We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality restaurant surprisingly unknown”
Review of Gusto Pinto

Gusto Pinto
Ranked #1,370 of 12,525 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $92
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Description: Hostaria Casa Roma meets elegance and genuineness. Managed by a family of restaurateurs with long experience in Roman territory. Rigorously selected excellence products.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A good quality restaurant surprisingly unknown”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went with a coupon bought over the Internet and the restaurant complied with it almost entirely: instead of 2 glasses of wine we were actually given half a bottle opened right in front of us and of good quality. We were supposed to get limoncello and coffee but were asked which one we wanted (as opposed to getting both). At any rate, the waiter was extremely friendly and chatty. The quality of the appetizers good though not generous but this is probably due to the fact that I waswe were using a coupon... The second major surprise (after the bottle of wine) was the quality of the pasta dishes: a great "amatriciana" with a lot of sauce and quasi home-made tagliolini. We went on a Saturday evening and were surprised to see how few customers there were though the place deserves to be put on the map of good quality restaurants around the via Veneto area. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aldopata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    70
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good menu, warm friendly place and staff”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I popped in after finding it locally on the trip advisor app map and had a lovely meal. The portions were large, food tasty with Italian charms and the bill reasonable. I've seen other comments about being charged for bread. It was a bit cheeky not to be told, but is only ?2 for a good size basket. Alfonso recommend a choice of wines to go with our meal which was a nice touch. All in all a lovely evening. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Friendy service, OK food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had an early booking on a mid-week evening; perhaps as a consequence of that the restaurant was almost empty and therefore somewhat lacking atmosphere. However, we received a warm welcome and the service was excellent throughout. The waiter spoke reasonable English and helped us choose a wine, not on the list, to compliment our diverse choices of food. The food itself was OK - maybe not 100% to our taste, for example the pasta dish I had was very heavily salted. Portion sizes are generous - I'd recommend the Tiramisu dessert, but one shared between two is plenty! For a capital-city restaurant, prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Old_StagerStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely place great food and super friendly staff!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

On our third day in Rome, we had a late dinner at Gusto Pinto. We loved the food and the service was incredible for a very good price. Alfonso the waiter was very friendly and with great patience answered our questions on where to go and what to do in beautiful Rome. Definitely try it. We would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Royal Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eat with Gusto!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely restaurant recommended by our hotel Marcella Royal just a few yards down the road. Wonderful welcoming staff and great menu. Situated below street level in comfortable surroundings. A little off the beaten track so on a Monday no need to book. Perhaps week - ends may be different. If you like Calamari try the Puntillas, tiny squid lightly floured and deep fried- fabulous!

Given free glass of Lemoncello afetr the meal_ a nice touch. Do try it you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Pinto also viewed

 

Been to Gusto Pinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing