We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for city break”
Review of Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galles
Ranked #710 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed March 23, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights. the location is perfect for visiting the city, near the hotel is a bus station ( bus line 492) and the bus arrived very close to vatican area.
the breakfast was ok, but the coffee was terrible. not at all the italian coffee i was expecting!
the hotel is best for visiting the city, is near the termini station and has cosy rooms and the staff was helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 468 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Together with 8 friends, we booked this hotel for 3 nights through a Romanian travel agency. The aim was for a low-medium budget trip to Rome so we decided for a 3 star hotel with a good location.
The Galles is within short walking distance from Roma Termini, which we reached in 45 minutes from Ciampino Airport with the Teravision bus (8 Euro round trip).
My expectations were not that high, therefore I was pleasantly surprised to get a large clean room, with large bathroom (jacuzzi tub, bidet, all amenities), flat screen tv, fridge, writing desk. Breakfast buffet was decent; I recommend the olive mortadella and the pastries.
Downsides:
The wifi is not free, so you have to pay if you absolutely need to use the Internet, which in the end is not that important as having all the Rome attractions within convenient distance!
Also, in my opinion the breakfast menu could have been enriched with a few vegetable choices..
All in all, I would definitely say it was an excellent stay and I would recommend the Galles hotel with no objection.
Piece of advice: get the Roma Pass if you stay in Rome for 3-4 days; it's worth every 'centesimo'!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

after our long trip through italy we arrive to our final destination coming by train from assisi for 2h20 direct for 10 euro per person . we arrive to roma termini at 16h35 on 14 mars 2013 . this hotel was the advice of our travel agent. for one night before going back to our country . it is really near the termini station walkin for 300m . this hotel is little bit olf but very well conserved. NO freewifi meduim breakfast . nice room and clean . very quiet . it was what we nned arriving to rome for one night .this hotel is near everuthing even you can take the Bus terravision for 6 euro per person to go to the airport
we left our lugage at the hotel after making our check out and we went for the vatican city as the new pope Francis was elested fro two days . you can get the metro or the bus(40.,64) from roma termini to Vatican city . we paid extra 4 euro (2 euro per person ) for a new tax ??? we did not know why
we can find a better than this hotel but we do not regret if we come back price per night 82 euro including breakfast

Room Tip: this hotel is quiet and near roma termini
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONIREINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is very good for its class (3 stars). It is located in close proximity to the Metro station Castro Romano (5 min walk) from the central railway station Termini and Metro station, the hotel is clean, reasonable size room, friendly staff, breakfast is good. I recommend warmly!

Room Tip: Room at first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nastasie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was a last minute booking, in spite of that the room was clean and nice (even with a backyard balcony). Buffet style breakfast (not as good as in higher ranking hotels, but well accepted), very near to metro station, and in fact very good point to walk (if you are in walking condition) arround the all Roma's attractions.
One more advice: if you are in "walking condition", do not book any open deck tours (streets of Rome are very busy, bus stops are very rare and audioguides are often not in a very good conditions), but instead of this buy good Roma Guide book and you will not regret!

Room Tip: It is advicable to ask receptionist on check-in, sometimes they may have very special room available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was next door to the main hotel on the 3rd floor which was accessed by apparently, an ancient Roman elevator (which was always exciting). The room was clean and a reasonable size , was air-conditioned, and had a fridge. The ensuite was a good sized room and even had a jacuzzi bath, along with a bidet The room was made up/ cleaned every day.Breakfast buffet was taken in the main hotel, and was perfectly adequate for us
There are plenty little restaurants within a few minutes walk, which offered good value for money dining. The hotel is within (long) walking distance of a lot of the main attractions, but I would advise using the Metro which had 2 stations close to the hotel, as there is just so much to see in the beautiful city of Rome (which blew our minds !!).The Termini is 5 minutes walk away,and this is where the airport shuttle bus will deposit you.....get the pink coach , not the Al Italia one.....getting tickets for this required extreme patience and a passport !!!
The "Roma pass" (bought from the tourist information offices dotted round Rome, for 30 Euros) was brilliant......free public transport for 3 days, free entry into 2 Rome attractions (and a queue of only 3 minutes to get into the Colosseum....as opposed to an hour and a half for the general public), and then discounted entry to other attractions after that.
Enjoy Rome....we did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1002, which was on the top floor of an adjacent building, and we were happy with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was a last minute booking. The hotel is located very close to Termini Station. Check in was easy, except for the fact that they ran out of internet vouchers. The room had two levels, a bit like a loft. It was very nice, clean and had more than enough room for four adults I think. Breakfast was great, buffet style, and a good selection of 'sweets' as well as hot food. There are lots of restaurants in the adjacent streets and a supermarket and other shops at the station. I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sonn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#658 of 1,272 in Rome
813 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#987 of 1,272 in Rome
433 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#943 of 1,272 in Rome
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Andreotti
Hotel Andreotti
#256 of 1,272 in Rome
988 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#249 of 1,272 in Rome
1,346 reviews
Esquilino
Montreal Hotel
Montreal Hotel
#679 of 1,272 in Rome
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galles

Address: Viale Castro Pretorio 66, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galles 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for both the tourist & business traveler; via Veneto & Villa Borghese are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galles Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing