We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy”
Review of Hotel San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Remo
Ranked #989 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel is in a good location round the corner from bus and train station 15 mins walk from collesium. But hotel is extremly noisy cant get a decent night sleep chef burnt pasteries 5am alarms going off all through the hotel then from 7am the hotel is alive from guest talking shouting walls are thin so you can here everything no time to have a shower after breakfast as constant banging will drive you mad and maids are in corridor and knocking ready to clean your room Good location but would not not stay again far to noisy when ask staff what is the banging the pretend they cant here it. Sounds like a building site.rooms are really small with your suitcase room is full

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 939 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location for sightseeing,clean comfortable,and helpful staff.quiet,and breakfast very good.Would recommend,and book again,great value for money.The hotel is situated 5 mins from termini,walking distance to most major attractions.5 mins to the colosseum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back,quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janette1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

You are going to Rome to stay in a hotel room? Than it's better to stay home :)
My wife and I spend four nights in this hotel and it was over our expectations. The breakfast it was the same every morning, but fresh, the furniture it's a a bit to old, but as I said in the beginning, you are going to Rome to stay in a hotel room and stare at the furniture or the uninevitable stains from the grout of the tiles in the bathroom. The sheets are very clean, and every day the cleaning lady, cleaned the room and changed the towels. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful.
I almost forgot to tell you about the location ... It has a perfect location :)
As a minus I have to tell you that you must open the window every time you enter the room for some fresh air to get in. And the wireless internet is ... well it's almost 0, but this is a problem in all Rome as I saw.
Over all, I recomand this hotel with no doubt for that tipe of tourist who is going to visit Rome. You will have a very relaxing place to sleep in the night, after a day of walking thru the streets of beautiful Rome.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Mihai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself really enjoyed our 5 day break at this hotel. Although in need of a face lift the hotel was smashing. Staff were amazing. I developed toothache and the young man on reception couldn't have been more help. He found me a dentist and sorted out a taxi to take me there. All staff were very friendly from cleaners to receptionists. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. The San Remo is very central with all major sights within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel location is great. It's less than 5 min walk to a lot of sight seeing places and the national museum. Its proximity to Termini station allows you to go to all the rest.
The room we stayed at was renovated and very clean. It was looking at an inner court and it was very quite in the evening.
The hotel staff behave professionally.
I definitely recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed in Hotel San Remo for 4 nights on our first ever trip to Roma and it was in the ideal location. Close to Termini so easy to get to with luggage and then very central for seeing all the sights, most of which were within walking distance and if not, train, buses, hop on hop off tour buses, trams (basically all forms of transport) were available from Termini. The Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful, continental breakfast was more than sufficient with lots of choice and staff on hand to constantly top everything up. The air- conditioning in our room wasn't up to much but that's the only thing I would be negative about if asked. Free wifi was very welcome as teenage daughter had to keep her friends up to date every night and we had no problems with it. Definitely value for money as it was a cheaper option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choco033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

In a quiet street but close to all the sights, the hotel is clean but looks a bit tired. Breakfasts are basic but adequate. Staff reasonably friendly but reserved. No complaints for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClash1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#957 of 1,271 in Rome
760 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#441 of 1,271 in Rome
756 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#934 of 1,271 in Rome
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#340 of 1,271 in Rome
229 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#678 of 1,271 in Rome
150 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#643 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Remo

Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #989 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $48 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Remo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a traditional 19th century facade; located in the city center & near the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Otel, Splitty, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Hotel Rome
Hotel San Remo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing