We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveler rating
551
244
39
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
244
39
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscornelia metro stationaround the cornerdouble showervia aureliacentre of romerestaurants in the areatrip to romeday tickethotel is locatedmain roadexcellent hotelbusy streetyogurteach morninggave us a mapbus routesbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 848 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Aurelius for one week, in June 2014. The first person we met was Gianfranco, who greeted us like a grand-father welcoming you home. This warm welcome was maintained throughout our stay by all the staff. Anything we asked for was promptly answered or delivered.
The room we stayed in was, it appeared, in an extention. This was at the back of the hotel, so there was no road-noise. The room was small, but adequate and clean. Maid service was good, as was the breakfast service.
The area had some good restaurants, but is a little limited for bars. Two or three minutes to the metro and one to two minutes to the bus stops. Although the metro closes comparitively early (10:30pm weekdays)?. If you want to walk, you will hit the vatican in about 30mins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VladTheImpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

first of all thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Aurelius to enjoy your stay in Rome. And again thank you for telling us wanted to talk about your experience on Tripadvisor.

Who makes our work knows that with the guests must be able to be friends, relatives and even grandparents ... as happened with you. After all, our small hotel offers the opportunity to experience a feeling of family.

Hoping to see you soon in Rome, I greet you with sympathy

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Aurelius for two nights in early June prior to embarking on a cruise ship. I had booked this hotel online after reading the reviews here. We reserved the smallest, cheapest room, not caring for the larger more expensive ones since we were only there to sleep. I was a little concerned it would be little more than a closet but was very pleased when we entered our room and it was plenty spacious with a more than adequate bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor near the back and our window overlooked the inner courtyard. We didn't experience any disrupting noises and we slept really well in the very clean room.

The staff at the front desk was so helpful with restaurant and transit recommendations. The Metro is right around the corner and a very easy and quick way to get to all the attractions in Rome. Restaurants in the area are much cheaper than those we found in the city itself and the meals we had at the recommended restaurants were all very delicious. There is a large grocery store across the street from the hotel with lots of selection.

The included breakfast was good, many hot and cold selections. It was nice to not have to look for a breakfast place elsewhere.

We would definitely stay here again, if ever we're lucky enough to return to Rome!

Room Tip: We were in the cheapest, smallest room and it was good with us...I would assume any room beyond that would be a step up! Don't think you can go wrong!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarwickCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

whenever possible we try to offer a superior room than booked. And that's what we've done in your case too.

For this reason, we like you've found the time to write on Tripadvisor your experience at Hotel Aurelius. Moreover, wanting to manage our small hotel as if it were our big house, we try to offer everyone the chance to feel really welcome.

Really thank you very much

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was a bit wary about choosing this hotel because it was far from the city center. But thankfully, my fears were quite unfounded as the connectivity through the metro is excellent. The metro station is only a two minute walk away and the metro line takes you directly to all the tourist attractions at minimum cost. In any case the taxi fare to the termini is only about twenty euros and it costs fifty to get to the airport.

The hotel itself is very nice, and very well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and there are adequate supplies in the bathroom. Unlike most other hotels in Europe there is an electric kettle and coffee and tea supplies in the room.

We got a nice room on the second floor overlooking the road and a brand new spacious room on the third floor which smelt faintly of paint, as the work had just been completed. The size of each of their rooms seem to be different when I took a peek at the neighboring rooms, so it may be advisable to check on this when u make a booking. For instance, only some rooms are large enough to have a sofa in addition to the beds.....

The breakfast is good, tasty sausages and bacon, eggs, cereals and an array of bakes and preserves. However, it does get monotonous if you are staying there for a longer period.

A specific mention I must make here is about the lady who works evenings in the reception...Renata...one of the sweetest, warmest and loveliest persons I have ever met. Ever so helpful and caring and always handing out chocolates to our kids. Really a treasure.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel. Comfortable, convenient and great value for money....

Room Tip: The size of each of their rooms seem to be different when I took a peek at the neighboring rooms, so it may be advisable to check on this when u make a booking.
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank smammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are happy that, despite your initial fears, you could spend a pleasant stay in our Hotel Aurelius Rome. And thank you for wanting to share your experience with all the members of Tripadvisor.

Thank you for helping us to tell everyone that, even if its not in the center of Rome, our hotel you can easily reach every corner of the city is by metro or by bus.

I hope you will come back again in our hotel and in the meantime I send you warm greetings from Rome

gianfranco caarocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Aurelius for 4 nights during the first week of June and we couldn't have wanted anything more from a hotel. The staff are so friendly and approachable and really strive to make your stay the best it can be. The room was great and the breakfast in the morning had lots of choice and variety.

Other reviews have commented on the location being out of the centre of Rome, but it is incredibly close to the metro stop which takes you around 10 minutes to get to the major landmarks (you only really need to get to one central stop, then everything else is within walking distance!) If like us, you find half the adventure of a holiday is navigating your way round and discovering new things, you'll have no problem with this!

Really great value for money! Couldn't recommend more!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our Hotel Aurelius.
Our job requires to give always the best to achieve the complete satisfaction of the guest.

Receiving positive words like yours helps us to give our best.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel on our first trip to Rome and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming - they gave us advice on how to get around the city and were always extremely helpful which really put us at ease. They spoke excellent English which helped as neither of us speak Italian! On the day we checked out we had an evening flight home and were exhausted from sight seeing - the staff very kindly allowed us to sit in the lobby for a few hours and even brought us cutlery to eat our supermarket lunch there! They also arranged a cheap taxi to the airport for us. This saved us a lot of trouble on the last day and I am extremely grateful to them. It was very kind.
The hotel itself was lovely, we had an enormous balcony which we enjoyed. Our room was very comfortable, as was the bathroom. We enjoyed the hotels jacuzzi and sauna room also. The hotel breakfast was a feast! Bacon, eggs, cereal, pastries, yoghurt's, a variety of fruit juices. It really was delicious. If I ever visit Rome again I would always stay at Aurelius!

Room Tip: We emailed the staff before visiting to ask for a good room and they were happy to give us one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lillypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianfranco C, Direttore at Aurelius Art Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

our commitment is to manage the property as if it were a big house where we host friends from all over the world.
For this reason, read on Tripadvisor so pleasant and flattering words addressed to our Hotel Aurelius fills us with joy and satisfaction.

We try to do our best every day and your review makes us feel more excited.

Thank you very much

gianfranco carocci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews