We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sanctuary That Made Our Rome and Europe Trip Much Easier”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #4 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“The Sanctuary That Made Our Rome and Europe Trip Much Easier”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I am a travel writer and made my first trip to Rome to meet my college-age daughter who had been traveling in Turkey. Rome is known to be intimidating and right from the start I read all the great reviews about the Beehive and how Steve and Linda of course speak perfect English and so we chose that as our place to meet and connect. Because they were booked the nights we wanted we never stayed there, but Steve and I became such instant on-line friends that he and his also-nice receptionists let us use the Beehive for much of our logistics. When it was hot and chaotic in Rome the Beehive was by far the nicest sanctuary we found during the week we were there. We met many of the guests and found the most interesting travelers we met in Rome were staying there. Then when our situation suddenly changed in Florence Steve again went out of his way to immediately find us the perfect place in Florence through their cross-pollination service. I spent an hour reading all the glowing reviews in their guestbooks, and together with their 347 excellents here (now 348), they've had the most glowing reviews of anyplace we've found in Rome or elsewhere. All in all there is no place in Rome and no innkeepers I've found who I would recommend more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBrenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    236
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
136
309
199
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a delightful stay in one of the Beehives' rooms in their complex just a block or so from the Termini. Although I booked late and was solo, I had their last and smallest room, it was wonderful! The room as well as the bathrooms were clean and neat. The bed and mattress were fine. I also enjoyed a couple of delicious meals in their restaurant at their main location just a short walk away. I can't say enough about the very helpful staff member who spent a great deal of time with me getting my new phone fully operational. Thanks! All in all, what great location for exploring Rome. I can't wait to return and have recommended several friends stay their also.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was unable to stay at the property as it was booked for the dates I was going to be in Rome. However knowing I wasn't going to be able to stay there, they still sent me their guides to Rome and the link to their informational videos. Additionally they provided me with great recommendations on other parts of Italy that made our stay in those places all the better. I hope to be able to stay at the Beehive on our next trip but wanted to say thanks for helping to make our trip to Italy so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was my first solo trip and first time in Rome. I discovered The Beehive through Rick Steve's website and I'm so glad I did. It was perfect and far better than I expected. First off, the location is ideal for exploring Rome. Just a few blocks from Termini, Metro, and buses. The hotel/hostel is located in the midst of restaurants and quick walk to grocery store. As a woman traveling through Italy solo, I couldn't have felt more secure. The "Sweets" were lovely, my room was spotless and nicely decorated. The air conditioning worked great! The cafe was excellent, breakfast was delicious. I can not say enough about Aimee's cooking or the incredible Sri Lankan food in my first night. I met amazing people from around the world, many who are regulars every year. Thank you Beehive for making my first experience in Italy so wonderful. I'm already making plans to return! Angelica

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwppart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Beehive was my first hostel experience in Europe & has really sent the benchmark already. Single beds, great organic/vegeterian/vegan food, clean rooms and bathrooms which have soap and shampoo & friendly staff. Huge credit to the staff member originally from Indonesia (I'm super sorry just had a mental blank of her name) was SUPER helpful; offering to call around to other hostels in the area when they were booked out to reserve a dorm for me & accompanying me to the museum down the road.

Will definitely be back when in Rome next (I've thrown coins into the Trevi fountain so it's happening!

Room Tip: I was incredibly fortunate to get a dorm without bunkbeds. From the photos it looks like there are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed here twice, at the start and the end of our trip in Italy. The location near Roma Termini is very convenient. One suggestion:- on our last evening in Rome before flying home, we decided just to self-cater and have a meal in the courtyard at Beehive. We bought some food and wine and then went to ask Beehive staff for the loan of glasses and cutlery. When we went to the cafe to get these items, the lady pointed out that there was a special Sri Lankan dinner prepared. Had we known, we would have had this dinner instead of self-catering. There were no signs anywhere to indicate that dinner was on that evening. The staff did not mention it. It was not on one of the nights when dinner was on, according to the information provided in the room. It would have been useful to have known about this dinner. As it turned out, we shared a plate in the cafe after we had our small meal in the courtyard garden. There just needed to be some information provided. But apart from this, the Beehive is pretty good. As with many hostels/hotels, there is too much wardrobe & drawer space. Hooks and shelving would be better. Wifi available in the room. The soap is nice!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleobolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Taroudannt, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I really lucked out when, last minute, I stumbled upon your website while searching for a hostel two days before I needed it. Beautiful, pristine, homey, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at in any country. If I'm lucky enough to visit Rome again, they will definitely have my returned business.

The Beehive is a lovely property, extremely clean, and spacious and homey. Easy access to Termini station, secure entry, a cafe/restaurant on the facility for those days when you just don't want to go out, private sitting areas outside that's full of beautiful greenery, free wifi and a computer for those who travel without one. I came alone, but this would be a place I would come with my family (including young children), a significant other, or friends.

What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,100 in Rome
840 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,100 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing