We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary hotel rooms hidden upstairs in old building”
Review of Suite Art Navona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suite Art Navona
Ranked #32 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Contemporary hotel rooms hidden upstairs in old building”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It doesn't look like a hotel on the outside, and reception is on the 1st floor. Contemporary style, spotlessly clean. Warm, friendly staff. Decent en-suite with very good shower and bidet, bath-robe, slippers and toiletries. We paid extra for deluxe room (still a great price), which was still small, but overlooked the street, and the sound-proofing was excellent. The memory foam bed is very firm, but although I love a soft mattress, I found this bed very comfortable. Large flat screen TV (most channels in Italian), Tea/coffee making facilities, I-phone docking station, hair dryer.
Breakfast, around the corner in a café, set us up for the day. Choice of organic eggs, sandwiches and rolls (cold or toasted), freshly squeezed juice, croissant and tea/coffee. Refills of coffee no problem. Very relaxed.
Taxi rank right outside the hotel.
Don't miss the ancient ruins of the stadium that Piazza Navona is built on, right across the road.
Fantastic location. Go right to cross the Tiber follow it to the Vatican in 20 minutes. Go left and around the corner to Piazza Navona, and wander in any direction - you're right in the heart of Rome. Pantheon (amazing) only 5 or 10 minutes away (can't say exactly as we were wandering!). The Forum and Colosseum are farther but there was so much to see along the way, we didn't mind.
Following maps in Rome is difficult, streets are winding, the tourist maps are not to scale and there are very few signs. The people are very friendly and will direct you, but it pays to look at the maps and get a feel for the place before you set out. NB on the tourist map provided by the hotel, The Pantheon faces south, rather than north.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403, on the 4th floor and facing the street. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    118
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
46
180
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I were impressed with our two front desk clerks, Anna and Daniella. Both were warm, knowledgable, and very helpful during our recent one-week stay. The location, just off Piazza Navona, was very central, close to great restaurants, all of the ancient sites, and bus lines. The included breakfast was close by, tasted good, but don't expect lots of smiles.

We had the smallest room type on the 1st floor (Room 104), but found it to be very satisfactory. The room had modern decor, an American-style shower, safe, and refrigerator. The refrigerator wasn't working properly, but as it was winter, it didn't affect our stay too much. The front desk worked on the problem.

Room Tip: 104 was quiet, facing the interior courtyard. Not a great view, but the tall windows let in natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

When you're dropped off you and your cab driver will be initially confused, because there is virtually no signage and no frontage for the hotel. There's a set of double doors that lead through a narrow and dark hallway with stairs that lead up to the receptionists counter. The complex appears to be shared with other residences or businesses. I had to carry my very heavy luggage up the stairs because I didn't know that there was an elevator at the time. The reason for this is because the elevator is not your traditional 4-star hotel elevator. This one is the manual, open two sets of doors, close these doors and buzz yourself up to a floor. The elevator is enclosed in a caged area in the center of the stairwell, so you can see all the elevator internals and watch it go up if you take the stairs.

This star came up in a major online booking site as a 4-star hotel, and I paid 4-star prices to stay here for four nights during the New Years. The photos look fabulous, and what I wanted was a chic and modern hotel. When I arrived I was blown away and just how deceitful the marketing was.

First off, this is not a 4-star hotel, somewhere around a 2 star. There are no facilities here at all, no restaurant (a cheap breakfast is provided by a restaurant across the street), no spa, no pool, no business center, not even a lobby with chairs to sit at. There is a very small counter where the receptionist is, that's it. It is incredibly cramped and primarily made up of hallways split across the 2nd and 4th floors.

Nevermind the facilities, the rooms are very small - even that, small I can live with, but the quality and feel of the rooms is more budget oriented and not towards the luxury side. The finishings are rough, the rooms are noisy because they are next to a busy and loud street. They really make an effort with big curtains, double-paned windows, and french windows on top of that - it helps, but still noisy.

In the smallest rooms, the shower is so tight, if you bend down your back or elbows will hit the walls (I'm 5'9") or the soap rack. The bathroom floor was sticky and dirty. The floors and shower are not tiled, they are just painted. The shower leaks. They made an effort with the furniture, but you stick decent furniture into a cramped and poorly finished place, and it doesn't help. The rooms are terribly dark and dreary. The HVAC system is weak. I was so disappointed I asked for an upgrade to a suite at any price.

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The receptionist showed me to a Deluxe Room as well as the Jr. Suite. The Suite is a lot more roomy, but again, the same painted, barren finishings and the same furniture. It's just a more spacious version of the 2-star room. She offered an upgrade to the Deluxe Room at no charge, so I took that option.

If not for the stellar staff, I would have given this place a 1 circle rating. They really make up for it and are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You must opt for the deluxe room at a minimum, and go for the 4th floor, they are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chino1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando Florida USA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If looking for good service, great rooms at reasonable pricing and best location you can't beat this hotel. The staff is outstanding. Many great restaurants close by and taxi's right outside the door to take you anywhere. We had a very modern, updated room. Extremely nice bathroom. Go for an upgraded room which is still much cheaper than other hotels in this great location. Piazza Navona is steps away.

Room Tip: don't go for the cheapest room, even though they are nice, they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We really enjoyed staying the the Suite art Navorna.

It's rooms are fresh and modern.

Staff are friendly and professional.

The location is excellent for food, museums & accessing Rome's fabulous sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location - Can't be beat and the main selling feature of this hotel. Centrally located within easy walking distance to all of Rome's main tourist attractions within 20 minutes or so. There is also a bus stop half a block away. The entrance is a little non-descript and you have to watch for it. Then in a narrow hallway and up one flight of stairs.

Staff - Super friendly and very helpful, with a good command of English.

Rooms - Depending on the room type you'll find these rooms to be on the small side. However that's typical of Rome and in particular the old quarter of the city. You'll feel pretty snug but they've still managed to fit in a full queen bed which is the main thing. There is good air conditioning which is a real plus. The only bugaboo is the bathroom which could use a little TLC.

Dining - There is no restaurant in the hotel but typically your room charge will include breakfast at a bistro around the corner. Also Piazza Navona is around that same corner with many dining options to hand.

Overall - Great little hotel with a stellar location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeteranWorldTravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean B&B. in a brilliant location, two minutes from Piazza Navona, 15 mins from the Vatican, and a half hours walk to the Colosseum.
Staff are very helpful, friendly, and when we had a slight problem with our room, it was fixed very quickly without us even noticing. Breakfast is served around the corner at Mariotti's, and is very nice. (Coffee, egg on toast, croissant and OJ) The room was clean and the air con worked well. The bathroom suit is new, and always plenty of hot water. We had a room on the inside of the building with a small courtyard outside. This helped with keeping the noise down to hardly anything considering the location.
Good pizza round the corner and a Grom ice cream shop within throwing distance.
If you wanted a hotel room in this location, and to the same high standard. I think you would have to pay another £100 a night!
I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to friends and family. :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Rione Ponte
Relais Rione Ponte
#13 of 1,091 in Rome
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Luxury Apartments
Navona Luxury Apartments
#337 of 3,642 in Rome
100 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Inn Rome Rooms & Suites
Inn Rome Rooms & Suites
#716 of 3,642 in Rome
127 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Ave Hotel
Residenza Ave Hotel
#259 of 3,642 in Rome
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Art Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Art Navona

Property: Suite Art Navona
Address: Via Giuseppe Zanardelli 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Art Navona 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suit'Art Navona means Piazza Navona.Behind the pride of Baroque Rome, opposite to the siite of the Stadium of Domitian, this small structure located in a Renaissance palace is the ideal destination for tourists and businessmen.Near everything you have to see in Rome ... Campo dei Fiori, Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza St. Peter’s basilica, the Pantheon, Montecitorio, Altare della patria, the Colosseum, Piazza di Spagna, the Trevi Fountain and Piazza della Repubblica.A small resort in the heart of the Eternal City, a mix of luxury and design and materials "Made in Italy".The dominant theme is definitely the art that you breathe in the same location of the structure, in rooms and the frequent art installations created by a contemporary artist exclusively for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Art Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing