We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Nights at the Montecarlo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montecarlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecarlo Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
My Hometown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Nights at the Montecarlo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of many hotels in the area north of Termini Station. I cannot tell about the other ones, but can highly recommend the Montecarlo. The reception staff were always friendly, as the staff at breakfast were euqlly busy to serve hot beverages and refill empty plates at the buffet. Speaking of breakfast, the Montecarlo offers a greater variety than what I have experienced otherwise in Italy.
Our room no. 203 was cosy, though a bit dark due to dark blue and golden textile tapestries. The bathroom was large enough to not feel constricted in it and the cleaning staff also did a great job every day. The nights were quiet; but this might at least be partly due to the fact that our stay was in late October. There are five floors and a very new looking elevator.
Although this hotel is not as central as an average tourist (among which I would count ourselves) in Rome would want, there are various bus lines (among them no. 60, 61, and, the most important bus when you stay at this hotel, no. 62) which - on your back way back FROM the city TO the hotel - stop on Via Palestro, a very brief walk back to the hotel. The reception staff will gladly tell you where the buses leave FOR the city in Via XX Settembre. And there's always the option of walking to Piazza Repubblica and take the "red" metro, for example, to the Vatican Museums, or to walk to Castro Pretorio Station for the "blue" metro line and go directly to the Colosseum.
The Hotel Montecarlo and its staff have been an absolutely pleasant contribution to our 5-day-stay in Rome.

Room Tip: I'd like to extend this recommendation to the "Steak House" restaurant very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Another_Advisor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    546
    127
    32
    21
See reviews for
247
436
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel montecarlo was a wonderful little place to stay in rome with our family. There were a few problems with our credit card as the wrong expiry date was given and the hotel management nade every effort to ensure we had a wonderful stay, even upgrading us to a better suite as a result of the inconvenience. The rooms were pristine and the bathrooms were 5 star! We enjoyed a lovely stay here with our children.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed twice in Hotel Montecarlo and I'll be a third when I return to Rome. The rooms are pleasant, the breakfast is very good, the location is excellent and the staff friendly, helpful and friendly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gilmar956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and I took her parents, 77 and 71 years old to visit the vatican and witness an outdoor mass performed by the Pope. The trip was an absolute HIT.

we stayed at the historic Monte Carlo hotel that is centrally located about a ten minute cab ride to anywhere in Rome with awesome customer service by the trilingual staff.

we loved the cozy breakfast area downstairs. Our Rooms were very LARGE! we strongly recommend it. Franco suggested we visit the town of Castel Gandolfo where the Pope vacations. It's a very beautiful town with a large lake below with remarkable views. Its one hour North of Rome, we strongly recommend it. have Lunch next to the Pope's property at Pagnanelli Restaurant, it opens at noon. It has great views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. Bring your own Euros to avoid a 19.8% fee and 4.85% tax at Change outlets.

Room Tip: we had two large rooms, I dont know how the other rooms are, our rooms were very large. bring comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

4 of us stayed at the Hotel Montecarlo for 2 nights in August 2012. Located in a quiet, safe area, we walked there from Termini Train station - about 15 minutes. The room was small but very clean. It was perfect for the 4 of us (1 double bed and 2 singles). Breakfast included a nice variety of breads, meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, fruit and beverages. The staff was very helpful with directions and information. Great room rate for a wonderful little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloughcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Came to Rome for 3 days to celebrate my mother's birthday. Hotel is in a good location. Rooms are quite small (but on the other hand we used them only for sleeping). Room and bathroom were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Shower cabin is quite small (if are a 'big' person, but fortunately we didn't have this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#127 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#210 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#206 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#221 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#261 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecarlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecarlo Hotel

Property: Montecarlo Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 17A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#203 Business Hotel in Rome
#218 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montecarlo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montecarlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecarlo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing