Train Station. We stayed in the Sweets section and loved it's homey feel. The staff were also amazing with their food & site seeing recommendations. The vegan & enviro feel was also a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briellenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    232
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
131
301
195
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Wife and I along with out two teenage daughters spent 4 nights at the Beehive in July (2013) and it was the perfect place for our time in Rome. Ideally placed and only a couple of minutes walk from the Termini, the Beehive and it's rooms are spotlessly clean and bright. We had dinner at the cafe twice and the vegetarian food was excellent, served in a very relaxing way, where you could escape from the chaos of Rome for a while. Also, the daily breakfast set you up for a day on foot exploring Rome and it is served and cooked by the most relaxed Roman you will meet. In fact we would describe the Beehive as a little oasis of calm in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Rome. We also lost our camera whilst in Rome and although this had nothing to do with the Beehive they went out of their way, even after we had returned home, to try and contact taxi companies on our behalf,

If we return to Rome we would have no hesitation in revisiting the Beehive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent 5 days at The Beehive and it was wonderful! The staff is very helpful, and the location is fabulous, just minutes walk from the main train station. The atmosphere was wonderful, clean and bright and we loved the garden/courtyard as a place to rest and gather with the other guests. Attention to detail and the small touches like the little honey candy on our pillow, or the honey shampoo in the showers were such a pleasant surprise. The chef in their small cafe was so nice, and fixed a wonderful breakfast for us. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for three great nights at The Beehive in Rome. They were helpful in finding places to eat and how to get around. The rooms were clean, updated, and thoughtfully organized. The food was excellent! I have stayed in over a dozen hostels in Europe and this was easily the best. Also, this is the easiest place in the world to find if you're coming in on the train! Thanks!

Room Tip: Corner suite was breezy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

When I first arrived in Rome this was the perfect base to get to know the city. Clean, vibrant and full of high integrity, I really appreciated the management's willingness to share their knowledge of the city but also their events that build community - like vegan dinners and gatherings in their garden. I can see why people come back here again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolcecarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Beehive continues to astonish. This summer I had my third stay over the past ten years, and in addition to the great value I am now impressed by the way the Beehive has kept up its stylish decor and even improved its delicious, organic, vegetarian/vegan cafe offerings. A lot of charming little family-run hotels/hostels run down a bit over the years and then, if things go well, they cycle through a remodel and update only to run down again. The Beehive sustains its high quality. The location right by Termini is perfect--though, of course, it requires a bit of a hike (or a taxi ride, or a two-block walk to the Metro) to get to the sites. There's no better value in Italy. And, though it's been said before, it bears repeating: The Beehive is an oasis of calm in the madness of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was my first stay in a hostel and I was very pleasantly surprised. Although sleeping on a top bunk was a bit humorous in my middle of the night toilet trips (I'm in my late 40s), it was otherwise perfectly fine. The bathrooms were nice and readily available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was quite nice. But the best of all was the little courtyard. I adored this little slice of serenity. I found it overall to be a great value for the budget minded.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#19 of 1,069 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#33 of 1,069 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,069 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing