We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Review of The Beehive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beehive
Ranked #6 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Booked a month in advance in eight-dorm room. Apparently, they no longer hold a permit for this room. Instead of putting me in another room at the same cost, they said I could pay nearly full price for a single or double or cancel the booking altogether. EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaatTheBeehive, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
In our opinion, this "review" has no relevance to people wanting to know about The Beehive's facilities or who we treat our actual guests. This person has not stayed, stepped foot in, or had any direct experience with our establishment, our staff, or the actual service we provide. She is not, as she wrote, a "customer".

Due to a major crisis, we are not able to honor this guest's reservation (made 1 week prior to the date we notified her - not 1 month ago as she states, and still a couple of weeks before her actual arrival).

We offered alternative options, some at our hotel which are of completely different room type and thus not in the same price category, and other options in nearby establishments in the same price range she was booked at.

This person has been completely inhumane in her treatment of us, was offensive in emails, and unwilling to discuss the matter after we reached out to her by phone, at our expense, in an effort to understand each other's positions better.

Our service is in offering accommodation and great advice during our guests' stay, which this guest has not experienced and is therefore not qualified to criticize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    234
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
133
306
198
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place is great! Located in the Termini area, The Beehive is on one side of centrale station and the Acacia, one of their apartment, is on the other. They are maybe 4 - 5 blocks apart. The Acacia is home in Rome! 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom, the only problem may be the other travellers if they are noisy or if they steal your food... which happened to us! Other than that, it is close to everything! The place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am writing this for my friends as I had to fly home early due to a death. We had booked the double rooms with shared bath. We were a little worried about that but they said they never saw anyone else and it was all ok. They loved the rooms and the cafe was their favorite. I am so interested now in the other places they have.

Room Tip: The shared bath suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flpab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at Millefiori Guestrooms which The Beehive manages. Really enjoyed our stay here - was like having our own apartment in Rome. Great value for central Rome. 5 minutes walk from the train station and easy to walk to all the main attractions.There are 3 bedrooms and 2 shared bathrooms (1 which is brand new) plus a big kitchen and lounge area which was great for relaxing after a long day out exploring. Bed was comfy and the apartment very clean. Only issue we had was with using one of the keys to get into the gate, it didn't want to work. Definitely recommend going to the gelato factory Fassi which is 5 minutes walk away - so good! Great supermarket just next to Fassi too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Checked in late and everything went well. Francesca was really nice and showed us to our room in a building just around the corner in The Sweets. Room was very spacious, clean and the wi-fi worked well. The place is also very close to Termini Station which is really helpful. Also liked the amenities!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've said this before: we feel like we have generous friends who live in Rome and are happy to have us come back... We have stayed in all the rooms except for the Sweets. Starting with the dorms, trying out the apartments, enjoying the private rooms lately with friends...We love hanging out and socializing with the other guests and staff. When you're pleasantly tired after a day of enjoying the city, is so nice to just stay in and eat healthy luscious organic vegan food and organic wine. The place is clean, convenient, friendly and the place to go for the inside scoop on enjoying Rome. I invite all my friends to stay here 'when in Rome'.

Room Tip: Two friends and I shared a triple room. After the long, cramped flight over, it is cool, clean, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have to say I would heartily recommend the Beehive as a place to stay in Rome. I was travelling on my own so was really nervous about being in Rome (after visiting Venice and Florence) but this was perfect! Its about a five minute stroll to Termini so I found it perfect for getting everywhere (especially as I was getting the train from Florence and then flying back from Ciampino) - the area is not as pretty as staying in cool Monti but really handy for getting around and perfect for what I needed (also I had some really good pizza slices from a tiny place a few doors down from the Sweets... cheap and good so ask Steve if you need a quick but good cheap eat).
When I booked the Beehive I got a prompt reply from them, actually offering me a better deal and a cheaper choice of room that worked out brilliant advice as what they recommended was exactly what I wanted (and was really good value). I had a lovely single room in The Sweets with a lovely ensuite (nice shower and homemade soaps!). The rooms were off a nice fairly large communal space that came with its own iPad and lovely open shutters and clean kitchen. The place was immaculate and felt quite spacious. Amazing value!
Steve was good for advice - when I first got there he was really good at helping me pick a path (with good gelato/pizza picks pointed on the way) for that afternoon which really helped ease me into Roma. If you get down to breakfast in time too - it was pretty good rustic fare! Would have loved to have eaten there Saturday evening as when I left in the morning it looked like they were making a beautiful feast for dinner!
Anyway, I really recommend this lovely place - I didn't see the rooms in the main building but staying in The Sweets was like having your own little apartment in Rome. Go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,091 in Rome
2,067 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#28 of 1,091 in Rome
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beehive

Property: The Beehive
Address: Via Marghera 8, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beehive is a cool, stylish, eco-friendly budget hostel/hotel owned by an American couple, Linda & Steve, who came to Rome to follow a dream. In 1999 we packed up our apartment in Los Angeles and, along with our 2 cats moved to Rome and opened The Beehive, a unique cross between a budget hotel and an upscale hostel - a place where you can feel at home. Everything about The Beehive reflects our own personal values and we genuinely want to be helpful and hospitable. We love to share the kind of information that helps you get the most out of your travels. Over the years The Beehive has evolved along with us and our many repeat guests. With our amazing onsite staff and manager, all of our guests receive our dedication and effort to helping you get the best out of your holiday. As always, we want you to know you have a safe haven and friends in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beehive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beehive Hotel Rome
Beehive Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing