We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, and "colorful"place :)”
Review of Colors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colors Hotel
Ranked #254 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I would definately reccomend it to everyone who searches for a place in a good location. The hostel is small, but very clean, and nice. The people were very kind, the food was good and the prices are more than normal. It is very close to the Vatican and close to the Metro station. I have very good memories from the time spent here and would like to come back one day...soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 618 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ALWAYS stay here when in Rome.... Stayed here many many times.... Perfect location. Friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Adequate breakfast.... And most importantly, great price!! Wouldn't stay anywhere else.... See you all again soon! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you very much on behalf of all the staff for having chosen Hotel Colors for your stay in Rome. We appreciate that you have spent a few minutes to express your opinion regarding the hotel. It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us each time. Your reviews are important imputs for us to keep up the good work and improve our service.
Hopefully you and/or your friend will continue to choose us for your roman vacations.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great place for people who want to crash for a few nights for little money. Comfy beds and pretty silent neighborhood. We got breakfast and free WiFi for slightly more than a dorm bed in a youth-hostel would have cost us. Great! Vatican City is within walking distance!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

In a super location, right next to the Vatican in the trendy Cola di Rienzo area, this B&B is more affordable than most hotels and comes with a cafeteria buffet-style breakfast, which we took advantage of given the numerous sights to explore in Rome. It was our first time trying a place where we shared bathrooms, but it wasn't a problem and the front desk was very helpful in planning our days. I would recommend to anyone wanting to see Rome and save a bit of money.

Room Tip: The room by the front desk can be noisy as visitors come at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs,

First of all we would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff for having chosen Hotel Colors for your stay in Rome. We also appreciate that you have spent a few minutes to express your opinion regarding the hotel. This helps us improve and keep up the good work.
Hopefully we will have another chance to accomodate you and /or your friends in the future and continue to help you explore the city of Rome which is not a normal city but a huge musem that you never finish visiting!

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a base in Rome! We booked two triple rooms - on the first and third floor and stayed there for a week. The hotel is close to two metro stops and multiple bus stops, very near to the Vatican and practically 5 minutes north of Castel Sant'Angelo. Location is the number one priority when in Rome and this one was excellent. One could easily reach the whole Vatican area, Piazza Navona, the Spanish steps and Via del Corso by foot. A lot of restaurants and shopping areas nearby as well.

Rooms were not as small as we expected and were absolutely spotless - something I hadn't experienced in my previous trip to Rome. Shampoo, soap and shower gel were supplied daily, towels and sheets were also changed on a regular basis, while three bottles of mineral water were complimentary every day as well. Breakfast was delicious and offered a lot of choices. A free Internet point was available all the time and the staff was very helpful with everything we asked from them - booking Galleria Borghese reservations, printing our flight vouchers and booking taxi at 4 a.m. when we were leaving.

The rooms were very well air-conditioned and what felt like a blessing was that they were absolutely sound proof to noises outside the hotel (although one could hear noises from the inside of the building occasionally).

All in one, we believe got very lucky with our choice of hotel and would definitely stay there again - great location, great service and great price. We hope prices don't change much in the future, as this hotel is really a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank parashkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice and cheerful with brightly painted walls, linens, art work and spacious bathrooms. The space can seem small for us North Americans, but this is Italy. :) Although many of the rooms do appear with pictures I was informed tht they are only a sample and not guaranteed when booking. There was an error in communication in booking which was politely handled by the young lady on nights at the time. She was honest with her not having the authority to handle the situation, but promised to discuss with the manger, which she had done by next morning. All was taken care of. The breakfast was the most abundant that I have come across thus far in the trip, with meats, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and beverages. You are all set for your day of walking the sites of Roma.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColorsHotel, Manager at Colors Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs,

First of all we would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff for having chosen Hotel Colors for your stay in Rome. We also appreciate that you have spent a few minutes to express your opinion regarding the hotel. This helps us improve an keep up the good work.
Also we would like to explain that the pictures of the rooms that are currently in the website are existing rooms, but since it's not possible to insert all our room pictures in the website for graphical and tecnical reasons sometimes it happens that once you arrive at the hotel another room could be assigned . This is also because all of our rooms are aesthetically different.
We remain at your service anytime you would like to return to Rome.

Best wishes,

Colors Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very close to Vatican City and the metro which took you to central sights. The area around the hotel was nice, wealthy and clean. The hotel building has no signs outside, the only indication is a small plaque on the wall which said the name of the hotel. The room was very nice, it had an ensuite, mini fridge, wardrobe and tv. Good size and clean. There was a communal lounge on our floor with a small outside terrace where you could sit which was nice. There was one free computer on our floor which gets turned off at 11pm although the man from reception allowed us to stay on longer as we were booking our accommodation for our next stop which we needed for the next night so that was very kind of him. Drinks are available to buy at reception at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,272 in Rome
442 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#231 of 1,272 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#284 of 1,272 in Rome
199 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,272 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hotel

Address: Via Boezio 31 | Rome, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $42 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colors Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful budget hotel in a perfect location in Rome, Hotel Colors offers the visitor a choice of quality double bedrooms as well as simpler dorm or backpacker rooms. This welcoming modern hotel and cheap hostel looks and feels young and bright and is imaginatively decorated with more hues than Michelangelo's palette! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing