We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the heart of the city”
Review of Pantheon Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pantheon Relais
Ranked #479 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The relais is a tiny hotel placed in the heart of Rome, 50 steps from the Pantheon on a street full of good restaurants. The place is always crowded, but the noise insulation is quite effective.
They have four rooms, and we stayed at the Poseidon, the smallest one, anyway fully fledged with an original design furniture, giant flat screen with satellite tv.
The staff is kind and despite they are not there all the time, the owners have a store downstairs where you can find support around the clock.
The breakfast must be ordered every evening selecting the preferred items from a list and it is served in the room since there is no breakfast area.
Among the few drawbacks I would list a set of small imperfections in the details especially in the bathroom.
The rate cannot be considered cheap, but surely in line with the competitors in the neighbourhood.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Poseidon room is the smallest, the biggest is a little more expensive and sports a round bed and a J...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skymax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Pantheon Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 202 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Pantheon Relais and all in all really enjoyed our stay here with just a few niggles.
Firstly the hotel arranged a transfer from the airport which was excellent and the driver took us right to the hotel with would have possibly been quite hard to find otherwise. This is due to as other reviewers pointing out, hotels in Rome are not always easily recognisable and look like an apartment from the outside.
The hotel entrance is stunning once inside and we were given a welcome drink of prosecco and some nibbles ( a really nice touch!).
The Romes looked the same as the website so were very happy with them although we did find out that in some ways they were sometimes a bit of style over substance(I'll get to that).

The bed was extremely comfortable which was great after walking miles each day taking in Rome.
The hotel provides free wifi which was pretty reliable, complimentary bathrobes, slippers and everything you may have forgotten like toothbrushes etc.
One of the things I loved was opening the double windows in the morning and watching Rome come alive.
The location is by far the best reason to book this hotel. We managed to walk everywhere from the hotel and the Pantheon is less than 1min walk away as well as loads of great restaurants, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Piazza Della Rotonda and many other amazing places!!
Starting and ending each day with a view of the Pantheon is one of the best ways I can think of to spend your time in Rome!
Also the hotel offers breakfast to your room every day, you just tick what you want the night before and the time you want it and the morning maid brings it to your room. Every day except the day we requested it for 8am she arrived on time, it just so happened this was the one day we really needed it on time as we had an early start. It would have been better if we'd been able to request breakfast earlier than 8am

A few of the niggles of the hotel were as I say sometimes style over substance.
The bathroom looked amazing but wasn't very functionable - The shower had various dials for several jets, however the shower was faced in such away that if you used the top shower jet then you litrally had to pin yourself against the shower screen for it to hit you (instead of the back wall it should have been on one of the side walls!) Also the heat of the shower was hit and miss and you only really seemed to get hot water if you used the hand shower attachment.
The sink was great looking also a massive deep square sink with a slate insert slighly raised in the base. When using the water though it splashed off the slate and soaked you and this was also there for the water to drain from the sides of the slate, but this also means you have no way of plugging the sink and filling the basin if you want.
The toilet when flushed then constantly then filled the toliet with water unless you tapped the flush button a few times to free it up as if it was sticking.

Outside of the bathroom the only other small niggles were - I gave up trying to look the wardrobe as the doors were not well fitting and it was a constant wrestle to lock it, the downside to this is if you can't close it properly it doesn't turn off the internal light.

The reception is only manned between around 9 and 6(mostly when you are out exploring Rome) so we hardly saw them, one morning we were trying to order a taxi as we had a really early tour and the only person around was the maid who doesn't speak a word of English....we gave up trying but luckily there is a taxi rank right next to the Pantheon that we discovered. Also no-one was there when we checked out and we knew we had the 2euro per day city tax to pay as well as a few mini bar items. Again with only the maid around we had to entrust her with our keys and also gave her the money for both. However we weren't convinced she knew why we were giving her the money and hoped she didn't think it was a generous tip!! We emailed the hotel on our return home to notify them of the money we left but never heard back from them!

All in all though these were only small niggles that stopped me from rating it 5 stars however I would recommend it and also consider it if we were returning to Rome.

I would probably book one of the rooms with a bath though as after a day walking the cobbled streets of Rome the shower didn't cut it. My only concern would be knowing how tempremental the water temp was, I wonder if you'd get enough hot water to fill it?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very nice hotel with lovely suites... but... it's imposible to sleep at night, because downstairs there's a restaurant that offer live music until 4 AM every day... I didn't sleep... and that little thing made my visit to Rome a little bit worse... I will never come back to that hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jirios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed almost everything about this hotel--it is easy to find, especially if you do a little google mapping ahead of time. Any taxi from the airport will take you to the Pantheon, and from there it is about 100 steps to the hotel! Fantastic!

It's important to know that many small Roman hotels are not on the street level, but one flight up. So instead of a big marquis, you'll find a buzzer with the hotel's name, and you will have to haul your luggage up one flight of stairs. Completely worth it for the warm welcome, fantastic service, and comfort.

We stayed for a full week, and really enjoyed the luxury of having (a rather nice) breakfast delivered to our room. Communal breakfasting is not for everyone, and we appreciated the privacy.

The location was the biggest draw, though. This is a great neighborhood from which to explore all that Rome has to offer. Many restaurants at a range of price points are just steps away, and you'll be within easy walking distance to many of Rome's most important sights.

Beginning and ending each day in front of the Pantheon--breathtaking.

Room Tip: Our room (Hermes) was on a courtyard, not the main street. Pros-quiet at night, we could sleep with...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in November 2012 for four days. It has just a few rooms. The room we had was very elegant, not large, but large enough. All very modern. Our second floor room overlooked the pedestrian street; it was always interesting to lean out the window to see the people, see all of the sidewalk cafes and watch the world go by. The location is wonderful, just a few steps from the Pantheon, with probably 50 restaurants within a 15 minute walk. There were 10 good restaurants within 200 feet of our door. The street noise (just people) was a little loud at night when going to sleep, but a little white noise was all we needed to sleep peacefully. The hotel arranged for a car to pick us up at the cruise port (which is a long way from Rome); it is not cheap, but sure made the trip into Rome easy since we had a few bags. It would be easy to take a train into Rome with only carry-on luggage. They serve a very good breakfast in your room at the hotel also, but we did not use this service too much. We were sorry to leave Rome and the hotel.

In fact we almost did not leave Rome. Beware of train and general strikes in Rome. We almost could not leave Rome on our day of departure because there were general protest marches which stopped all bus and taxi service in central Rome. People at the hotel did not realize how widespread the effect would be. So if there is hint of a strike, be sure to allow a lot of extra time to get out of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I had food poisoning during our honeymoon, thanks Paris. :(
They were really kind and accommodating. The place was beautiful. I hope to come back again!!
Chromatherapy is crazy cool. This is a place for grown ups, dreamers, romantics, art fanatics who want to go off the beaten path. A unique and one of a kind place- no elevators, not a holiday inn.
I was so sick, and they let us stay in the room longer- the bed was extremely comfortable. I Loved it and want one at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

It has been suggested in a previous review, that this hotel is misrepresented - This is BY NO MEANS the case.

After looking up the hotel website, we knew exactly what to expect. Silvia kindly offered us an arrival transfer (at the same rate as the standard taxi rate). Having had problems with pre-booked transfers on previous trips though, i just opted for a regular taxi from the airport. This was also problem-free: the driver dropped us on Piazza della Rotonda and it took us a minute to walk up to the door from there. (The entrance was easily recognizable from the pics on the website.
Also, having visited Rome before, i'm aware of the fact that many smaller hotels are located a floor or two up, resembling an apartment. - A hotel doesn't need golden archways and piccolos to ensure a great stay ;-)
We chose the Venus suite, since this was the largest room available (and two girls travelling together need some space! :) The room had a divine jacuzzi with relaxing colour-therapy lights (we really got that indulgent spa-feeling!) The decor was fun and modern and the room was well cleaned and serviced. The bed slept like a dream.
Even though the hotel is located in a pretty busy area, the window isolated well against sound from outside. Even so, it was great to open it early in the morning and hear the city come to life...
During hotel stays, i usually miss breakfast because of time constraints - therefore it was a complete luxury to have it served in the room. And what a delicious selection to choose from!

We had a lovely stay at Pantheon Relais and recommend it highly to anyone travelling to Roma. The hotel is central and within walking distance from all the major attractions - We even walked all the way to the St Peters and the Vatican museum and back.
We're already discussing another trip to the Eternal City, and a return to this cosy and excellent hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful yet discreet. Special thanks to Silvia and the kind lady who served our breakfast on sunday.
Thank you for a lovely stay! :))

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#118 of 1,267 in Rome
654 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#52 of 1,267 in Rome
992 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#112 of 1,267 in Rome
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pantheon Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantheon Relais

Address: Via Dei Pastini 119, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #479 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $176 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pantheon Relais 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pantheon Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing