We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was indeed magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Magic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Magic
Ranked #755 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was indeed magic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I choosed this hotel because it was located near Termini. I could actually see it when I got of the bus from the airport. It was very neat with polished marble floors and clean rooms. The view from the room was cozy and overall it was a friendly and nice hotel with good prices.
The only reasons that it's not getting full points are the following:
- I asked for a room where smoking was allowed. I didn't get it.
- They speaked very poor english. I was glad I had an italian friend who could help me out.
- No food at all. You did get breakfast tickets to a nearby place though.

Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank YvonneDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    32
    8
    13
See reviews for
39
36
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel, Hotel Magic, is awesome. Carmella and her two daughters run this hotel and there is nothing they wont do for you. Sure, Carmella doesnt speak much english, nor do I speak much Italian, but the 8 nights there were nothing but great. The location if perfect for the main rail station and metro's. The rooms are clean and comfy (beds are european hard, but if you need a softer pillow, just ask). Yes, the elevator is small, but heck, at least there is one and my friend June and I laughed about it. Upon arrival you may have to go up one person and one suitcase at a time, but it is quick. Only a couple times did the people going to the 4th floor forget to close the red doors, so the elevator works...there is a huge sign in english and italian on the door, dumb people. But even if you have to walk up to the 3rd floor it is do-able. They give you 3 keys...one to the outside door on the street, one to the inside door before reception and one to your room. Heck, if you dont feel safe with this arrangement you are crazy. There are fabulous little places to eat all around and we made friends and were remembered each time we walked by them. The breakfast at Cafe Amici, is good and they are super nice there also (always remembered our daily drink and croissant). The price was remarkable for Rome, $75 a night for two beds with private clean bath, with bidet, toilet, shower and heated towel racks. What else could you ask for??? Not much!!!! I recomment this hotel highly and would use it again and again and again...Thanks Mama Carmella!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for two nights in 2006. Since I was already in Rome I checked in first (and by checking in I mean the old lady owner taking my passport and returning it only after I asked for it). She said it was OK if my boy checked in the next day, since he was arriving in Rome late that night (and obviously they didn't have 24h reception). That was the reason for the younger owner, the daughter I guess, to shout at us and to tell us off in a very rude and aggressive manner the next morning. It didn't matter that we had already agreed on that with her mother. On top of that the day we left we asked if we could leave our luggage there for a few hours (the page we booked the hotel through stated they DO HAVE a left luggage office). And what a surprise, they didn't let us!
Despite all that, the room was nice and clean. But it's not enough to make you get over the first bad impression. They should learn to treat their clients better first and also try to be more professional in running the so called hotel. Not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvetAngelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Found this hotel on the internet and booked in for 3 nights. Located just a short walk from the Main train station. This is not your "normal" hotel as the owner/receptionist was only there partime we think. We were given a room on the top floor with a small juliet balcony. The room was cosy but very clean and looked like it was just refurbished. Close to everything as Rome is quite a small city which could be discovered on foot. It served our purpose since we were out early in the morning and came back late at night. If you want a an above average clean room but will be out most of the day this would be it. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — value
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kennsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

Stayed here with my sister in April 2005, arrived the night before the Pope died so maybe it explains a little why the service was strange! The hotel's not in the nicest area but it is very convenient for the train snd bus station. we were confused at first by the apartment block setup - the owners live across the corridor from the hotel.

we were concerned as the owner lady took our passports from us, saying she had to fill in a form - then didn't bring them back! we had to get them back from another one of the family later - no harm done but it didn't seem the most organised operation.

the breakfasts were equally disorganised - we were given a voucher for a cafe around the corner, but it was only valid for one out of the 3 nights we were staying, so we didn't get breakfast after the first day.

The room itself we found to be fine, not the lap of luxury but then that's not what we expected. the only other thing we had a problem with was when we came back a bit late (around 11:30pm) and the outer door to the hotel part was locked. when we were given our keys we were told we'd have to unlock the inner glass door, which we had a key for, but someone had shut the huge wooden one - meaning we had to get the older owner lady out of bed to come and let us in. we weren't informed of any curfew if there was one.

all in all - it wasn't a disaster but i wouldn't go there again.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — disorganisation of the staff
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

The WORST hotel we ever stayed! The owners are extremely rude and loud, they are not courteous at all. Our first impression of the area was very negative once we saw many people coming out from Termini station. The surrounding was dirty. We can smell fish fry from the hotel...constantly. Bathroom is extremely smelly like sewer smell.
We tried to get out early, and owners started yelling. It was horrible, disrespectful, and plain rude.

  • Liked — NONE
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING WAS HORRIBLE
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't get mislead by the website. Pay a little more and stay at better neighborhood and better service.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mcngdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

We (4 travellers) booked Hotel Magic because we checked its website and it looks so beautiful. It is totally misleading. We got there, and yes it is around the Termini station. Very little did we know that the area near station is not very safe. According to some local shop owners, any areas in Rome is pretty safe from any violence crime...but beware of pickpockets. Termini area has so many people coming from all over the place, and so packed, so again, beware of pickpockets! Local shop owners said, get out of there, don't walk at night...bla bla bla. So, we were so bothered by this and we decided to move to another hotel the next day. The next morning, the lady who owns the hotel was so mad at us that she refused to charge only the night we stayed...she wanted to charge us for 3 nights! We were arguing with her and she was extremely rude. She yelled at us, threw our reservation paper right in front of our face while raising her voice and her hands. It was the most terrible and rude thing we ever experienced. So, we ended up paying for 2 nights, although we only stayed for 1 night.
Another thing, although the room is nice, the bathroom is outside the room, and it smelled so bad. The shower has rust all over it, the bathroom floor was very slimy.
We ended up moving to an old hotel, in a nicer neighborhood around Park Borghese.
That morning full of arguing and yelling from the hotel owner put us in a very bad mood all day. Don't stay there.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — everything is terrible
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay there
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tigerchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Fenicia
Fenicia
#675 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#563 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#733 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#653 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,138 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#449 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic

Property: Hotel Magic
Address: Via Milazzo 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #755 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Magic 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing