We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great staff, outstanding breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bramante

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bramante
Ranked #557 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great staff, outstanding breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just returned from 7 days in Roma staying at the Hotel Bramante. So lovely! The wonderful staff was friendly and strived to please. The complementary breakfast was wonderful and helped start the day perfectly. So close to Vatican City and all the major tourist sites. Great old world charm. Shopping is a street away.
We had 3 in our room - #12. The room had a window looking over the street. My husband and son are 6'3" & 6'4". The beds are twin size but we were so exhausted at the end of the day that it did not matter. Compared to US rooms & bathrooms these are small but entirely functional. There is AC in all the rooms but be forewarned, when they clean the rooms they turn it off. Our weather was in the 90's so this was a little frustrating. Flat screen TV's are in each room. They only have a couple channels - including BBC World & CNN World - but we weren't there for TV anyway. No elevator. They have lovely courtyards where we would meet up between touring for wine and snacks. There is a nearby dry cleaner- this was important because it was so hot we could not repeat wear any of our clothes. They have free WiFi.
If I ever make it back to Roma I would stay here again.
Thank you Hotel Bramante for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jam44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    49
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
42
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel Bramante is located in the heart of Rome just a couple of blocks away from the Vatican. The location allows easy access to all of Rome's major attractions but the hotel is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. There are two outside patios which are fun to hang out on after a long day of sightseeing or just whenever you need to take a break.

The hotel is beautiful, secluded and clean and the staff is attentive and treats you like family. Each morning the hotel provides a lovely breakfast with the staff working hard to start your day off right.

We highly recommend this wonderful, family owned hotel for your short or long stay in Rome!

Room Tip: There are a couple of different sizes of rooms available depending on the number of family members y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The Bramante Hotel is conveniently located on the Vicolo delle Palline, a little alley
off St. Peter's Great Colonnade. Rooms are extremely comfortable and service is great, not to speak of the great breakfast. If you've come to visit the Vatican sites you will be in a perfect location, which is also convenient to many of the other Roman attractions. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the metro. It is also close to the Tiber and the Castel Sant'Angelo. I visited with students mid-May and I am returning for two days as I wrap up my travel in Italy. I know I will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amphiraion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Thank you so much, Lauradonna and Maurizio (my bad spelling, sorry) for a truly wonderful Rome experience. This little hotel is two blocks from St. Peter's Square, on a quiet street, close to everything you could want for a short stay in Rome. Our hosts did everything possible to make our stay fantastic, helping us with reservations, taxis, walking directions and eating suggestions. Maurizio walked us to his favorite pizza place the first night, when we were all too punchy to sort out directions after driving into Rome from Chianti. Our room was very comfortable, with a luxurious bath and plenty of room to relax. The breakfasts were outstanding. Lauradonna makes the pies and cakes and they are sooo worth the extra Rome walking you will do to work them off. They have American coffee and wonderful cappuccino, so many tastes are accommodated. They also recognize our need for fruit in the morning, so breakfast for our nine person group was very happy here. The hotel has lovely nooks and crannies for relaxing, reading and even group sharing of crackers/cheese and prosecco, as we did. We would stay here again in less than a heartbeat. I only hope we have the opportunity. Consider yourself very fortunate if you land here!

Room Tip: Tell them, when you book, if you want to watch life go by on the street or want to sleep in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited this hotel with friends who had stayed here previously and enjoyed it very much.
It's a small family run hotel on a side street outside Vatican City walls so location is brilliant for access to Vatican.
Simple facade disguises a really good hotel where the staff are so friendly and helpful, spacious bedrooms with all the usual facilities and a really good breakfast buffet.
We booked direct and they organised shuttle transfer to & from airport for us and even gave us a can of their own olive oil as gift on departure.
We would make this our first choice if we visit the city again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Location is great - quiet spot between the Vatican and the Castel Sant'Angelo, and easy walking distance to the rest of the sights.
We had a quiet room away from the street that looked out onto a lovely patio. The room was a good size and bathroom was small but adequate.
The breakfast was wonderful and it is served in a room that opens out onto a patio.
We loved the lady who serves the breakfast - just the best !
The hotel is rather expensive and one can probably find the same quality for a bit less. Also the beds were very, very firm which affected sleep quality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

After Just returning from 3 weeks in Italy I must say that this was my favorite Hotel! Charming, personable staff, comfortable, spotlessly clean, nicely appointed rooms, and a very short walk to St Peters and Vatican City. The patio and garden outside Room 12 was delightful, and the breakfasts were wonderful! The Hotels staff were so helpful with directions (Thank you Antonio) taxis, restaurant suggestions, we felt very pampered while we were there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tac1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#166 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#309 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#588 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#115 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bramante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bramante

Property: Hotel Bramante
Address: Vicolo delle Palline 24, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bramante 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pick of the hotels in the Vatican area, the Bramante is a model of effortless elegance. Tucked away in a side street behind St Peter's, it occupies the 16th-century building that was home to Swiss architect Domenico Fontana before Pope Sixtus V banished him from Rome. Five centuries later and the original wood-beamed ceilings top rooms furnished with stylish restaint and best mod cons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramante Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing