We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is it a 4-star hotel?”
Review of Hotel Luce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luce
Ranked #1,026 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Why is it a 4-star hotel?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is definitely a plus. Close to Termini Station (5-min. walk) and to many restaurants nearby. Staff was helpful.

However there was a strange thing. The key to your room is a traditional metal key with a weight attached. When you leave the hotel - you return the key to the reception and when you come back you simply ask: "Room no. 111, please" and the key is given to you. What is someone other then the hotel guest asks for the key? Will he/she be given?

Rooms #201 and #208 extremally small.

LCD monitor a bit larger the a remote controler.

Beds narrow - not enough space for a slim, in my opinion. One can roll and fall down on the floor.

Breakfasts are tasteful. Dinning room - clean and service is good.

But still - if you are aware what you choose, it might be a good option to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room #201 is a single room, and #208 is a double room. Both have windows and small balconies at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    74
    90
    47
    34
See reviews for
51
100
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I really don't know how this hotel got 4 stars, Luce is indeed just 2 stars hotel,

1. if you want to travel to another cities of Italy, ok hotel Luce is too close of main train staition and it is easy with your bags to buy ticket and then to get into, but if you are going just to spend your free time in Rome to see all attractions, it has it is not good place as it is enoght far from colessou or spanish steps or trevy fauntain and etc. So location is good but think what you want before you decide where to book hotel.

2. hotel Luce is old hotel with old classic desine. Yes, it is enough clean, but hotel's rooms are the smallest i have ever seen and stayed. The system of condition seemed very old as it had noise and did not work well. hotel Luce is 4 stars hotel and does not have wi-fi.

3. At first look breakfast seemed normal, but product has not good quality, especially cheese and ham. coffee was normal.

Nino/Georgia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a first-floor room. Air conditioning seems to be quite old and is very noisy. The doors I hoped would lead to a balcony actually open to the roof of the restaurant, with the accompanying array of smells all day long. Also, it is possible to walk over it to other first-floor rooms (maybe enter from outside if they don't lock their doors) and to what looks like an ordinary apartment house next door.
In the room there is barely enough space to fit a bed, a wardrobe (too tall for someone of my height of 5'4 to reach the hangers without stepping on a chair) and a table; the size of the room is only somewhat alleviated by large mirrors on two walls. There is a big ugly painting in gilded frame over the table, probably in vain hopes to make the room look more distinguished.
I highly suspect that whoever designed the square-shaped toilets and whoever thought it would be a good idea to install them in a hotel never used a toilet in their lives.
The staff was polite and helpful (although one of the receptionists doesn't speak or pretended not to speak English), the cleaning adequate, the breakfast frugal (but there's a lot of nice places around the hotel to have coffee, and a small supermarket next door). It is nowhere near a 4-star hotel, but they charge the 4-star tourist tax (3 euros/night), not the 3-star (2 euros/night). So if you're looking for a 4-star quality, opt for something different from Luce and its sister hotels. If you, on the other hand, are looking for a moderately priced place to stay in the vicinity of Termini, consider Luce but keep in mind that there is quite a lot of similarly priced or cheaper hotels and pensions around.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kay_Kendzior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Staff not very friendly or helpful. Our room was a bit warm(centralized air) and they said they could do nothing about it. Anytime we had a question or needed to get the key to our room, it was like we had just asked them to give us their first born. Hotel is close to main terminal which makes it easy to hop on Metro. However, this neighborhood is dirty and run down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arrived to very friendly reception. The hotel is very close to the main "Termini" and central to many facilities. There are numerous local restaurants at very reasonable rates. At the hotel we neded help printing Boarding Cards, which was done for us. All the people who worked in the reception tried very hard to be helpfull at all times. The rooms are compact, clean and interesting. I would stay there again. The airport Shuttle stops outside the "Termini" which is only 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

arrived to unfreindly reception we are very easy going people,,and thought maybe a off day,but hotel staff were very unfreindly,breakfast time is like being in a morge very small rooms no english tv .easy location for metro but area full of homeless and not very desirable people suppermaket close but not a area for a romantic weekend in rome,no internet,tea or coffee,no way should this be a four star should be a two cannot understand how it gets a four maybe choose a hotel in differant area steve and carol from essex

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had been looking forward to going to Italy for quite a long time and was really excited when we finally decided to go there. The hotel was booked by our agents, who had never failed us before and I expected a 4 star experience. Before going, of course, I read the trip advisor contributions and was a bit intimidated. We had booked a triple room, which on arrival turned out to be a double room with an additional bed in front of the desk and TV and there was practically no room to even get to my side of the bed. This was the main drawback. The location is great, 50 metres from the Termini where there were a lot of places to eat and a shopping area. The room was cleaned every day, breakfast was OK, although the same every day but they had all we needed.
The area is a bit rough in the evening. On our last night there was a big brawl in the Chinese restaurant opposite the hotel and the police had to intervene.
Overall it was a nice stay, plenty of things to see. What I didn't like in general was the terrible infrastructure, the Metro is awful - a far cry from the Underground in London.
I would recommend the hotel for the location and the nice and friendly staff but this is definitely NOT a 4-star hotel. What I also find absurd is the tourist tax that we had to pay at check-out - 3 more euro per person per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mir929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#923 of 1,257 in Rome
468 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#729 of 1,257 in Rome
256 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#764 of 1,257 in Rome
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#979 of 1,257 in Rome
320 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#765 of 1,257 in Rome
121 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#981 of 1,257 in Rome
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luce

Property: Hotel Luce
Address: Via Magenta 34, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#349 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luce 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and refined, Hotel Luce is ideal for anyone seeking tranquillity and elegance for their stay in the heart of Rome. The elegant hall welcomes guests upon their arrival, spacious and lit up by precious crystal chandeliers; there are also comfortable lounge areas where guests can relax on comfortable couches after a “hard” day visiting the Capital. Here guests can have a snack and a drink using the automatic dispensers. Hotel Luce offers its guests all the comforts that might be expected from a hotel of this category, guaranteeing a complete service catering to everyone’s needs. Guests may be in Rome for a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, attending a cultural or artistic event, discovering the artistic beauty of the Eternal City or shopping in the elegant streets in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luce Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing