We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a great location”
Review of Hotel Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sweet Home
Ranked #170 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found this hotel through tripadvisor and were very pleased. The hotel is located two blocks from to the Roma Termini train station, handy to public transit, and within walking distance to most of the sights. The price was quite reasonable for a clean and cozy room. We found the staff (Franco and his son) to be very helpful regarding some booking issues, and they were also extremely cordial and informative. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcC230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Our entire team was pleased to assist you. We're glad you loved the Sweet Home, and hope you visit us again soon.
Cheers!
Bruno & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sweet Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 413 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was familiar with the location of this hotel and was not at all concerned about that, but was a little concerned with the 2-star rating. My concerns were put to rest as soon as we checked in. Bruno, at the desk, was very friendly and welcoming. He had contacted us by email prior to our arrival to offer to arrange transportation from the airport. We were pleased there was a lift, unlike experiences in years past. Our room was very clean, nicely decorated, air conditioned, and comfortable, not small at all by European standards. Mattresses were firm and comfortable. Bathroom was small but adequate and quite clean. Location is very close to the Roma Termini, which is good when dragging luggage behind you. It is within walking distance to the Coliseum and the Trevi Fountain. Security was excellent. And to top it off, Bruno arrived at our room within a half hour after check-in with a gratis bottle of COLD Asti Spumoni and two champagne glasses to welcome us to Hotel Sweet Home. We've never had such gracious treatment even at 4-star hotels. This hotel does not include breakfast, but we did not find that to be a problem. We'll definitely stay there again when visiting Roma!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rsteinhilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sweet Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Ladies
thank you very much for writing this nice review. We do really love our job and love seeing our Guests smiling. We are happy that we achieved our goal with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sweet Home is a cozy hotel located a few blocks from the train station. It is not a luxury hotel but it has just what you need when traveling. The staff is really courteous and helpful, always helping with all your questions and needs. Unfortunately the room we got was way too small, even for Europe standards and that is unfortunate because I saw bigger rooms within the hotel. Location is great if you're using the train station or subway. It may seem a little dangerous at night but it's not since I always felt pretty safe. Overall, Sweet Home is a great option if you're looking to safe some bucks on your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theinsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First of all, like us, many out there are hesitant to book a hotel this close to the main train station in Rome out of concern of the riff raff. Happy to say, we never felt any sense of danger at all for the 3 nights we were here. This hotel is really, really close to Roma Termini, less than 5 mins even with all your luggage in tow. Because the distance is so short and the streets are never really deserted, it's really difficult to feel any sense of threat. There are also many restaurants around the block and a club that opens pretty late, so there always seems to be people around. As a added bonus, if this is your arrival city in Italy, there are many shops around that sells prepaid sim cards, that's one less worry on your to do list.

To the meat of the review then... The heart of this hotel comes from the family that runs it (I am presuming here that they are family from the other reviewers). Props to Bruno for being the ever helpful host. As we did not have a lot of time in Rome he made a few suggestions which turned out really helpful and enjoyable. He really went out of his way to make sure that our stay was comfortable. Something that some 4*-5* hotels are lacking nowadays - that personal touch to make you feel welcome in a foreign land. Note that they are usually there in the day. The night reception staff are not bad, but nowhere near as friendly and helpful as the family.

There are just some things that reminds you that you are in a 3* establishment though. The building is old, and it shows. Furnishings and decor are pretty tired, and the bathroom is pretty small. Despite this, the cleanliness cannot be faulted. The proprietors obviously tried to upgrade certain amenities such as working (!) elevators and air conditioning and by all accounts, these already put Hotel Sweet Home above many others in the area.

Definitely a winner in the Termini area that doesn't cost a bomb!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanieDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days when in Rome with our daughter, son,in-law, and 2 grandsons (ages 8 and 11). The room was very clean and airy...we had 2 double beds & 2 twins. Beautiful tile floor & high ceilings! The hotel is close to Roma Termini train & Metro station. There are several restaurants & trattoria very close by. Not the greatest neighborhood, but the proximity of Roma Termini makes the hotel a good, economic choice for a group of 6.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8GatorGirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel offers a very comfortable form of accommodation and you are looked after by staff that genuinely care. No bar, restaurant or other services that may be found. The location ensures that within moments you can enjoy a selection of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes - even an Irish pub just 4 minutes away! One minute walk from the main railway station, 3 minutes from top shops, one minute from the Metro and tour bus services. Hotel Sweet Home is in the right location to enjoy the city, lavishly or on a budget. Like Chinese food? Try the restaurant opposite the airport bus drop, excellent!! ”
If you like 5-star and want all services under one roof this id not for you. I've stayed in many forms of accommodation, but Hotel Sweet Home offers value and clean comfort, plus peace in a busy area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff196913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is strategically located, walking distance to tourists attractions. No hassle of getting around, near to Termini station. We booked two quadruple rooms as there were eight of us. Although we find it a bit cramped we were happy as the rooms are clean, with enough amenities and have Wifi. The hotel interior decoration is also very cosy and homely. My friends and I had no problem in finding Muslims food as there are a few nearby. The hotel staff, Mr Franco and Mr Bruno were very helpful and friendly. Overall, I find it a value for money to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TengkuFatimahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#306 of 1,267 in Rome
856 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#288 of 1,267 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,267 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#272 of 1,267 in Rome
275 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#169 of 1,267 in Rome
1,044 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sweet Home

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#237 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sweet Home 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Home Hotel
Sweet Home Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing