We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Good Price!!!”
Review of Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Madison
Ranked #763 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location! Good Price!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We are lucky to get a nice comfortable room for 4 person. Stayed here for 3 nights. Travelling with my girl friend and my two children, our room was perfect and my kids really loves the bathroom. It's was newly renovated when we arrived, I think because the bathrooms are nice and cleans. Only a small discomfort was the heater could not be control but it was okay as we open the small window to get fresh & cooling air. The location is really good as we can just walk across to jump on the train and very easy to get food. Just about 5 min walking we can get a very good delicious Halal food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsAshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    252
    245
    101
    92
See reviews for
193
206
65
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We was able to walk to all the beautiful sights of Rome. The hotel is nice and clean, decorated in marble so traditional Roman charm. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. We had a double room. What you would expect of a 3 star hotel in Italy. Breakfast was fine and the staff were very helpful and very welcoming. We would have not hesitation in reccommending this as a very good value for money 3 star hotel in Rome, in a greta location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansa3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place is scary, dirty, small, hot, and dark. After check-in in a lobby filled with marble and vaulted ceilings, you will ride a cramped elevator somewhere into the upward abyss until you emerge into cramped and dirty halls. Here you can enjoy a labyrinth disguised as a hallway and after full minutes of confusion about where to go, you will be unfortunately find your room.

The rooms, albeit very "European" (aka unbelievably small), are somewhat clean but leave quite a lot to be desired. I stayed with a friend in a "double" (meaning two single beds, more like cots) and the beds were held together with plywood sheets to disguise the holes in the mattresses. The bathroom will flood because it is elevated and (surprise!) there are no shower curtains. For a small room, it's also quite hot and the AC was improperly placed so it takes quite a while to cool off (by the way, it's quite hot in Rome).

The breakfast was pretty good.

In summation, this is the Bates Motel of Rome. Although Norman won't get you, the unclean, claustrophobia inducing, moldy, and uncomfortable rooms probably will. If you're lucky, you'll get pick-pocketed right outside the hotel and have to find a place that looks like it will have a phone to call home from.

Room Tip: A double is two tiny beds shoved together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed for three nights here in a single room. Room was very very small but perfect for what I needed and good for the price. Great location walking distance to everywhere and literary right next to Termini Station. Room was very clean as was bathroom with a good sized shower- my friend had a bath as well but for some reason I didn't. Very good service, staff speak good English and were very helpful! Breakfast was good, not amazing but had everything you would want, and tasted good, lots of pastrys, coffee, cereal, toast, eggs, bacon etc. Also note that you can buy Internet at reception even though they say on their website that they don't offer it.
Overall I was happy with this hotel, mostly due to its continence and low cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location of the hotel is incredible, it is just on front of Termini..!!
The hotel is nice, not that clean but price wise it was good. Hotel is just in the middle of Rome.
Service guys were very friendly, so generally our trip was really good in this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is a classic Termini based hotel.We did hear all these stories about overbooking and staying in other hotels but we were lucky and we did stay in the room we booked. The room was ok ,clean but hot and the air condition was too noisy. Now the big dissapointment was the breakfast. It was basic like in a 2 star hotel or worse. The eggs was cold and not tasty at all ,the selection of coffe was a disaster,the breads were hard... No we wouldn't go there again ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We will definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pictures in the web site are very deceiving: Room is very small (have to push the beds together so we can pull the chair out from the desk). Bed is very hard. Pillow is not comfortable. Stain on the wall, mildew in the bathroom, tub was very dirty (we have to clean it ourselves before we use it). Writing on the headboard that it looks like the hotel staff tried to clean it with bleach but not succesful. Hotel staff not very helpful and doesn't know how to speak English (which is very frustrating). No internet access at all.

The advantages staying in this hotel is the hotel is just across from Roma Termini (Train Station) and the subway. Breakfast was good - they have scramble egg with ham, several choices of deli meat, cold fruits, lots of bread choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Galles
Hotel Galles
#681 of 1,256 in Rome
426 reviews
Esquilino
Siracusa Hotel
Siracusa Hotel
#921 of 1,256 in Rome
309 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#591 of 1,256 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#341 of 1,256 in Rome
867 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#450 of 1,256 in Rome
639 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,118 of 1,256 in Rome
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madison

Property: Hotel Madison
Address: Via Marsala 60, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #763 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madison provides n.130 tastefully furnished rooms with high quality materials and a overall standard of higher category. The Hotels' location is within walking distance from both the Central Station "Termini", the Underground lines A and B stations, and the bus stops for the most important lines. Consequently, the Madison Hotel is the ideal departure point to reach in few minutes the most famous historical and religious sites, as well as the most fashionable streets for the shopping We serve full American breakfast buffet, included in the rate, which is certainly a strong feature of our Hotel Group, thanks to the unanimous satisfaction for its quality and variety. In the Madison Hotel, WiFi connection is free and covers all rooms and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aedes Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing