We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the station”
Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very close to the station”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very clean rooms, close to the station and walking distance to most of Rome's attractions. Some great little restaurants nearby. In the same street as the British Consulate. Breakfast very enjoyable served by friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    555
    132
    33
    22
See reviews for
253
443
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we reached rome to spend 2 days only and this hotel was the worse in our trip..very poor breakfast and noisy ..the staff not helpful at all . the location is near embassies but far from down town and we had to walk a lot to reach any specific area..near the hotel there is no big choice to eat and if you eat in any place you will hate the italian..it is better to pay a bit more and stay in a good hotel.. will not come back at all

Room Tip: no good rooms sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a great experience. A great impression was made by the young guy at the desk who helped us book day tours and was freindly and pleasant throughout. He is probably almost the number one asset to the hotel! Similar hotels are everywhere but so often it comes down to the service.
Room had nice old fashioned feel but didn't seem crummy at all, with all mod cons. Good location and good breakfast also. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Montecarlo Hotel staff was always quick to accommodate any of our needs. Our room was small, but always very clean and welcoming. A quick walk to two Metro stops, bringing you into the heart of Rome. Definitely will recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We will never stay here again it is better to stay away from this hotel. It is in a bad neighborhood street. It is better to spend a little extra and stay at holiday inn or best Western. We had to repeatedly complain about the air conditioner not cooling till they solved it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Homz U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danilo I, Direttore at Montecarlo Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Homz,
first of all please accept our apology for failing in meeting your expectations.
I respect your opinion but let me say, like the most of Tripadvisor users say, that the place where our hotel stands is not so bad.
In 200 mt sqare there are the British Embassy, Turkish Embassy, Russian Consolate, German Consolate and many other important sights.
Besides the area is plenty of nice restaurants, bars and hotels.
As to your complaint, you should understand that when the AC doesn't work - and it may happen- we need a technical time to solve the problem.
Finally let me say also that what happened to you is not so serious to justify such a heavy criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you want to feel yourself in a comfortable atmosphere like you are at home with all the people around you beeing very hospitable, attentive and kind - this is the place you would definitely love to stay. The hotel is situated in a quiet street, which is one of its many advantages, especially for those who love to sleep ^^). Termini station and Castro Pretorio metro station are in 10 min walk from it, there are many small restaurants surrounding the place. My friend and I stayed in the hotel for a week but for me actually it was second time in the hotel. Our room was small but very clean and cozy, there even was some space to do morning exercises. Breakfasts were very tasty. We loved croissants with chocolate the most! As I've already said the staff is very attentive and kind. I just really wish they could do something about wi-fi connection, because unfortunately it's impossible to use it for several persons at the same time.
Nevertheless, the hotel is excellent and i will gladly return there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danilo I, Direttore at Montecarlo Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Alexandra,
thanks a lot for taking the time to write your nice review.
We reach our aim when people feel like home.
Actually we are improving our wifi and we look forward to have you again our valuable guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family of five vacationed in France and Italy for two weeks. We had many hotels in those two weeks but this one stands out. We wanted to spend a couple of nights in Rome to show our sons the sites. The Montecarlo Hotel was in a great location to reach by car and then to park and use the train system to see the sites. There was plenty of restaurants by the hotel by the hotel to eat. The hotel itself was comfortable. We were helped to find parking when we arrived and then given assistance to plan our days each morning such as what transportation to take and the best time to arrive at the different locations. I also noticed we talked to other people staying at the hotel more and I think it was the friendliness of the staff that promoted a relaxing atmosphere in the Hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#129 of 1,256 in Rome
825 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#208 of 1,256 in Rome
825 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#216 of 1,256 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#248 of 1,256 in Rome
584 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#261 of 1,256 in Rome
914 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,256 in Rome
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Property: Montecarlo Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#218 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecarlo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing