We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE this place and the red cappello!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Gelato Centro Storico - CLOSED

Il Gelato Centro Storico
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
Description: Il Gelato Centro Storico is the first shop of the famous Claudio Torcè's Gelato in the center of the city. Claudio Torcè is an artist of artisanal gelato, famous since 2003 for his over 100 classic and very special flavour creations: more than 20 types of chocolate flavours,including the pure Manjari 100%, several Zabaione creames with the Zabaione al Gewurztraminer among them, Pistacchi di Bronte and amazing armeline, macadamia nut,cashew flavours. And the real surprise will be our gorgonzola, peperoni, zenzero and celary flavours!!!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“LOVE this place and the red cappello!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've had the incredible fortune to be inRome twice in the past year and have visited Il Gelato Centro Storico almost daily both trips. Incredible seasonal flavors, granitas in the Summer, and practically an entire ROOM dedicated to numerous different chocolate gelatos. Bonus is the sweet and friendly guy who scoops while wearing the MOST adorable red elf cap - I never got his name in all the times we visited but he is so cheerful and patient as you ask for taste after taste until (finally) you decide what to order. On our last visit, my elf-capped scooper (sans cap) kindly obliged our request for a photo with him. Ciao Il Gelato!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VousAllez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    6
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had two scoops of the lemon-almond gelato that I have been thinking about nearly every day since I've been back in California...

Although the place is a little secluded, it isn't too difficult to find, because there is a sign on the main streets that points you in the right direction. The Spanish Steps are about five minutes away. They had some more unique flavors, but I didn't try them, although I was intrigued. The men who worked there were very nice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghanG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“UNIQUE FLAVORS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is sort of hidden down a small side street near the Spanish Steps. Go there! Great gelato. It has all the traditional flavors you love plus very unique ones that are worth having a free taste.

I ended up really loving the brie and berries. It was a combination of sweet and savory at the same time. May not sound delicious but it was. They really have everything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSB219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious! TONS of flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wonderful staff, tons of flavors, and great tasting! :) Can't ask for more! For any chocolate lovers out there, they had several chocolate options and different blends, amazing!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Many special chocolate flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great original flavours, good quality for normal prices, friendly staff. Could have more chairs to sit on.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gelato Centro Storico also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing