We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly positive, but some drawbacks”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #5 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mostly positive, but some drawbacks”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed one night in one of the rooms without a bathroom.

The positives:
Close to Termini, great when arriving in the evening. 25 minutes walk to Colisseum.
Comfortable bed. There was a hand basin in the room.
Breakfast was excellent in the cafe downstairs.

The not so good:
It was hard to sleep, with doors banging all night (as guests go in and out of rooms to use bathrooms).
There was no kettle in room for making a hot drink, very inconvenient to walk outside looking for coffee/tea.
Cafe downstairs is small, only 1 person cooking, so need to wait.

Next time if we stay here, we would book one of the Sweets room.
Or we would stay at Filippo where we previously stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    234
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
133
306
198
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Beehive is my go-to hostel in Rome. I also recommend it to all of my friends. Let's just say that if my parents were looking to stay in a hostel in this city, I would put them up here. It's that nice and trustworthy.

I've been to a lot of hostels and visited a lot of hotels, and the Beehive is one of the best. The owners, Linda and Steve, speak fluent English and Italian, which makes it really easy to communicate with them. The property is clean and safe, the meals are healthy (accommodating for vegan and gluten-free diets), and there's a beautiful garden inside where you can enjoy a glass of wine.

I actually stayed in their sister property, the Clover. It's located just on the other side of Roma Termini Station and it's as well-maintained as the main location. The showers and kitchen were clean and they had free wireless Internet. The building houses other apartments, so it was kind of like living like a local. I enjoyed it very much.

The property's proximity to the main train station is key. It takes just a two-block walk to access Rome's Metro system. Many late-night buses stop at Termini as well, which makes getting home after hours very convenient (I am an expert on needing to get home after hours).

Prices are good, the service is spectacular and the location is amazing. I won't even need to look up a new place during my next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

For travellers arriving from overseas, The Beehive is a great place to stay. It is a peaceful haven after the confusion of arriving in a new country. It is a short walk from Termini railway station, and once you are inside the high walls and in the garden it is a welcome calm while you gather your wits and prepare for your busy time in Rome.

The simple but excellent decor makes it a place to relax, not too over the top, but cheerful and welcoming. The staff are helpful, always obliging, and make you feel at home immediately.

While perhaps not your most romantic getaway spot, it is a wonderful oasis in a city teeming with life and "chaos". For long-haul flight visitors, from "down under", to be able to find it quickly and easily, speak English and feel safe and secure is perhaps the greatest feature to recommend this hotel.

Also, for vegetarians, the food was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi60traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's not just a hotel or a hostel, it's more like a funky, arty cultural center with beds! The owners have gone above and beyond to make the entire space hip, unique and comfortable. The prices are reasonable, and yet you never feel like you're staying in a "budget" hotel. In fact, it feels like you're staying in Philippe Starck's latest cool project. I've never met such an accommodating and friendly staff abroad, and I've traveled extensively in Europe, Asia, North America and Central America. These guys are simply the best and will bend over backward to make sure your stay is comfortable. They are also very good about suggesting places to see, places to eat, and how to get around. Rome is such an overwhelming city -- this level of hospitality is very much appreciated! Situated very close to the Termini, the location is extremely convenient. I highly recommend the Beehive. Five out of five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Booked a month in advance in eight-dorm room. Apparently, they no longer hold a permit for this room. Instead of putting me in another room at the same cost, they said I could pay nearly full price for a single or double or cancel the booking altogether. EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
In our opinion, this "review" has no relevance to people wanting to know about The Beehive's facilities or who we treat our actual guests. This person has not stayed, stepped foot in, or had any direct experience with our establishment, our staff, or the actual service we provide. She is not, as she wrote, a "customer".

Due to a major crisis, we are not able to honor this guest's reservation (made 1 week prior to the date we notified her - not 1 month ago as she states, and still a couple of weeks before her actual arrival).

We offered alternative options, some at our hotel which are of completely different room type and thus not in the same price category, and other options in nearby establishments in the same price range she was booked at.

This person has been completely inhumane in her treatment of us, was offensive in emails, and unwilling to discuss the matter after we reached out to her by phone, at our expense, in an effort to understand each other's positions better.

Our service is in offering accommodation and great advice during our guests' stay, which this guest has not experienced and is therefore not qualified to criticize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is great! Located in the Termini area, The Beehive is on one side of centrale station and the Acacia, one of their apartment, is on the other. They are maybe 4 - 5 blocks apart. The Acacia is home in Rome! 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom, the only problem may be the other travellers if they are noisy or if they steal your food... which happened to us! Other than that, it is close to everything! The place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am writing this for my friends as I had to fly home early due to a death. We had booked the double rooms with shared bath. We were a little worried about that but they said they never saw anyone else and it was all ok. They loved the rooms and the cafe was their favorite. I am so interested now in the other places they have.

Room Tip: The shared bath suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,091 in Rome
2,067 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,091 in Rome
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing