We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
210
301
119
41
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
210
301
119
41
24
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 695 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Although the hostel was clean and cheerful, the security measures were disappointing at best. We checked into our four bed dorm and were told that there was only one key, so the last person to leave each day would have to leave the key at the front desk, the first person to return in the evening would pick the key up and unlock the room for everyone. When we returned to unlock the room there was no I.D. taken or even name given, we needed only to say our room number and we had full access to both the room’s contents and occupants. We were also required to leave the door unlocked at night so the other people staying in the room could enter-forcing us, two young women, to go to sleep in a building with little to no security measures with our door unlocked.
This problem could very easily be solved by the hotel having four keys for a four occupant room as opposed to one key for a four occupant room.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Mikayla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

The location of this hostel is relatively close to Castel St'Angelo and the Vatican, yet, its street isn't laden with cars and people, so there's not much street noice to bother you.

The rooms are clean and fresh, our room was sadly quite dark, as we only had a small window on the ground floor. We also had the unfortunate luck to be next to the staircase, it being marble meant that you heard everyone who entered and walked up stairs. So if you can, ask for a room that isn't 01.

The breakfast served here was worthy of the 8,5€ price tag in my opinion, they had a good variety and good quality, the breakfast room is quite small however, so there's a risk you'll have to wait for some time.

It was a very pictoresque and nice hostel and for shorter stays I think it'd do well. The reason I don't recommend extended stays is because the beds are rather uncomfortable and already after 4 days, we started feeling backpain from the springs pressing into our backs.

Room tip: Rooms higher up are quieter. Avoid 01 if you can.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uircalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

I had a room with a shower but no toilet as the bathroom was shared, everything was clean and well maintained, there was also a heater for the cold. Close to the metro. Would stay here again. Compared to other hotels in Europe for this price, it is very good.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We had to book this last minute as we were delayed 7 hours and our hotel did not have a 24hr checkin but this place did.
The room was tiny and the bed was rock hard. We arrived at 4am and had checked out before 10am. the breakfast was minimal and the coffee pot you helped yourself to was luke warm.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Aside from them not having an elevator (my mom and sister got a walking exercising every morning and night lol), everything was just lovely and on point. I first found them on hostelworld, but it turns put that they operate some of their rooms as a hotel too. Prices are the same as on their actual website but I got a great deal by contacting them directly. they were able to offer me a 10% discount if i paid cash up front, in a deal that included the breakfast buffet. for a 3-bed with en-suite with breakfast buffet for 4 nights i ended up paying only 251 Euros! of course, this doesnt include the 3 euro per person per night tax but STILL! also, it was january - the low season - so im not sure if that played a role in my awesome deal. i was even surprised to see that the travel book i bought had also recommended Colors Hotel. So what Im saying is that they are legit.

6 block walk to the Ottaviana metro, about 5 blocks from the Vatican, same distance to Castel Sant’Angelo and within a block to so many awesome restaurants - this hotel is the epitome of “location, location, location”. There is an open market nearby and a shopping street a couple of blocks away too.

breakfast buffet consisted of different breads, meats, cheeses, jams, coffee, espresso, juices, teas - more than enough to get you ready for the day. breakfast buffet starts at 7:30 and ends around 10a.

rooms are quaint - has lovely decorations, a fridge, safe, tv. they clean the room everyday. they stock the fridge with fresh bottled water everyday too. and get this, a free bottle of wine!

front desk is 24 hours with limited booking capabilities (e.g. airport transfer).

Easy to find - it’s next to a bright blue sign. you ring the doorbell and they buzz you in.

Best value, for sure. and lol, it truly is colorful!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank disereed2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews