We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Maria della Conceziones Cappuccini
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.65*
and up
Rome Uncovered: A Fully Private Walking Tour Through the Most Iconic Places of...
Ranked #209 of 1,536 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Diepe
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unreal”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This tour is macabre but very interesting. Walking through the passages and hearing the history of the site sent a shiver up my spine. Some items were a little confronting and hard to look at.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    69
    29
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“creepy.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Of course we came here for the crypts. My wife and I really thought this would be much more interesting than it was. Instead, it was just kind of creepy. Bluntly, a chandelier made of vertebra isn't all that beautiful or interesting, it's more morbid than anything. I got the feeling that many in there with us felt the same, as nobody tried to linger at all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dustin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,703 reviews
3,702 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12,218 helpful votes
“Where you find the Cappuchin Crypt”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Cappuchin Crypt is the main reason for paying visit to the Santa Maria della Conceziones church, which is just off Piazza Barberini on Via Veneto. The crypt is attached to the main church. You walk up the staircase and turn left to the main church entrance or right towards the crypt entrance.

We visited the Crypt earlier this year and were not as taken to this attraction as many of the enthusiasts that have reported on their visit here. It is interesting to see how monk bones were used to decorate the room but in the same way, its eery, a bit ominous and some might say slightly disturbing. We felt a bit neutral about our visit, finding it not a great attraction but not a bad one either. In a short trip to Rome, it seemed different to justify including this in the list of things to see and do, considering how many wonderful and world-class attractions rest in this city. However, for those on longer stays or those with particular interesting in odd sights, you might want to consider a stop here.

Santa Maria della Conceziones Cappuccini can be reached via the Bernini Metro Stop and you can also see Piazza Barberini, with the nice Tritton Fountain and the Palazzo Barberini Palace nearby. A walk up Via Veneto is also worth consideration.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful - if you are into this sort of thing”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I always suspected tailbones make for excellent decorations!

Kidding aside, it is quite impressive, the way these monks decided to display their remains. Some people may think it is grotesque or evil, but i could name worse things the catholic church did to the living, compared to what these monks respectfully did to themselves, after dying a natural death.

There's also a few children's skeletons, so be warned if you are sensitive to that. I didn't go into the church proper, so i can't comment on that. There isn't a set fee to enter, but you will get very stern looks if you donate less than 2 euros per person.

It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station, 2 minutes from the Berberini metro station.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank iskalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This Place Creeped Even Me Out”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

A must see if you are in Rome! This place is decorated with mummified Monks and their bones.....what they call a religious place is nothing short of a sick serial killers mind. With the walls & ceilings decorated in bones and the chandeliers made out of spinal columns, if it wasn't in the name of religion then the people who decorated this place would be arrested....this place creeped even me out.....Ed Gaines would be proud

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank trishachambers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria della Conceziones Cappuccini also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria della Conceziones Cappuccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing