We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Ranked #29 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice for Rome”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in Alessandro Palace Hostel for 6 nights in September 2013. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The only downfall was that there was not really a communal area to socialise in. The hostel eating area closed after breakfast each morning for cleaning so you can either sit on one of 4 stools or sit on the bench outside the computer/internet area.

Location was good, half an hour walk to the main sites but close to public transport and 150 metres from Roma Termini train station. This is great if you are arriving into Rome late at night as it is a short distance to walk with luggage.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adrianjc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    274
    190
    40
    31
See reviews for
19
54
294
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I travelled to Rome alone for a short city break, on a fairly tight budget so opted for a hostel.

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable (if a little small - tall people, think again), and the shower and bathroom was excellent. The bathroom is en suite so it's almost like a hotel room with bunk beds.

They do a breakfast for 4 euros, which is decent. Fruit, cereal, ham, cheese, and as much toast and coffee as you want.

The location is good in the sense that it's right next to Termini station, with good metro and bus links nearby. The Colosseum is about a 15 minute walk away, but you'll have to walk for at least 40 minutes to most other attractions. I made use of the metro and buses.

The staff are helpful with directions etc, and there are plenty of cafes and pizza places nearby.

One small complaint was the air conditioning unit. Visiting in December, the nights were very chilly, but you can't run the air con at night because it makes a huge noise - like an airplane. Good luck to you if you can sleep! I asked for an extra blanket instead. I can see that being more of an issue in summer when it's hot.

The other thing is there doesn't seem to be much of a common area to meet people, and the bar never seemed to be open, although maybe this was just because of the time of the year.

Over all I think you could do much, much worse for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a four-bed dorm with an en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
355 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hostel is a part of 'Famous hostels or Europe' as it deserves to be famous. The staff is extremely curteous and the location of the hostel is brilliant - 5 minutes walk from the central railway station as well as metro station which has direct connection to Vatican.

Being an Indian, the place is just about 8-10 minutes walk from 'Little India', the region of Rome which is filled with vegetarian restaurants, most of them serving Indian cuisine. We even had a nice 4-Eur breakfast in the hostel twice which consits of bread, cheese, butter, jam, coffee, juice etc. but in any amount you want.

The rooms are amazing. We took a 6-bed dorm which had two ensuite bathrooms and had nice furnishings. Although the cost was a little on the higher side, it was totally worth it as on both days we didn't have anybody else staying with us, so it was like a private room.

The hostel has free-Wifi and lockers within the room. They keep your luggage for free even after you check out. The only thing that was disappointing was that the lockers in the room require you to bring your own padlock and the ones that hostel sells is 5 Euros. They don't have an option to rent one like a few other hostels in Europe do.

All in all, totally worth the money.

Room Tip: Take the 6-bed ensuite dorm. Although the Euro rate will be higher, people are reluctant to pay that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerendipityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Considering that Italy has very few options for decent hostels we were very impressed with Alessandro. From the other reviews I saw on hostel world, it was better than I expected.

They don't have covers for the duvets which is poor but we jus asked for extra sheets.

Rooms were a decent size, clean and quiet. The bar isn't the most happening place, but I met plenty of people in the hostel and went out to the yellow (around the corner) a few times which is an awesome bar.

Great location considering Rome only has two metro lines. 20min walk to the colosseum. Plenty of good places to eat near by (get breakfast across the road or at the yellow).

Only thing that sucked is that there's no kitchen. But the staff were happy to let us use the jug and glasses in the bar for hot drinks.

It does have a bit of a weird vibe for a hostel, but I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The location if this hostel is definitely a key feature. The hostel itself was pretty nice too. I was traveling with two others so we books a three person room and it was almost a hotel room. We had our own shower, towels were provided and soaps. The staff even made our room available at 8 am when we arrived, as I requested when I booked, which was awesome because we just got off a rough night train. The staff was also very helpful and we found some amazing tours through them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 8 bed room, it was big, the only problem maybe the bathroom in the morning but what can you expect 8 people. The staff where super nice to me and we use to talk when i arrive from doing touristy things very helpfull. The rooms are clean, there is one elevator but the building is 5 floors, don't be lazy. RECOMENDED!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrewnarvaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience hosteling in Europe and was very impressed with Alessandro's Palace. The staff was very friendly and passionate about their jobs. The rooms were clean and well spaced. Be prepared for some partiers (and join them!) as there is a bar downstairs. My only complaint was the location. Although close to Termini buses and trains, I would prefer a more central location. Skip the 4,50 breakfast and go across the street for a nice pastry and espresso in the morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Lodi
#254 of 1,257 in Rome
517 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,093 in Rome
786 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#44 of 1,093 in Rome
972 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#60 of 1,093 in Rome
262 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,093 in Rome
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Palace Hostel

Property: Alessandro Palace Hostel
Address: Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,093 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alessandro Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Alessandro Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing