We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service??” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Galles
Ranked #669 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We have just at Hotel Galles for 4 days and in many ways enjoyed our stay. It is located close to Termini in an area with many small restaurants, especially one in Via Palestro where via Palestro meets viale Castro Pretorio is worth visiting.
The hotel is clean, the breakfast is ok , we had jacuzzi, but here as in many other places italian service is more or less not excisting. The key to our room did not work. We got the impression they knew it when we arrived but they didn't get it fixed, so we had to call for help every time we wanted to go to the room

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    158
    118
    64
    28
See reviews for
104
96
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We found this hotel by accident when we visited Rome. The staff was very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious. The breakfast had a good variety of food. The location was excellent because it is very close to the Roma Termini so you can take the subway to all the destinations in Rome and you can also take the train to other parts in Italy. Lastly, there were a lot of restaurants in that area which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirringui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Whatever u do do not go to this hotel. My husband and I were brutally attacked by bed bugs. The hotel is dark and dingy and u don't realize these creatures are there. This was our wonderfully planned vacation and it ruined our entire Europe experience. Rome was our first destination and I first had signs of bed bugs and then he did a few days later. It was from this hotel because I saw a bug on the bed And just pushed it off, but little did I know it was bed bugs. DO NOT GOOOOO HERE WHATEVER U DO!!!!
When I go back to the U.S. I will include photos. It is horrible and it was soo painful and lasted for daysss!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank roel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Galles for a weekend in Rome. We chose it because of the proximity to Termini station and to a Metro station. It was clean and quiet, the beds were comfortable, there was air conditioning--what more could you want? Ah, the staff...

Our first morning, we had to get to a meeting point for a tour very early and needed to leave the hotel before breakfast was served. Since the food was already out, they very kindly allowed us to go down and have breakfast early.

At the end of our visit in Rome, the airport transportation we had arranged failed to show up at the appointed time--2:00 a.m. The night concierge tried calling the emergency number for us, and when no one answered and it was evident our ride was not going to show up, he called a taxi for us.

We appreciate very much the friendly and accommodating staff!

The only inconvenience was that the water in the room was not potable. But it's not the first time I've had to brush my teeth with bottled water, and we managed just fine.

Hotel Galles was a no-frills place to stay that does the important things right!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in April. I found it was all round a nice 3 star standard hotel.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. he rooms were clean and classical Italian feel - so I got a Roman experience from my trip. Also, it is well located wihtin walking distance of many of the main sights and close to the Termini train station which is useful for geting elsewhere in Italy and is the main stop for open top bus tours etc.

I will be happy to use this hotel again in the future and would recommend it as a good 3 star standard hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansa3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Me and my better half stayed there for a week in march 2011.
I was had read here that the hotel was not of the highest standard, but I got it cheap.
For us it worked since we only slept there, and spent the rest of the days outside
The people making the bed and such were good at what they were doing, but not more, and my girlfriend still claims that somone looke trough her makeup bag... nothin missing, but a bit unerving for me.

Room Tip: Pay a litle moe fo a rom in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just outside the termini and walk straight ahead. Staff was very helpful. Rooms where neat, and classical. The only Problem was there was no extractor in the toilet and no available coffee on the table room. All in all it was well located, money well spent, stAff was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevomcdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#703 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#479 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#961 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#957 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#437 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#881 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galles

Property: Hotel Galles
Address: Viale Castro Pretorio 66, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galles 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for both the tourist & business traveler; via Veneto & Villa Borghese are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galles Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing