We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay”
Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I'd stayed in this 3 star hotel during our recent vacation with my family of 1 16month old baby & my wife. The hotel is located just 10mins away from the main Roma terminal from were you can catch inter city trains. You can also catch subways which is again a 5- 10mins wall should you want to explore rome The hotel initial look doesnt give you a good vibe but as you go inside the hotel you get the roman feeling, With the interior of the hotels giving a quite medieval look the room is not too small or large & i must admit is very cozy. Franco in the recpetion is very freindly, you could ask him 10 question & he will answer you with the same calm & composed nature of his. A few things that the hotel could improve on is 1st the breakfast, we have had breakfasts in other countries & hotels too but this hotels breakfast is below poor rating, 2nd the hotel has too much stairs around the reception, becomes quite difficult to handle the luggage & most importantly baby prams like i had one, they could probable do something for that.

Overall if you are a person who dont mind walking, do make fuss about room size & not too fussy about small things this hotel is a very very very good option for its location & getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashaanullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    555
    132
    33
    22
See reviews for
253
443
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The fridge in our room was not working and was not serviced despite us informing the front desk. Our aircon did not work properly for 2 nights. However, Franco, the front desk clerk, is helpful & always present us with a fast response whenever we have a situation. And the housekeeping is excellent! We love the fact that there is hot water for shower, nice toilet & a nice breakfast so overall, it is a nice experience staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magtherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a small but nicely decorated quadruple room. Staff were very helpful.
Only minor quibble was that unless you explicitly order espresso or cappuccino at breakfast you get horrid instant coffee. I need to figure out how to order a decent long black coffee - "Americano" and "Lungo" both resulted in instant!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoSmallBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent hotel, providing very good basic services. We did not book the Monte Carlo to spend all of our time there, and yet it provided all the basic needs for a comfortable stay - clean rooms, helpful staff, internet terminal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to Rome for the Six Nations Rugby match between Italy and England. Having stayed at this hotel before we decided to book again as it was not too far by cab from the stadium. The staff are incredibly charming and helpful and especially so this trip as I had my purse stolen on the bus and Franco wrote out a report for me in Italian to take to the police station. The rooms are large and very comfortable and breakfast is good with an adequate choice of cereals, pastries, ham, cheese etc. We will certainly stay there again and recommend it highly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked this hotel because I thought it be closer to some of the attractions and shopping. It was a good 20-30 minute walk, which is fine, but if you have difficulty walking, you will have to taxi it. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is an elevator if you need to use it. The room was quite small, as there were 4 adults sharing. The single beds were comfortable, there was a mini fridge and safe in the room. Bathroom fan did not work when we were there and we let the front desk know. Breakfast was more than a typical Rome meal. As stated by another reviewer, it was quite safe as you are close by government buildings/military police. The big issue that we had, was the bad wifi. You were only allowed one log on code per room .This code could only be used by one person and on one device. The other 3 people could not use it. This was very frustrating, as we needed to contact families in Canada to let them know we arrived safely, etc. Connecting to the wifi was difficult as well. Now, I'm not sure why this was such an issue. The front desk could not tell us why either. We also found out the next day that the hotel was on the same street, but around the corner as a xxx rated movie place! We walked during the day and evenings, and found no issues with that. Just wanted to put it out there, in case it bothers future travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smorgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked this hotel since many comments mentioned it was close to the Roma Termini. In fact, it is not far from the train station but not that close especially for someone like me who carried a big suitcase. The hotel is neighboring with embassies which makes the area pretty safe since there are many armed policemen patrolling around. My room is big especially the bath room is even bigger than the bedroom with a Jacuzzi inside. However, it seems to be broken.:) We checked out at 7am and breakfast did not start yet so no comments on it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youhanguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#131 of 1,256 in Rome
825 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#218 of 1,256 in Rome
825 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#258 of 1,256 in Rome
585 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#262 of 1,256 in Rome
914 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,256 in Rome
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Property: Montecarlo Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#218 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecarlo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing