We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hostel for Solo Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Ranked #27 of 1,195 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my first experience hosteling in Europe and was very impressed with Alessandro's Palace. The staff was very friendly and passionate about their jobs. The rooms were clean and well spaced. Be prepared for some partiers (and join them!) as there is a bar downstairs. My only complaint was the location. Although close to Termini buses and trains, I would prefer a more central location. Skip the 4,50 breakfast and go across the street for a nice pastry and espresso in the morning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 774 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was traveling around Europe for 3 weeks with my friends and this was the most comfortable place. The hostel was clean and there was A/C which was a God send. It was closely located to the Termini station and overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hostel is well situated, 5 min walking from the Termini station but you can easily find a huge offer in the same area because it's full of hostels and hotels with similar characteristics. The staff is rude and even though we have booked the room with time enough we had to change the room three of the four days that we stayed in Rome.
At the time we were paying, they made a mistake in relation to the total amount to pay (considerable error that anybody could make) but they repeated the same type of mistake (mistake on their favor) when they had to give me the change once I paid. Besides, when we were leaving the hostel, we noticed that we weren't the only ones who had to change the room during the stay (the staff didn't have a control about which beds were empty because you could even see that they left the sheets on the bed even when the guests had gone).

There is only a bathroom per room and in most of the bedrooms the toilet and shower are together, having to make turns but at least they have them cleaned.

Finally, which I didn't like at all was that the last day I noticed that one of my bags which had some of my BELONGINGS WASN'T IN THE ROOM ANYMORE. I thought that somebody could have taken by mistake when some guests left the room the day before but the same night that we needed some toilet paper and we opened "the staff wardrobe" to take it and WE NOTICED THAT MY BAG WAS THERE!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!! THE STAFF HAD TAKEN MY BELONGINGS!! That is why I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lourdes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean. Air con! No fridge to put any food which is annoying. Roof top terrace is cool! Not a great lively atmosphere. We always went to Yellow down the street. The staff during the day were friendly but at night..! The guy was creepy and not nice at all! He had a punch up with a guy that was walking my friend home one night... Because she didn't like him! Hostel is ok.. But wouldn't highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATEMUZZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Four of us were traveling together and were able to book a four-person hostel room, so staying at Alessandro was basically like staying at a hotel room with bunk beds. The staff is friendly and helpful (one of the staff members called a tour company to help us book a tour). The rooms are small but clean, the showers are good, and you can get everything you would expect from an inexpensive hotel/hostel. The location is very close to the train station, which is nice for getting around Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katecpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hostel was truly one of the worst that we stayed in during our one month trip around Europe. I understand that being in a very populated and popular city means quality is going to go down and prices up but this hostel is so far below the standard set by others (especially those in Germany) that it deserves a good scolding nonetheless.
I'll fire off the negative points:
1) the staff were inattentive
2) the city tax was quite high compared to other cities (not their fault, but still)
3) the room was dirty with insects in the shower
4) the room was very cramped with eight beds in a space fit for 5-6
5) the lockers were deliberately chosen so that convential padlocks don't fit ('fortunately' the just so happen to sell the padlocks that do fit)
6) there is only one lift so that, most of the time, the steps are the only option
7) the beds seem to have been designed for children because even with my incredible stature of 5'6" I found the beds too short.

In the hostels defence they do have air conditioning, unfortunately, it creates a smell that hangs in the air (which is number 8 on my list)

In summary, if all the other hostels are booked in Rome, wait a few days and try them again. Do not come to the ironically named, Alessandro's Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hostel was not good value and not up to scratch with other European hostels, particularly for a "Famous Hostel". 30 Euros for a bed in a 6 bed dorm (ensuite) was overpriced for the quality of service and facilities.

Cons: half the locks on the lockers in the room were broken and unlockable; bathroom got cleaned once in 4 days (another girl saw the “cleaner” sweep the centre of the room’s floor then leave); no kitchen or fridge for guest use – if you want to refrigerate food you have to give it to the staff to put in the bar fridges, and they always seemed annoyed when they were trying to find your food again (they didn’t listen to descriptions of the food required). Quilts not cleaned between guests; staff didn’t offer any orientation upon check in or seem particularly helpful or friendly (unless serving the girls in the bar at night) – EXCEPT for Ian (I think ) who was great.

Pros: lively bar; nice rooftop where you can bring your own food and alcohol, but it closes at like 11pm; good air con and comfortable beds in rooms; close to Termini station (bit of a gross area of Rome though); wifi coverage is okay but you have to log on again every time you use it.

Additional note re Terravision bus + lack of info given at hostel:
We asked hostel staff about the bus, they told us to buy the ticket at the hostel machine, and go to the bus stop to queue 20 minutes early to get a seat, which we did. There was no mention that you have to exchange the ‘ticket’ for a boarding card at the Terravision office, so we were denied access to the bus once we’d already loaded our luggage, and had to spend another 14 Euro each to catch the airport express train. This is partly to Terravision’s terrible instructions and customer service (very rude clerk, no info on ticket or signage at bus stop – we saw many others also get turned away at the bus) – but this also would have been avoided if the hostel staff member had advised us to exchange our ticket for a boarding card. If using Terravision bus – get there 30 mins early and go straight to the office ot get your boarding card.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#14 of 1,195 in Rome
1,142 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,195 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#50 of 1,195 in Rome
1,132 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#3 of 1,195 in Rome
464 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#131 of 1,195 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Palace Hostel

Address: Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,195 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $34 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alessandro Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alessandro Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing