We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first hostel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Ranked #31 of 1,120 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great first hostel experience!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As my first experience staying in a hostel, I must say that I would consider them for upcoming trips. Seriously. At Alessandros, the staff was REALLY nice, helpful and always available. From the baggage room to the main room, great! The location is perfect: just a few blocks away from termini . I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    278
    190
    40
    33
See reviews for
21
55
300
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my second time staying at Hostel Alessandro Palace. This time, I stayed because of it's close location to the train station. Most nights of the week there is free pizza, and the hostel bar is a great place to meet people. Rooms are clean and comfy. A little loud, but what can you expect? Perfect hostel. Will definitely stay here if I am in Rome

Room Tip: I chose the 4 bed female dorm, which was clean and comfortable. Higher rooms are probably quieter. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is a little bit expansive but it has many advantages : near central termini station, there is a great bar with good music, the staff is really nice and helpful, the breakfast was good (toast, cereal, juice, coffee, fruits, ham and cheese. cost 3 €). Some rooms are in another building 30 meters beside the main building (the one with the reception desk).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeky_freeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed Alessandro Palace for 3 nights recently. Collecting the key points together, I can say that:

+POSITIVE :

* It was just 5-7 minutes away from Termini on foot.
* They allowed us to play cards in a place downstairs in the late night.
* I had my one-page boarding pass printed; but I didn't get charged.


- NEGATIVE :

1)Breakfast(!) was absolutely TERRIBLE. There was almost nothing. They give you a plate and two slice of cheese and a kind of marmelaide. That's it. You will then take your bread and drink. What the [--] !!
2)Some of the reception staff ( not all ) was very reluctant. I had asked how many people were coming to pub crawl; but the response was " I'm not gonna tell you".
3)The internet expires every six hours; so you have to get another password and username at the lobby.
4)They said the pub crawl party offered one free drink in places we went ( I'm not mentioning about the bar at the hostel ), but it was not free.
5)There was no room cleaning. At least didn't do the beds.

The room was actually not bad. If you can handle these negative points, you can go for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeqununSeyahatnamesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Alessandro's Palace. I was wary after having a very terrible first experience with a hostel in Paris and so I was unsure of what to expect. When we got there the lobby was decorated really cool and the reception people were incredibly helpful and sweet. Luckily there were four of us traveling together so we got a room of four to stay in and it was really nice. The simple setup-bunk beds, some lockers in the middle to lock up your stuff, and a private bathroom which was a dream! They came in and cleaned the room each day and since the shower did not drain too well, we came back to find a few towels laid out on the ground for the water which was very thoughtful, especially since we didn't ask. Besides the leaky shower, the walls are pretty thin so you can hear people when they get back. However, the noise wasn't horrible and the location of this hostel is right by the main train and metro station so it is a very good location to be in. Also, being in a group of all girls, walking back to the hostel from the train station was not too bad. Overall, this was a great experience and compared to some friends who stayed in other hostels, I think ours is the winner of the best one in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmandsag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 8 in the 8 person dorm room. The hostel is fine, it's clean enough. Though every night that we came back from siteseeing, the bathroom (thankfully private) smelled like raw sewage. The room was a good size, but the bunk beds were tiny, and pillow and blanket were subpar.

It is about a 5-7 minute walk to Termini, depending which part of the station you are going to. It is NOT comfortable walking distance to any major sites in Rome, however if you catch the 40 express bus from Termini or the nearby metro it won't take you too long to get anywhere. There are no good restaurants in this area, you must travel by bus or train to get to the great dining spots.

The icing on the cake was when three people from our group got trapped in the elevator for over an hour on our final night, right as we were about to go to bed, as we had to get up at 5am for our flight the next morning. The hostel gave a half-hearted 'sorry' and did not offer any sort of discount for us, not even for those that got stuck in the elevator.

Overall, the hostel was fine, it won't make or break your stay in Rome. But don't get your hopes up from other reviewers saying this is the best hostel of all time, because it's not. A bit overpriced for what it was in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

best hostel ever been! cool bar, not that big just right to chilax! value for money, i stayed in 8 bed dorms, big & clean room. bathroom cleaned everyday.. breakfast was great. shoutout to all the staff's! thanks to TiM!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley0583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#360 of 1,261 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,120 in Rome
855 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#64 of 1,120 in Rome
264 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,168 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alessandro Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alessandro Palace Hostel

Property: Alessandro Palace Hostel
Address: Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,120 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alessandro Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alessandro Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing