We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #698 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during July 2013 with my teenage daughter for a sightseeing weekend. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room very quiet despite being in a very busy area, air con working well so not at all stuffy, very clean, bathroom ok with powerful shower. Location of hotel was right opposite the Termini station which we found really convenient. The area was ok when walking back to the hotel 10 or 11 pm, possibly not if it was a lot later. Breakfast was ok, a bit cramped and busy but not too bad. Negative point is advertising free wifi but wifi is only available in reception, for which there is a charge. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    241
    231
    97
    84
See reviews for
185
200
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here and was told not to expect much, the main area was dark and resembled maybe a 1890s Scottish house


I got my key and went to my room which was found after a labyrinth of corridors.

The room was superb, 4 comfortable beds, a big bathroom and charging supplies. Only slight problem, the TV only had one channel, which was MTV.

Breakfast was decent, not sure about there orange juice tasted a little funky ( not in a good way)

All in all a good hotel, well worth a stay due to proximity to the termini, which has a good shopping area. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here as a part of a school group travelling throughout Europe on a tight budget- liked the hotel and the central location was a bonus but Via Marsala wasn't the nicest street in Rome and had a totally different atmosphere after dusk. (Right next to Termini metro)- fairly central and major stops like Colosso and Fountana di Trevi only 3-5 stops away. Hotel room was small, hot and very average. Breakfast was worth it though, one of the best we had in Europe. Hotel staff quite friendly and did get sick of the loudest members of our teenage contingency. Overall, Hotel Madison is fine to sleep in but I'd stay other places if you wanted to enjoy a nice, relaxing hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We traveled with a large group...80+ people. The nicest thing about this hotel was the spacious bathroom. This hotel was like a maze... it was at most an adventure trying to find your room each time. There is a labyrinth of corridors, twists and turns to find your room. I questioned the elevators several times, not sure they could accommodate the mass of people or the constance use. Several times I have to hoof it 5 flights to get to my floor, which was faster then waiting on the elevator. The common areas were small, outdated and smelled musty. I didn't care for the area, however it was easy to find if you got turned around. I didn't appreciate this hotel advertising for WiFi then want you to pay 5 euros for 3 hrs use.

Helpful?
Thank RialbTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What I like the most about this hotel is its location. It is literally right IN FRONT of Termini, the train station... which has access to the subway (that leads to major tourist sites - Vatican, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc.) and the trains that lead to the other cities (Venice, Florence, etc). Even though it is close to the station and the surrounding area is quite busy, we slept very well in our hotel room. I don't remember being disturbed at all.

The receptionists that we encountered were welcoming and friendly. They took time to explain to us some of the day tours that were available while we were at Rome. My husband and I really enjoyed the day trip to Assisi! The tour bus literally picked us up from our hotel, which was perfect. The hotel is also only a block away from the hop on/hop off tour bus stop!

Breakfast was good...it had a decent amount of variety. I suggest coming early, as the place gets pretty packed and it may be hard to find seats in the dining area.
Our hotel room was neat and had enough space... house keeping did a good job cleaning our room daily.

My only complaint about this hotel was the WIFI. We stayed for about 4 days...and there was no wifi available at all. We were told by the receptionist in the beginning that the wifi was broken...but even after the few days we were there, it was never fixed. Definitely was a bummer. But anyways, we had to go to the cafe next door, buy some ice cream or capuccino to use the wifi.

So, it is a decent place to stay at! I would recommend it for convenience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neyamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was amazingly convenient for a group. Lovely to just cross the street to Termini. Don't expect luxury around the train station. It's clean and the breakfast was quite decent for the price. There was much confusion about the wifi for our group. First of all, of course, no hotel should still be charging for wifi, so it's obviously a money-maker and seemingly one on the side for some of the staff. Just don't use it; it's VERY expensive. One of our group was charged $25. Go next door, buy a coffee, and get it free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenfig Hill, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very good hotel, although it is quite busy: in the center of Rome. The service was good, the breakfast room was good. There are a few problems, however. The reception area is not very big, although I traveled with 45+ other people, with suitcases: It is a bit of a congested space. The lifts, there aren't enough of, and they aren't very big, it was hard to get 4 teenagers in, with suitcases. Also, the lift is a bit shaky, it makes me not at all comfortable (but, it's the same with all lifts, but this was worse). It is very much a maze then trying to get to you're room, but it is easier to remember the route to get there, and if you get lost, follow the signs to the exit. The room quality was very good. Although, some of the rooms had a good view, and some didn't. My room, for example showed what I would explain as a back alley, where all the trash cans, etc. go, from the back of the building.

Overall, a good hotel, not the best though.

Room Tip: Find one near to the hunderd, eg. 501, 602, etc. not one that is far away like 643 (which is the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Likkan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#684 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#591 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#759 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#384 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#425 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lazio
Hotel Lazio
#791 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Property: Hotel Madison
Address: Via Marsala 60, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madison provides n.130 tastefully furnished rooms with high quality materials and a overall standard of higher category. The Hotels' location is within walking distance from both the Central Station "Termini", the Underground lines A and B stations, and the bus stops for the most important lines. Consequently, the Madison Hotel is the ideal departure point to reach in few minutes the most famous historical and religious sites, as well as the most fashionable streets for the shopping We serve full American breakfast buffet, included in the rate, which is certainly a strong feature of our Hotel Group, thanks to the unanimous satisfaction for its quality and variety. In the Madison Hotel, WiFi connection is free and covers all rooms and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aedes Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing