We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Hotel Bramante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bramante
Ranked #582 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you would like to stay close to the Vatican/St Peters Basilica - this is the perfect hotel.
The rooms are a little small (but then you don't spend time in your room) and the shower is very small (this could be made bigger).
The staff were friendly, breakfast had a good selection - cereals, fresh fruit, cheeses etc and good coffee.
A good base for exploring Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    51
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
43
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

by the reviews on tripadvisor.
Postive points : excellent location, spacious room, comfortable bed, great toiletries, decent breakfast, free wifi.
Some less positive points : the room was very dark and lighting wasn't adequate to read comfortably ; there was no bath, just a shower ; the street can be quite noisy (bring earplugs) ; we were given wrong information at reception (about Vatican museum opening days, therefore we missed that visit !) and no information was volunteered when a kind of marathon disrupted all public transportation.

All in all, a good experience, but not great, and not a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h��l��ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is family run hotel. It is classy, very Roman and without meretricious fripperies.I have stayed there on more than one occasion and cannot fault the service and the general friendliness of staff. It is close to St. Peter's and a restaurant called 'Da Roberto'. Nothing else is needed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,440 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed in a standard room at the Bramante while I explored the Vatican and surrounding area for four days. The details:

Pros: Great location. Just about ten minutes from a metro stop (Ottaviano) and a couple blocks from the Vatican and St. Peters. My room was clean, functional, and I had no problems with housekeeping. Tasty breakfast buffet… this was an absolute delight especially since it’s included in the rate. Excellent friendly atmosphere; with only 16 rooms the staff can afford to treat you like a family member. The front desk basically functions as a concierge service and helped me effortlessly with numerous requests during my stay. Free internet by the desk on a laptop and lots of extra reading material in the lounge. At 130 Euro for my room the price is definitely right.

Cons: Not many. Noise was occasionally a problem even with my windows closed. The surrounding neighborhood is slightly dingy although like I said the hotel remained spotless throughout my stay. After this any criticisms are admittedly nitpicky: no wash cloth in my bathroom, no elevator, etc.

Nikita: And they have a cat! She has obviously been trained in hospitality by the staff as Nikita spent several hours cuddling up to me while I was in the lounge or on the computer. A nice touch and added to the ambience.

Summary: An overall positive stay. This is a great base for visiting the Vatican and Castel Sant’Angelo area. Value for money in this somewhat pricey city is good and the staff is very welcoming. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

On a side street
The hotel wall abuts the wall of the Vatican
Not very quiet but no place in Rome is quiet
Breakfast is excellent and considering the price of food in Rome worth €30+ so deduct that when you look at the price of the hotel
Free WI FI
Bed was hard
Ask for room 16 or 18

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel Bramante is a small lovely old world boutique hotel on a quiet narrow ancient cobblestoned street in a safe friendly neighborhood around the corner from the Vatican. The staff is friendly, always available, kind and helpful. Nikita, the friendly black cat, is usually stretched out on one of the oriental rugs near the entry way. The breakfast buffet provided ample and delicious choices and the lady who served us always did so with a smile. The rooms were clean and had nice firm king sized beds. If I return to Rome, this is where I want to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda100040477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed for 3 nights at this hotel 6/28-7/1. Conveniently located by the Vatican and other major sites, this hotel was a pleasant and comfortable experience. The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful. They arranged for a shuttle to the airport which was extremely convenient. The breakfasts were delicious and the woman who tended to us (I wish I knew her name) could not have been nicer! The hotel was very clean and appearance was welcoming. If we are ever lucky enough to return to Rome, we would definitely choose Hotel Bramante again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carriem3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#135 of 1,261 in Rome
296 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#359 of 1,261 in Rome
397 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#51 of 1,261 in Rome
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#618 of 1,261 in Rome
802 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#508 of 1,261 in Rome
528 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#127 of 1,261 in Rome
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bramante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bramante

Property: Hotel Bramante
Address: Vicolo delle Palline 24, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Rome
#106 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bramante 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pick of the hotels in the Vatican area, the Bramante is a model of effortless elegance. Tucked away in a side street behind St Peter's, it occupies the 16th-century building that was home to Swiss architect Domenico Fontana before Pope Sixtus V banished him from Rome. Five centuries later and the original wood-beamed ceilings top rooms furnished with stylish restaint and best mod cons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bramante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramante Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing