We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“san remo hotel rome”
Review of Hotel San Remo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Remo
Ranked #822 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“san remo hotel rome”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

just back from this hotel had a fantastic time hotel perfect for a city break good location reception staff so helpful dining room& breakfast were very good it a perfectly clean no problems in my room 508 resterant on corner was ideal marco the waiter is very good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    303
    275
    113
    83
See reviews for
175
381
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A few words about my night in Rome at hotel San Remo. Old hotel, not long renovated. The hotel lives just because near the railway station. Book at the reception did not work - my assistant made ​​it through the booking.com. Well, not my problem, but they paid for the booking for the guest from the street at their reception a commission. Funny. Old elevator, old rooms. Lived in Room 611. Two rooms in the room and 4 beds. TV did not show any channel. Water is ok, but the old bathroom equipment. There is no toilet paper near toilet bowl. At strret with entrance goes out the technical input of a large hotel - overnight something shipped, shouting, noise, and bacchanalia! Near many private restaurants, the location is great. But i will not repeat the experiment with hotel San Remo. Signboard is not lit. The photos on the booking.com does not reflect reality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Pudsey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

First trip to Roma , won't be the last ! San Remo was clean and tidy, very helpful staff who all speak excellent English.Room was excellent, on sixth floor,lift was quick and efficient if a little small,air-con worked a treat in 38 degrees C , towels were changed everyday and bedding was crisp and clean.We stayed in a triple room and our 17 year old had a annex room off the main bedroom very good as didn't have to lose it over clothes and makeup all over!!!!!!!! Good position, near Termini station and Hop on/ Hop off bus stop, good restaurant end of street "Il Tavolinetto" Tiramisu to die for!!!!! Tell Paulo I sent you and have a Limoncello for me!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is the second time iv`e stayed at this hotel.The first time was in january 2010 and the second time was in january 2012 and i must say, it`s still great now as it was back then..The rooms are clean,great breakfast,friendly staff. This hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the termini station,where you can find the hop on hop off buses which is a must when your visiting rome. İf i come back to rome and most probably will:) İ will defiently know where to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamer748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

When we booked this place we had high expectations. It was fine but not great. Our room faced a wall at the back so no view. The room was very dark but comfortable enough. The location was excellent ~ 2 steps from il tavolinetto~ a charming little restaurant at the corner of the street.
We paid a bit more for this place than others we have stayed in around this part of Rome. It wasn't worth it really. The hotel has no real atmosphere. However it is clean and looks lovely from the street.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this hotel for 1 night (thank God) because if we had to stay a 2nd night we would have checked out. Our room was very small, the door of the cabinet that held the fridge was broken and hanging from 1 hinge. the hair dryer was broken, the shower was small even for me "4.11 & 108lbs, my husband is 6'1 and had a hard time fitting in it. The water flow was next to nothing from the shower head. & to top it all we were unable to have breakfast, because it started at 7:15am & our tour was leaving at 6:45am. They did give us a picnic basket, which consisted of 1 melba toast, 1 small cake, jam & a bottle of water. This is not even a 1 star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not go !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloxwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself is pretty well situated for all the major attractions, Rome isn't a big city but it is a sensational place to visit, be prepared to walk and I wouldn't advise driving around the city, it's bedlam. The hotel is about 15mins from the colosseum on foot, the same for the trevi fountain, 30 minutes to the Spanish Steps, the Vatican is an hour or so walk but is around 13euros by taxi. Some nights we could hardly put one foot in front of the other as we were so tired but the city is so fantastic and the people friendly we had smiles on our faces all the time. eating out is pretty inexpensive, cheaper than Spain certainly and the food quality is much superior. The hotel itself is tucked in a back street in an incomprehensible one way system, if I had hired a car I would never have found it, we booked private transfers through Citalia and I am so glad. Reception are friendly, ask for a map and they will give you a superb map of Rome showing all the sites, every tourist seemed to use these...you do have to ask for it though as it wasn't offered to us.

If you arrive early or depart late there is a room where you can lock your luggage and this was safe, there were also safety deposit boxes in this room but we didn't bother. The rooms themselves have been modernised a little, laminate floors etc and are clean if a little fusty, it was cleaned each day and towels changed. it was comfort able for the limited time we were in it, the tv has very limited choice and the air conditioning was always on but struggled to make a difference. The shower in the bathroom is really small, a larger person will really struggle as it is so tiny.

Breakfast was really not great, nasty Coffee machine, Fruit juice machine wasn't juice is was a watery sunny D type squash. there were yoghurts, cheap meats, processed cheese and packet croissants and small rolls and that was pretty much it. We ate out as it was just nicer. If you eat at a taverna or ristorante outside you will pay more and if you eat by the major attractions it will increase in price again. Go into the side streets and the food is much cheaper, many have lunch offers, 2 pizzas or 2 pastas and a bottle of wine for 20 euros, or a snack menu one large pizza cut in half, large beer, 2 glasses 10 euros.

For my wife's 40th we had a 3 course meal, fillet steak, bottle of wine, coffees, water, spirits etc by the colleseum and this cost 80 euros. Rome is beautiful, but it is hard work walking everywhere and be prepared to take your life into your hands crossing the road, zebra and pedestrian crossings mean nothing you can be half way across and the lights on red and cars will drive around you, be very very careful with young children.

I was very conscious of pickpockets but saw nothing to worry me, and I split my money to keep it safe, one family we met had been pickpocketed on a crowded bus, so do always be careful. Police are stationed at all the major attractions to discourage any crime which is quite reassuring. August is incredibly hot, we have never drunk as much water you will get through bottles and bottles as you walk but you sweat it out. Public toilets are a rarity, some bars have toilets, some don't....so be prepared for this.

If you're not fit then budget for taxis, but I guarantee you will enjoy Rome, three days was just not enough and we will be back but perhaps to be slightly better hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsyBloxwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#784 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#953 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#598 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#451 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#753 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#577 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Remo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Remo

Property: Hotel San Remo
Address: Via Massimo d'Azeglio 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #822 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Remo 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a traditional 19th century facade; located in the city center & near the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Remo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Hotel Rome
Hotel San Remo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing