We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were well pleased with the Hotel Luce”
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luce
Ranked #1,031 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We were well pleased with the Hotel Luce”
Reviewed February 3, 2006

We stayed here in January 2006 for four nights. Our room was as small as we expected, but clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine and the location good.

The room had a double bed that we found comfortable, with just enough room to walk round it. There was ample hanging space, a TV on a dressing table and a mini-bar or fridge (we didn't open it to see what it really was). The bathroom had a shower (no bath) with terrific flow and a lever to set the temperature to whatever you fancied. As well as the wash basin and toilet there was a bidet. The good size mirror above the basin had good lighting on it, too.

There was a problem with the shower tray - it wouldn't drain properly. Mindful of an earlier report of difficulties with the staff, we wondered what would happen when we reported it. The helpful receptionist took a note and it was fixed by the time of our next shower.

Breakfast is plain continental, but there is a good choice including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and rolls with preserves, cheese and ham. Drinks include coffee, chocolate, tea and fruit juices (also from a machine that seems to mix them from powder - not the best feature of the breakfast). You can eat as much or as little as you want.

The hotel is just a block from Termini station and excellently situated for walking to many of the essential sights of Rome. It's convenient for the Metro trains, buses and trams that all go from Termini.

We travelled to Rome by easyJet and used the Terravision bus to get to and from the aiport. The bus drops off at Termini, just a short walk from the hotel.

There are dozens of restaurants within a ten minute walk of the hotel. The largest selection is the other side of Termini, where there are probably twenty or thirty in the neighbouring streets.

We were happy!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Viragored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    74
    91
    48
    34
See reviews for
52
101
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH WALES
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

Just come back from a 3 night stay at the Luce and for the price I paid (£36 a night) found it to be terrific value for money. The rooms are slightly small but are spotlessly clean and even include a bidet. The rates include a buffet breakfast whilst not that varied certainly kept me going for most of the day. Another major plus point is it's location - literally round the corner from Termini station for the underground and tour buses. Do not be put off by the Termini area's dodgy reputation - as a lone traveller I did not feel at all threatened. There were a few beggars and people selling their wares but they were harmless and were to be seen throughout the city. I flew in with Ryanair and the drop off/pick up point is at a couple of minutes walk highly convenient.
The Colosseum and Roman Forum for example are only approximately 15 minutes walk away down Via Cavour. Also there are plenty of restaurants and cafes adjacent inluding a Cantonese directly opposite and a couple of Italian ones on both corners of the street of which I tried and both had decent food and were reasonably priced.
Now there were some minor quibbles which I have to knock a point off for. Both the coffee and juices came out of a machine - coffee fair enough but at least they could have provided the cheap carton juice. On the whole the breakfast was a bit limited - white rolls, ham, yoghurt, cheese, cake !!
Regarding the rooms the shower space was slightly cramped and the wardrobe rail very high - and I'm six foot tall. I could have done with more sheets on the bed taking into account it was January. Also could have done with an English speaking TV channel for news etc.
To summarise then this hotel was exactly as I expected and fulfilled my basic obligations of cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ALZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2006

The hotel is certainley located close to the train station, and within walking distance of many landmarks. The room was clean although small, and there is a great restaurant on the corner. The food at the restaurant is superb, and the wait staff marvellous. They are the only good things about this hotel. The staff are very unfriendly and not at all helpful. We are travelling back to Rome but are avoiding this hotel and rude staff.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 2, 2006

Excellent, We were 2 Adults and 4 kids sharing 2 rooms. Yes the rooms were 'cosy' being a basic double with an extra bed to make up 3 in each room but we paid 30Euros each a night including Brekfast! the rooms were warm, clean, quiet and each had individual heating/aircon fitted. The brekfast was typical basic continental but you could eat all you wanted. The location is a street away from the station in a district that might not be high class but feels cosmopolitain. The station itself has a half decent shopping centre (make sure you check the underground level) with bars and cafes in all the surrounding streets. The two Metero lines and the major routes all go through or to the station so it is easy to cross the city. If you really want to see the city the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are only around a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 20, 2005

The staff were excellent, the manager was the most helpful person you could meet and the location is (not pretty) but perfect for going anywhere in rome. Just a street away from the Termini station, the only one with both metro lines. loved it.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2005

We stayed in the hotel Luce while attending our friends wedding on Via National. The location was perfect as it was within walking distance to this main street as well as been beside the main termini train and bus station.
This was perfect as we flew into Campino airport and the feeder bus dropped us at the main station. For our return trip we flew from Da Vinci airport which is also only a short train ride from termini station.
The hotel itself was basic but the staff were very friendly and had no problem suggesting restaurants or ordering taxis. The breakfast was a cold buffet but had everything from a selection of juices, tea's and coffees to a wide selection of breads, chesses, ham, spreads, cereals and fresh fruit.
The bedrooms are probably the only area that could require some improvement. Although they were clean and in plenty supply of towels. They were very small which is why I feel that the accommodation is really only suitable for weekend passengers or passengers staying a minimum number of days as there is very little storage room. However saying that, the rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. Considering the very reasonable cost of this hotel and its central location I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone. It's also important to note that hotels in Rome don't supply irons so you may want to bring your own.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank Louise Aherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2005

Close to station; but no noise of it
Small rooms, but big enough. And very important: Clean.!
By train/bus/metro or a walk the center of Roma is close.
Nice people.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#916 of 1,259 in Rome
470 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#738 of 1,259 in Rome
259 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#781 of 1,259 in Rome
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#972 of 1,259 in Rome
323 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#769 of 1,259 in Rome
122 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#986 of 1,259 in Rome
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Property: Hotel Luce
Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and refined, Hotel Luce is ideal for anyone seeking tranquillity and elegance for their stay in the heart of Rome. The elegant hall welcomes guests upon their arrival, spacious and lit up by precious crystal chandeliers; there are also comfortable lounge areas where guests can relax on comfortable couches after a “hard” day visiting the Capital. Here guests can have a snack and a drink using the automatic dispensers. Hotel Luce offers its guests all the comforts that might be expected from a hotel of this category, guaranteeing a complete service catering to everyone’s needs. Guests may be in Rome for a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, attending a cultural or artistic event, discovering the artistic beauty of the Eternal City or shopping in the elegant streets in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing