We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #198 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Franco greeted us when we entered and immediately went to assist us with our luggage.
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. They were very attentive at breakfast and at checkout. Our room was clean and the service people made sure it stayed that way. We were extremely happy with our choice of hotels. You will be as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    546
    127
    32
    21
See reviews for
247
436
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is a pleasant stay - clean and ordered. The local barrio is great with some excellent food and the cheapest and best we ate during our 2 weeks in Italy. The tariff goes up significantly on weekends so try to avoid Fri through Sunday. The front desk staff were very good in general though not all consistently friendly. Compared with other Rome hotels however they were much better. As all hotels in Rome, it's overpriced for what you get. The breakfast really should be improved - it's not cooked and the fruit is straight out of tins. For the price one could expect a slight improvement. The rooms we stayed in were clean and comfortable, but not cheap - as expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecibennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Montecarlo Rome, is without a doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and I can't believe it has take me so long to write a review about it. I stayed here with my partner in July 2013 for 5 nightss whilst visiting Rome and honestly couldn't have asked for anything better.

When we checked in we were met by Franco, and almost immediately I knew why everyone on Trip Advisor had been raving about him. He and Serge, are both the most helpful people we encountered on our whole trip and couldn't have wished for more friendly people to meet. They went above and beyond for us and drew personalised maps and directions to help us see some wonderful, non tourist places, helped us find places near the hotel to go out clubbing, and even helped us find food at 1am. The level of english spoken was phenomenal and I believe that they both can speak various other languages which makes them both an asset to the hotel.

We were told that out room would be in the newly built wing of the hotel, which sounded great already and we were certainly not disappointed! The only problem with the new wing is that you cannot access it by their lovely wrought iron elevator that they have, you have to used the newly built one that only caters for the new part of the building. This is not the issue, the issue is that the new elevator can literally only fit two, medium built adults in it and you have to faf around opening a door, to then push the door to the elevator inwards, shuffle in, close the door on the outide of the elevator and then close the elevator door on the inside. That meant that we had to go one at a time in the elevator with our luggage up to the sixth floor, which took a fair bit of time.

The room was absolutely beautiful, high ceilings with fabric wallpaper and lovely dark wood furnishings. The window opened up onto a courtyard and was so peaceful for 4/5 days. The bathroom was very elegant, very nice decor inclusive of a jaccuzi shower which is AMAZING. To be honest, I felt as though we had definitely got more than our money's worth (which isn't a bad thing!). There was a small flatscreen tv on the wall, and the only channel in English was BBC News World, which was appreciated greatly. There is plenty of space for storage, the over the bed storage unit is a great piece, and the safe just about managed to fit all of our belongings including the laptop, which is good.

On the sunday morning that we were there, we were awoken from about 7.30am by continuous banging, which to be honest, wasn't very loud. In fact, it was quiet enough that my partner thought it was the people in the other room knocking on the wall, and thus he preceeded to knock back for 10 minutes before getting very frustrated and calling reception to ask them to call the people in their room, to find out there wasn't a room behind the wall!! Reception did go and investiagte, and found out that there was building going on in an empty building next door, and that the sound was echoing all up the wall, so everyone would have been affected. It was still quite annoying, but managed to sleep through it for a little while.

The hotel is a very central location, under a 10 minute walk to termini station which you can access both lines of the metro. I would also advise using google maps as there is another metro about 3 mins away from the hotel, but I can't remember where abouts it was. Everywhere is accessisble by walking in Rome, and I wish I had, but the metro is so close and convinient and relatively cheap (especially compared to London) so thats a good option for summer travels when Rome is a blazing inferno!

The breakfast was varied, and what you would expect from a continental breakfast - pastries, cereals, cheeses and meats. Juice was provided on the serving table, but you had to request tea and coffee, which the waiters were quick to bring over. The breakfast room is downstairs in what I believe to be a basement, and has no windows, so at 9am I found it to be like a sauna in terms of the temperature down there which wasn't very pleasent, but bearable. The only suggestion I could think of would be to add a couple of fans down there or to add air conditioning.

The other thing to point out to people is that, if the outside door isn't shut on the new elevator then the lift won't go anywhere, period. Which means to make sure you close it, as there were numerous times (probably at least once a day), where we were trying to get the lift from the 6th floor to the ground floor, but the door hadn't been closed, so we had to walk all the way down (which isn't fun). Also, don't open the inwards doors prematurely, wait for 5 seconds after you have completely got to the bottom otherwise the lift WILL get stuck and you will not be able to open the outwards doors - to which I learnt the hard way (an emergency button pressed and within 2 seconds Franco was on hand to help! God I was grateful for him that day, there isn't anything nice about being trapped in a lift that you literally cannot move in!)

Room Tip: All the rooms in the newly built wing of the hotel are absolutely beautiful, you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpackingjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our room was lovely, fabric wallpaper, enough wardrobe space with a Sky T.V. The bathroom was really nice and clean and it had a Jacuzzi shower (which was good although the way it switched on and off meant that if you wanted to run the water for a second to warm before you got in the shower, you could end up squirting jets of water all over the bathroom). The staff were lovely and the breakfast was fine although a little cramped. The main downfall of the hotel was the loud, clonking water pipes that begun to make noises with 5 (or more) second intervals as soon as anyone had a shower. They kept us awake from 5am on the first morning of our stay. We spoke to reception, who said they 'knew nothing about it' and would have a look in to it. If they had let us know that they could not sort the problem out there and then, we could have found another hotel for the second night of our trip. They didn't. They blamed it on other guests, which it was clearly not and the noise kept us awake as we tried to go to sleep that night. I can only describe the noise as 'KERRRDUNK'. The intervals between the noise meant that we couldn't get used to the sound and sleep through it. In effect I was tired all weekend and our stay was a little tainted by the problem. There were no rooms for them to move us in to (on a Monday night!?) and we had to stay there with that noise all night. Wouldn't go there again, such a shame as the hotel and staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Check whether they have the pipes fixed before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just returned from 5 night stay in the Montecarlo and had a very enjoyable break. On arrival we were met at reception by a very helpful member of staff and it was obvious from other reviews that this was Franco. He was very pleasant and willingly provided advice about places to visit and generally is an asset to the hotel. Most of the staff were very pleasant and efficient.
The breakfast room was slightly cramped when busy but there was plenty choice and staff, although busy, tried to ensure that the food on offer was replenished.The bar is small and the stock /range of drinks available is limited.
Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated and of good size. Our bathroom was on the small size but adequate. Friends who were with us had a similar sized and equally lovely room but their bathroom was considerably bigger. Air conditioning was good and controlled in the room.
Although some others have commented adversely on the location we found it to be ideal and within easy reach of the Metro, Termini station and indeed the city centre if you are keen to walk. We frequently returned to the hotel in mid to late evening and never had any concerns for our safety.
We would certainly not hesitate to return to the Montecarlo.
We used Bob's Limousines for transfer to/from the airport and found them to be ideal and with four sharing of good value. While in Rome we used the Hop on Hop off bus,for 48 hours, which helped get around Rome. We visited most of the well known sites and suggest use of a guide when visiting the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel would be a benefit. We did not and to an extent missed out on understanding the exhibits, paintings etc. At the Colosseum we used the hand held audio devices and found them very informative and useful.
We visited in October and although Rome was busy we did not find the queues to be excessive but avoid the busiest times which tend to be in the morning.
If you are over 65 you should note that entry to many museums, including the Colosseum, is free for EU citizens but you do need to show your passport or other form of identity and if you are using audio guides then you are required to leave your passport or credit card as security!

Room Tip: Any rooms we saw were similar in decor and quality but ask for room with a good size bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Service excellent & room spotless. Nice little bar/lounge & breakfast, though not a huge choice, was perfectly adequate. Hotel about 7 minutes walk from Termini station & metro & close to lots of good not too expensive restaurants & wine bars. Main tourist attractions not too far to walk (furthest is Vatican, about 5km, though there is a metro station very near if you don't like walking far). Our room was fairly large with jacuzzi bath, fridge, safe & tv. The hotel also has free wifi. This was one of the best 3* hotels we have stayed in - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacm949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on a short site seeing trip to Rome. This hotel is near enough to all the must see sites and is surrounded by streets with lovely little restaurants and bars. The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and accommodating, I travelled with my brother and they quickly had to change us from a double room to twin room without any problems. The shower above the bath was a problem as the side screen did nothing to contain the water and the bathroom floor was a paddling pool if we were not careful. There is a tv and dvd player in the room, didn't get too much time to check it out but appeared mostly Italian channels only BBC world news channel in English. Breakfast is buffet, cereals, yogurts, pastries, bread rolls with ham & cheese etc quite adequate and plentiful. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockchicanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#126 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#218 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#208 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#238 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#256 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Property: Montecarlo Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#218 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecarlo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing