We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off. 10 €/ person/ day for the pool”
Review of Parco Tirreno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parco Tirreno
Ranked #778 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rip off. 10 €/ person/ day for the pool”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Unbelievable. We paid £240 for two rooms for one night for the last night of a family trip round Italy because we thought the Hotel had a pool and it would be nice after a fairly hectic tour to relax, have a swim then head to the airport the next day. Went to reception to ask about towels for the pool and told it cost AN ADDITIONAL 10€ per person per day to use the pool. The man behind reception seemed to think this was all very amusing when I said I'd never heard anything as ridiculous. He said we would only have to pay 40 € as our 8 year old would be free. I have never heard of this practice before for any hotel I have ever stayed in with a pool. I asked to Speak to the manager and he said he was unavailable all day. I asked who was in charge and he said he was and that he had nothing else to say. I went down to the pool which had no people in it. The pool was a basic 20 m long rectangle with dirt and rubbish around the sides. Three pool staff were sitting around chatting with no one else even at pool side. Declined to pay and went in to Rome to calm down in St Peters Square.
Other things of note:
Wi fi was 10€
My room was noisy all night next to some generator (room 614)
There was a four ring hob in both rooms but no pans or a kettle so you couldn't even heat water
Breakfast was just terrible. The cheapest worst ingredients money could buy. Dreadful dry croissants and brioche. Cheapo teabags. Processed ham and cheese. A bowl of low quality tinned peaches. Cheapo cereals.
AVOID!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expandingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    104
    129
    97
    78
See reviews for
67
102
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! This hotel should be condemned or at the very least fumigated and renovated. The hotel room I had was dirty. The bed sheet had dried blood stains. The duvet cover was soiled. The bathroom had peeling paint over the bath tub and mold. The room had bed bugs and flees. The air conditioner did not work either. The television did not work. Also the complimentary breakfast was not very good. The food was stale and slimy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LED1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I was initially concerned about this booking after reading some comments on trip advisor. But I was pleasantly surprised by how good this hotel was. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The rooms are large, clean and with apartment style facilities including a kitchen area and fridge. The hotel is about 5 miles outside of central Rome, but easy transport via taxi, bus or metro. There are bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. My partner wanted to stay longer and I had to promise we come back. I like to thank the staff for making our stay very welcoming.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank AndyTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were part of a tour that stayed in this hotel, so we got great rates. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are huge, more like stuidio apartments you could actually live in. The staff was wonderful. Good places to eat around the area if you are with someone who knows them.

Downsides: bathroom was claen, but it really needed an upgrade, the tiles were stained and the hot water tank was just sitting there over the shower. Also, it's a fair way out of town so you really miss out on the vibe of the city.

Probably best for those who are on a tour and can share taxi costs, or for locals who are in town for business rather than international tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our tour started at Parco Tirreno and we were very impressed with the hotel generally. It was quiet except for one night when there was another tour haveing a party in the bar/outside area till quite late and the music was very loud. Our room was large with a big bathroom and kitchenette. The kitchen would have been better if the fridge worked properly and there was some dishes in the kitchen we could have used. The beds were ok, not a queen, just two singles but comfortable enough. The air conditioning unit was a godsend but was very noisy so we had to turn it off at night. Staff were pleasant but the cost of Wifi was expensive and not always successful. The hotel was quite a distance to the main centre but mostly we shared taxis with others and managed to keep the costs down that way rather than walk the distance to the metro in the 34 deg heat. The pool is not free to guests but charges 8 Euro each which we thought was abit of a rip off, especially as that was $12NZ so too expensive we thought. Breakfast was ok, but got a little boring with all the pastry and sweet stuff. However the fruit was excellent. We loved the lovely big balcony which was very private and made the room seem even bigger. Overall we were happy with the hotel as the end of the tour was spent somewhere else in Rome unfortunately and the standard here was like chalk and cheese and made Parco Tirreno look like a palace.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the large green area towards the pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Parco Tirreno, The rooms were large but I was disppointed to find a glass of wine with two cigarettes floating left in our room on arrival. However the beds were ok for comfort, I think a spruce up in decor could be a good thing. Would have been nice to have an electric jug in the room too. The breakfasts were average. However the staff on the front desk were very polite , attentive and extremely helpful. The wait staff at the restaurant and bar were also very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of a Cosmos tour. While some consider it a disadvantage to be outside of central Rome, we found there were advantages - not crowded with tourists & restaurants cheaper, safe w/o fear of pickpockets when out walking. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the Metro station, McDonalds', shops, restaurants, mini-marts for cold drinks to put in the room refrigerator. The room was apparently at one time an efficiency apartment so huge by European or American standards, with couch, chair, glass dining table, stove & refrigerator. Somewhat spartan & lacks decoration but functional. Bathroom small but typical of Italy. Great air-conditioning since it was unbearably hot in the summer in Rome so never used patio. Mattresses not comfortable but none in Italy were. Negatives - they charge $8-10 euros to use the pool so we didn't & most nights there was loud music entertainment outdoors in the evenings. You would think that a hotel that is full of tour groups that must get up extremely early would stop the music before midnight - suggest you bring earplugs if want to sleep. Included breakfasts ok - typical European - no eggs, but meats, cheeses, cereal, chocolate croissants, toast. Hotel restaurant little pricey & food not that great. Find the Chinese restaurant close by - surprising excellent food at really low prices. Wifi $10 for 10 hrs or $5 for 3 hrs. Overall, though not luxurious, this hotel was perfectly adequate for staying several days.

Room Tip: Ask for room that doesn't face outdoor entertainment area due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 53TXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Bellambriana Hotel
#959 of 1,259 in Rome
337 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#370 of 1,259 in Rome
566 reviews
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#743 of 1,259 in Rome
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#564 of 1,259 in Rome
263 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#536 of 1,259 in Rome
392 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#254 of 1,259 in Rome
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco Tirreno

Property: Parco Tirreno
Address: Via Aurelia 480, 00165 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #778 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parco Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parco Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Tirreno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing