We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”
Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #184 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in the hotel Montecarlo for a week in February, 2nd-9th. It was the first time in Rome for me and my friend and the hotel was the essential part of success.
Montecarlo hotel turned out to be a cosy beautiful place, with smartly furnished rooms and INCREDIBLY sweet staff. Special thanks to Sergei and Michael!! You, guys, helped us a great deal to fall in love with Rome.
So,
+ professional, friendly, responsive staff
+ cosy rooms, great colours
+ clean rooms(!!)
+ not far from the main shopping street (via del Corsa) and from the railway station and subway

- some may consider breakfasts a bit poor but it was quite OK for us

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polino4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniac, General Manager at Montecarlo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Montecarlo Hotel and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.
we would like to express our happiness and gratitude for such amazing description of your experience with us.
We really hope to welcome you back in the future in our beautifull Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very Good location with friendly staff , simple but confortable room, good price, and very good relation price- quality. Nice breakfast despite the small place with few tables. The restaurant recomended by the staff was very Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juyoshimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is an hotel situated on the corner of two side streets within easy walk of the main railway station but in a quiet residential location away from the main tourist area within inexpensive places to eat nearby. The receptionists and other staff are all very friendly and helpful and the hotel offers good value-for-money. There are steps both up to the reception and down to the lift but help is available to carry luggage, if needed. The room is equipped with Sky TV and a jacuzzi shower, not that we needed these features. Service at breakfast was excellent and more coffee was offered without our requesting it. The chambermaid was also very efficient. I would certainly come again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th of 6 floors and this was fine as it was well above the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniac, Direttore at Montecarlo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mr Jonathan,
thanks a lot for your nice review.
Hotel Montecarlo staff is very satisfied you have chosen and appreciated our hospitality.
We all hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very friendly staff. Excellent service.Spacious and comfortabel room. Good value for money.Good internet connection. Excellent location near the Roma Termini trainstation.
Breakfast is a bit basic but all in all OK.
I'll certainly come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniac, Direttore at Montecarlo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Mr Kriss,
thank you so much for the nice review.
Our staff really values your advice and we are glad you enjoied your stay at Montecarlo Hotel.
We hope to have you again as our preferred guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here in April 2012 and were very impressed with the level of service. The staff were always friendly and happy to answer any questions we had, not just about the hotel but Rome itself. The breakfast was the usual continental style that you would expect. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was superb with many restaurants and shops within walking distance. For going further afield the underground was just around the corner. The WiFi worked brilliantly throughout our stay and came in very handy whilst exploring what to do in Rome.

I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel if I was to stay in Rome again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked at the last minute, running late for an appointment when we arrived, front desk, efficient, courteous and very helpful. Room was nice, very quiet, Internet worked great. They printed our boarding passes and recommended a nice, inexpensive in the area. We had a lovely dinner, a wonderful, relaxing overnight stay and will use them again whenever we are in Rome. Breakfast was good, even if I did spill orange juice twice! Breakfast room lady was so nice about the mess, I felt bad but she just laughed it off. That was a pleasant surprise, staff was great!

Room Tip: Room 208 was quiet, well maintained and when we asked for extra pillows they were delivered immediat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loisshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

There is nothing bad about the Montecarlo Hotel, but there is nothing much nice about it either. Of course it does have the advantage of being relatively close to the main train station. But the neighborhood around the train station, at least northeast of it where the Montecarlo Hotel is, is really quite boring and soulless, and doesn't have much to it other than the occasional uninteresting restaurant, other hotels, and the Turkish embassy. And I found the vibe inside the Montecarlo Hotel equally soulless, and quite uncomfortable, mainly because all the walls and floors seem to be made of very hard marble that makes relaxation difficult. All of that having been said, the hotel seems well run, and if you just want somewhere to spend the night and you're not picky about enjoying your stay, the Montecarlo Hotel will do.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#155 of 1,271 in Rome
908 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#133 of 1,271 in Rome
896 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,271 in Rome
744 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,271 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $69 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecarlo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing